Duo contest world's best batsman title

http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/020409/80/cw5gv.html

The “who’s the world’s best batsman?” debate has produced a hung verdict for almost a decade.

Both Brian Charles Lara and Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar have made it impossible for the other to don the mantle without dispute.

The central protagonists in India’s five-test series in the West Indies starting on Thursday, Lara and Tendulkar will this time be involved in a head-to-head fight for the crown in what promises to be a dramatic Caribbean series.

“Who is better is the most difficult question to answer,” former Indian captain Ajit Wadekar said last week.

“We need to study them at several levels, measure them against a wide range of yardsticks. And still it’s a close call.”

Lara, known as much for his flamboyance as for his world record test score of 375, is perhaps the most belligerent dispatcher of a cricket ball since Viv Richards.

Tendulkar, India’s batting linchpin for more than a decade, has been hailed as modern cricket’s most complete player by a plethora of experts, including the late Don Bradman.

RUNAWAY LEADER

**But the West Indian is a runaway leader if match-winning innings are taken as the barometer.

No one has struck more memorable knocks over the last 12 years than the 32-year-old left-hander.**

Lara has 7,221 runs in 83 tests at an average of 50.49. His 18 centuries include three double-hundreds and one triple-ton.

His 277 at Sydney in 1993 against Australia and his 179 two years later at The Oval against England were both priceless.

But what truly defined Lara’s style of play was the unbeaten 153 at Barbados in March 1999, when he brought up the last 69 runs with Curtly Ambrose and last-man Courtney Walsh to chase down 308 in the fourth innings for a stunning one-wicket win over Australia.

“The high backlift, the characteristic shuffle and the powerful punch that sends the ball racing to the fence are a part of Lara folklore,” Richards said in an interview.

“If Lara is batting one day and Sachin the next, I won’t choose between the two, I’ll watch them both.”

**TON-DULKAR

But if consistency alone were the key to the debate, Tendulkar, third on the all-time test centuries list with 28 in 91 matches, would be a comfortable pick.**

The 28-year-old has scored his 7,673 test runs at 58.57.

“There is no doubt Sachin will cross Don Bradman’s 29 test hundreds in the Caribbean,” former test player Atul Wassan said.

Huge expectations from millions of fans in India before every series put a huge burden of responsibility on Tendulkar.

Seen as India’s Mr Reliable, the man who fights on when everyone else has failed, anything less than a hundred from him is considered a disappointment.

The 28-year-old from Bombay has struck several stand-out innings since his first test ton at Old Trafford during India’s 1990 tour of England.

His 177 at Nottingham and fighting 114 at Perth in 1992 were both hallmarks of his aggressive approach.

The legendary Bradman said Tendulkar’s strokeplay reminded him of his own batting.

But the Indian has often been accused of not delivering the killer blow in tests – a charge he has not denied.

He was heavily criticised after India lost by 12 runs despite his 136 in the fourth innings against Pakistan at Madras in 1999.

“I have been disappointed with myself… I have to learn to finish games,” he said in a recent television interview.

ENIGMATIC CHARACTERS

Both Tendulkar and Lara are perceived as being as enigmatic as they are brilliant.

Lara quit the West Indian team for almost six months in early 2000 after an unsuccessful stint as captain. He played golf while the rest of the cricketing world wondered about his future.

He was coaxed back to the team but missed home series against Zimbabwe and Pakistan, saying he was not mentally prepared due to inadequate support from the cricket authorities.

Tendulkar, who has twice given up the India captaincy, leads a low-profile life, out of the limelight when off the cricket field.

His mannerisms, and even more his new conservative playing style, suggest that the wonderboy – he was first capped aged 16 – has consciously slipped into the mould of the team’s elder statesman.

“I’ve learnt to pace my innings better, I think my style has changed a bit,” Tendulkar says, adding he has become more conservative in his shot selection and cut down on uninhibited strokeplay.

Lara, like Tendulkar seen as the core batsman in a weakening West Indies side, believes in hitting out of trouble.

He smashed Sri Lanka’s bowlers to three big hundreds late last year for a 688-run series aggregate at 114.6 but still could not save his team from a 3-0 whitewash.

The Caribbean series will be demanding for both men, Lara returning from a three-month injury to try and preserve West Indies’s still impressive home test record while Tendulkar strives to give India their first series win outside south Asia in 17 years.

The contest will also settle the “who’s the best?” debate – at least for now.

I think the article says it all, but let’s have your comments as to who will emerge on the top at the end of this series. I think it will be Tendulkar as Lara has been sidelined by injury for a long time and I rate Tendulkar above Lara. But who knows? Will be an interesting duel to say the least.

Sorry but i don't think either of those players is the best batsmen. and definately Lara is better than Tendulkar. because tendulkar rarely delivers when he is needed the most but Lara more often has dug his team out of crisis. Who can forget Lara's many saviour innings against the Aussies.

I think the best batsmen ever is Bradman. and currently the best batsmen is Steve Waugh. He is a class player. Performs when needed the most and I feel really upset because he was stripped off his captaincy of the one-day team. I am really hoping for his comeback. GO STEVE WAUGH!!

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

I think the media is making a big deal out of this issue, I won't be surprised if both of them play miserably and the other under rated batsman will take the spotlight.
Thats was the same deal the last time India toured Westindies in 97, there was no contest.
Instead of concentrating on the 2 teams, they are only talking about 2 players, this is not fair to other players and making them feel less useful.
Do both teams stink that bad that no one is really caring about the rest of the players from the both sides.
Btw, as of now the best test batsman in the world is Matthew Hayden, this guy is just amazing.

Innntresting to know that "Tendulkar rarely delivers"..Hum....and he is the bastmen who has never been out of form in last 10 yrs.

inntresting !!!!!

good observation Deewana_Tera.

But ,then does your opion matters.Definitly all the great cricketters and anlayst think very diff than u buddy.

So chill...

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 10, 2002).]

Originally posted by dewana tera:
**Sorry but i don't think either of those players is the best batsmen. and definately Lara is better than Tendulkar. because tendulkar rarely delivers

Thanx for ur comments but not even a single cricket critic will agree with u so chill...
Both of em r greatest batsmen no doubt n statistics prove tendulkar a bit better than lara but both of em r determined to face each other in da current series...!!

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~

On a personal level, if the choice is between Lara and Tendu, then I'd always vote for Tendu. Lara, is somehow too full of himself, and when someone considers himself bigger than the game, then I don't like 'em anymore. Do you all remember the fuss he made when they made him captain of the team and then he left them and then took a sabbatical and all the mess around that time?

From a purely batting perspective, Lara is an immensely talented cricketer, who has played some fine knocks, but I like Tendu's compact style. I have had very limited exposure to cricket in the last year or so, but I always felt that Tendu is more reliable than any other batsman.

Anyway, these are my personal opinions. I am sure the staticians here will waste no time in throwing numbers here to prove one is better than the other, but it won't change my opinion about either Lara or Tendu. :)

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
**Innntresting to know that "Tendulkar rarely delivers"..Hum....and he is the bastmen who has never been out of form in last 10 yrs.

inntresting !!!!!

good observation Deewana_Tera.

But ,then does your opion matters.Definitly all the great cricketters and anlayst think very diff than u buddy.

So chill...

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 10, 2002).]**

Don't misquote me. i said tendulkar rarely delivers in a time of crisis. if that is not true why isn't India winning all the matches it plays??
Please tell me a few instances when he has performed under pressure.
I like to have knowledge and i will use this forum as such. it is in our best interest that we use this forum to share knowledge not target each other.
Thanx.

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

Originally posted by dewana tera:
Don't misquote me. i said tendulkar rarely delivers in a time of crisis. if that is not true why isn't India winning all the matches it plays??
Please tell me a few instances when he has performed under pressure.
I like to have knowledge and i will use this forum as such. it is in our best interest that we use this forum to share knowledge not target each other.
Thanx.

I think Dewana Tera is right. Tendulkar has failed to deliver at time of crisis. The article above says so as well and Tendulkar has admitted himself to it as well. (See above).

whatever dude.......we don't read articles....we analyze em ourself....neway maybe ur right but don't say that we are wrong which ur not.......na to tendulkar hamara kuch lagta hai na lara....so hamein unke peeche rone ki koi zaroorat nahi

Well, Both Sachin and Lara are great batsmen, There are equally talented other players like Saeed Anwar and Inzamaul Haq who are very under-rated (atleast by Non Pakistanis). Its not fair to compare them with each other. All of us would agree that all these players are assets to their team.

About Sachin performing at the crisis of the times, Well this discussion has been going on for years and sometime back there was a Gentleman (From Sachin’s Home Town) who wrote an article BURSTING THE SACHIN BUBBLEand then Rediff wrote a Reduttal of that CLEBRATING SACHIN.

These two article are old (at least 2 years) but still relevant.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited April 11, 2002).]

Apart from the whole debate of being able to win matches and all, someone once said that Tendi does ordinary things extraordinarily well and Lara makes extraordinary things look ordinary.

That about sums up my opinion!

Just a note of information for my friends in US and Canada.

Due to Popular Demand.. Dishnetwork has taken the initiative to show India vs. West Indies on TV ASIA. If you subscribe to TV Asia you get the whole series for the price you pay for the channel.

Check out the msg at www.kbs-tv.com

For Deewana_tera and Ehsaan.

Since you gusy asked some instances of Tendulkars game when he won matches single handedly.I can remember just few cases from top of my head which I would like to mention here.

1.Coca Cola Cup ,Sharjah, 1998.
Leage Match : India Vs Australia.
India was playing thsi last league match to get a place in final >It was must win situation and one point in time India needed alomost 9 runs/Over and then tendular Played Ining of life to win taht match for india.he scored 143 with 9*4 and 5*6.

Final match : India vs Australia
Again Tendulkar Singel handeldy sown this match for india again to win Coca Cola cup.tendular 143 with 11*4 and 3*6.

2 1997-98 India Vs Australia Test Series:

the much awaited battle between Warne and Sachin and how sachin took care of Warne to give India a 2-1 Series win.

Other than this there are many instances like India vs kenys in WC 99 or India vs NZL in 1999 and many others whcih I cant recall right now.

Infect India won 25 Onedayers out of 31 times when he scored centuries.

Then out of Wisden TOP 100 Onday Inings Tendulkar has 4 Ininings.Obvioulsy King Richard has most inings in TOP 100 , but then Tendulkar is still playing and will play for another 10 yrs .

Loook at this ..if he hasnt won matches then he wouldnot have won 42 Man of the match awards ( max for any player ) and 10 man of the series in one dayers.

AQ, in my original posting I did say that I think Tendulkar is the best. However it seems that you are not prepared to accept any criticism towards him even if Tendulkar himself admits to the fact. Well maybe you know better than Sachin himself. I rest my case.

Both are great batsmen, but this series certainly cannot be a measure of whos better.

The bowling department sucks on both sides, and anyone can score against Indian and West Indian bowling these days.

However, head to head, both have distinct styles, and it would be difficult to choose one of them for a one off match. But over the course of a career, I guess Tendulkar would be the better choice.

Originally posted by ehsan:
*AQ, in my original posting I did say that I think Tendulkar is the best. However it seems that you are not prepared to accept any criticism towards him even if Tendulkar himself admits to the fact. Well maybe you know better than Sachin himself. I rest my case. *

Ehsaan,
I am ready to accept any criticism but there some poeple (Fortunately u r not one of them) who just tend to be biased towards him ,just becoz he is an Indian.And hence was that post.

he is also a human being and one cannot expect him to score a 100 every time he bats.

And yes He is yet to come with a great Ining like 363 of sobers,or 375 of lara ,or 363 of hanif,or even 281 of Laxman but then he has another 10 yrs of Career.

Anyway,take it easy !!!!

Dil pe mat lo yaar !!!

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 11, 2002).]

This is Lara has to say about this whole discussion: :slight_smile:

From CricInfo interview](http://www-usa.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/APR/131303_INDINWI_17APR2002.html)

***The man with the two most coveted batting records – the highest individual scores in Test and first-class cricket – wants to emulate Sachin Tendulkar for the rest of his career.

“Now I’ll do what Sachin is doing – score runs a lot without thinking of anything else,” Lara said. “I’ve lost some precious years and run-scoring opportunities. However, from now on, it will be different.”

On Sachin Tendulkar, Lara’s rival in a much-hyped contest, he said, "At present he is the best batsman of the world, undoubtedly. I might have won more matches for the West Indies than he has won for India, but no other batsman in the world is as consistent as he.

just dont' worry about em.....im the best batsman ....PCB just gotta give me a chance to go at one down in place of youhana...im serious...YEAH

Well to be honest I respect Tendulkar, but he is no way near to LARA.
Lara is a cricket legend and world wide recognized as such.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited April 23, 2002).]

Ali_r, With all due respect to Lara, do you mean to say that Sachin is not recognized world over ?

AK