Dummy's guide to Pakistan Cinema ...

I am trying to recall the “Good” and some “excellent” Pakistani movies produced during last 10-12 years and believe me ! they are more than a handful :slight_smile:

Please feel free to share your view about them, if you have seen them… otherwise just shut up and try to base your opinion on some substance.
Here is the rating criteria, my rating is quite conservative… but i have taken into account the lack of new equipment in the industory and considerably tight funding …

***** ~ Excellent
**** ~ V. Good
*** ~ Avg.
** ~ When there is nothing better

• ~ Avoid at all costs 

(the list is in no particular order)

Dewaney terey payar ke****
Dir/producer : syed Noor

Staring : Moamar Rana, Jeya Ali and Nadeem

Very good Love story, with pretty good acting by both debutantes Nice story, songs and overal very good film. Did a lot of business in Pakistan

Nikah ****
Dir : Sangeeta

Staring : Shaan, Rema

A social topic and nicely handled by the director. Good acting by both leading actor, Rema played the role of wife of midle class civil servant facing mid-life crisis and mother of child. Did her role very well and so did shan :k: Very realistic and good story

(continued)…

Re: Dummy's guide to Pakistan Cinema ...

you have TWO

Deewane Tere Pyar Ke was awesome. Nikah was way, way too damn paindoo for my taste. I mean the comedy was right off those weird kind of theatre plays they have in Lahore.....

Re: Dummy’s guide to Pakistan Cinema …

Zever ****1/2

Dir : Syed Noor

Staring Rema, Babar Ali, Sahiba, Rembo, Shahid

This mid 90s movie floped in Pakistsan. It was too good. The story was about a husband and wife who live in some other country (philipine/thailand) and both work to make end meet, the wife (otherwise a good girl) can not resist some temptations like jewlery cloths etc. But their mere income does not allow them to buy anything fancy. She falls in a trap of a businessman.

Sahiba is the sister of wife (rema) and she study + work and lives with her sister. Sahiba played the best role of her life in that movie. She acts mature, advises her sister to do the same.

Some songs are very good, the movie (although a commercial one) can easily be called an Art movie. Director has done justice to this realistic film.

Ghar kab ao gay *

Dir : Shahzad Gul

Staring Shaan, sana, Noor +++

Apart from few very good songs, there is nothing much in this movie. No need to waste time only for songs.

Mujhey Chand Chaheye *

Dir : Shaan

Staring Shaan, Noor, Muamar Rana

Something went wrong with this movie. Dont know what. but again some songs are nice.

Terey payar main ***1/2 ( I thnk this is the name of film :konfused: )

Dir : Shahzad Rafique

Staring: Shaan, Zara Shaikh

The movie is about Sikh Yatree comming to pakistan and visiting their holy places. Zara Shaikh plays the sikh girl who comes to lahroe with his father … After doing yaatra they (Zara and her father ) go to their ancestral home (haweli) and they are warmly welcomed by current residents, so they stay at haweli for a week or so

The First half of the movie is excellent , but the later half is somewhat boring and sad.
Nice songs and Very very good acting by that actor who did the role of zara’s father.

Continued…

Shaan is the best Paki actor who can rival any actor in the world! was amazing in "terey pyar mein"

these Paki films are made with a fraction of a budget compared to indian film. imaging wot they will produce wen given an average indian film budget (25 cror!!!!)

did any1 watch Asoo bila?? staring Shaan, baber ali and saud??
i rate it ****

About Shaan, I will give my coments later …

Comparing Indian Industory with Pakistan film industory will be gross injustice and factual mistake. There is no comparison Indian industory is huge ( biggest in the world as far as quantity is concerned)

Its like comparing Canadian film industory with Holywood.

Cont.

** Chief Saab** **

Dir : Javaid Shaikh

Staring Javaid Shaikh, Neeli, Saleem Shaikh, Meera, Ismail Tara, Zeba Shehnaz

Nice locations, nice songs excellent picturization. But the movie lacked good story, acting was just avg… Overall nothing much exept songs

Sangam***

Dir: Syed Noor

*ring Shaan, Resham, Saleem shaikh (another girl)

Copy of an english movie of 70s staring Jhon Travolta. The guy is a patient, who has to live all his life in a room of glass in artificial air. He cant survive in normal air. Nice acting by Shaan, some nice songs. Overall not a bad movie at all.

Khoye ho tum kahaan ****

Dir : Ajab Gul

Staring Ajab Gul, Meera , Babar Ali

A Mystery thriller, with nice songs and avg acting by meera and good acting by Babar Ali
and Ajab Gul. Good direction and grip on the story :k: Hardly any flaw in the story. It did good business in pakistan ( The movie was copied in India and resultant film flopped at box office)

Continued

Khouye ho tum kahaan was a copy of Perfect Murder, but I liked the movie Ajub Gul made..

I liked Sangam, Mushkil, Jeeva and to some extent Ghoonghat.

^ Mushkil & Jeeva are more 10-12 year old.

ok

Ghonghat ***1/2

Dir Syed Noor

Staring Moshsin Khan, Arbaz khan, Resham Andaleep and Shaan

Pretty avg, family movie, until the time Shaan comes in. The movie becomes interesting. Shaan did a negative role, in his comeback movie (after 4,5 years gap ).

**Sargam ** ****1/2

Dir/Producer Syed Noor

Staring Zeba Bakhtyar, Adnan Sami, Ghulam husain Kathak, Nadeem.

Low budget movie, but managed very well. It took a long time in making, Its music came out years earlier, and was blockbuster at that time. When the film was released eventually, people were 90% sure that it will be a flop. But unexpectedly it did a lot of business.

There was hardly any makeup, costumes, or sets in the movie. But the presence of Zeba Bakhtyar was enough to cap all deficencies. Adnan Sami did his best and he looked natural. He was four times less obese, than he is now. All the songs were superb :k:

In the end, Job well done by director.

Quote that I remember :

Mahraj Ghulam husain kathak, while teaching Adnan Sami about Clasical music says…

"Mousequi, Abraani zaban ka lafz hai, Mos ke ma’ani Hawa our Qi ke ma’ani girah ke hain. Mousequi, Yaani Hawa main girah lagana "

There are some more movie which i have not seen

** Laaj **
Dupatta Jal raha hai
Guns n Roses

Continued…

^ Haan sargam tu jaisay Jeeva se pehlay aayee thee naa :rolleyes: and Mushkil came out in 1996-97 :mad:

Mushkil was out somewhere around 94 as far as I can remember.

Main 2 din aya nahi tu Meri thread hi gum ho gai :hoonh:

Saby ustad Sargam was relesed in late 90s (96/97) Jeeva was released in early 90s :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyway just for you

Jeeva ***1/2

Resham, babar Ali, Nadeem, Javaid Shaikh

Dir-Sayed noor

Good movie, above avg, nice songs. But the real twist in the story comes after Javaid Shaikh’s entry and his tussle with Nadeem. :k:

Now something about punjabi movie.. .Actually, there is nothing to write home about them but still there are a couple of nice movies…

Chooriaan ***1/2

Moamar Rana, Saima, Shafqat Cheema

Dir-Syed noor

The Movie is most part cinderella type love story, but with less non-sense. The songs were all nice, but the most impressing part of the story was the Character of Shafqat Cheema. He did the role of helpless father. It was his relationship with nephew which, somewhat stole the show. He was the best actor in the movie.

Niki Jai Haan***
Reema, Saima, Moamar Rana

Dir-Syed noor

If I remember correctly this was the movie in which they try to marry the girl with holy quran (God forbid) . Very brave step to highlight ignorance and corruption of the society :k:

Wrong. The one you’re thinking about is MEHNDI WAALEY HAATH

^ Probably. Thanks :)

Teray Piyar Main was directed by Hassan Askari and not Shahzad. Shahzad Rafique has directed two film Salakhain and Rukhsati whilst he produced Nikkah and Ghoonghat and Rukhsati as well.

Niki Ji Haan was a beautiful film only it was directed by Masood Butt and produced by Shahzad Gull.

What aboput Yeh Dil Aap Ka Hua and Choorian? PLus there are some more beautiful films that got flopped due to unfortuante reasons like Syed Noor's Dilm Diwana due to 9/11 and a few others as well.

It may have been a week film but I personally think Laaj was a brave attempt in a day and time when most of us play safe in comtemporary times, Raud did experiment. You can blame his various facets of the film making and perhaps a few performances but oyu must give him the credit for being original and creative.

Mubasher Lucman

sorry pls read that as Rauf Khalid and not Raud

Thanks for your input Mr. Lucman

These are the movies I have seen and remeber somewhat, all the information is based on memory recollection so mistakes are inevitable :)

Yeh dil apka hoa was pretty avg, technically it was good but otherwise nothing new in the story acting etc, Choriaan, I have mentioned already. Laaj, I have not seen so we will rely on your review