Dum using charcoal

So this weekend, my sisters and I are making Dum ke Pasanday. Its an experiment - never made them before.

My question is, how to best give dum using charcoal? Do you heat it before you put it in? Just put the coal in? Put oil on it?

How do you guys get that koylay ka dum?

Re: Dum using charcoal

I have seen someone doing it and have never done it myself.She first heated the coal piece on her stove (she had a gas one so she heated it on teh flame) ...then when it was hot she took a piece of bread and placed it on the salan and placed the coal on it..poured a teaspoon or so of cooking oil on it and covered the lid ...opened and served after a few minutes.
She was making dum ka keema and it was really good..!

I do similar to the above, but place the coal on tin foil, in the centre of the dish, and then cover with a lid a above. I also usually use butter, but oil probably works the same.

Latest research shows fumes from cooking oils are carcinogenic (Cancer Causing) .

Source:
U.S. National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Link: Identification of carcinogens in cooking oil fumes - PubMed

Get 4inX4in aluminum sheet. Shape it like a bowl, place in the middle of the pot and put coal in it. Dip a drop or two of oil and cover for 5 min.

burning coal in foil, drops of ghee, cover. simpal si baat hai..

and you can use ghee instead of oil coz its going in the dhuwa, not in the food. oil or ghee, its carcinogenic and yum. more yum with ghee-smokezz..

This is what I do:

But charcoal on stoptop until you see it burn
Use a glass small containter and put the charcoal in
Put a few drop of on it
cover the lid

:eek:

I use the top layer of a big onion instead of foil...u get more flavour....

Hmmm ^ really?

Okay, so the trick is to light it first?? I was told to just put it in on a piece of foil. :(

Hehe... It has to be glowing red before u put it on foil or the onion peel...

When u put oil ir ghee on it, its ginna smoke.... Cover the dish immediately...

Oh and onion peel is not the top most layer u discard usually...i mean the actual onion... Pull off a layer and use that.

Thank you ladiesssssssss! Inshallah we'll be making it this weekend and I'll let you all know how it turns out! :)

You probably know this already,but don't forget to leave the lid on until all the dhua dies down...if the lid is transparent,you will be able to see it swirling.

^ never tried this, but will do it this too

Here they are!!!

Thank you for the lovely advice everyone!!!

OH and instead of just oil...I used desi ghee on the coal...just smelled sooooooooooooo good!

Can I please have the recipe? That looks so good!

@Reha can you please post the recipe?? its mouth watering :yummy:

BuT koila in usa are artificial. I tried before it smell. Like chemical not like in pakistan which give nice smokey flavor.

you can burn a piece of hardwood to the point where it turn into redhot koila to use it. There are some other products sold which give that smokey flavor which your are looking for.