umm, my MIL just showed me my walima outfit, masha’Allah, it’s AMAZING!
BUT i haveone question, an di gotta get back to her, is it normal for the dubatta to be like REALLY heavy, basically there’s work ALLLLLLLLLLL over it…pls let me know.
(oh and btw, remember when i was worried abt the measuremetns, they’re perfect al hamdu lillah!)
Re: dubatta!
im glad to hear u like it and it fits well mashallah, as far as the dupatta is concerned yes it is teh norm for the duppatta to b heavily filled with khaam :) i luv heavily filled dupaaty , luks so pretty :)
start pumping the iron if its too heavy.
if its not too heavy and u want it heavy then select 2-3 healthy kids [under the age of 2years old] and ask them to sit on ur dupatta and :LB: while u walk around like a princess :@:
Yup.. most dubattas are heavy… look pretttyy :halo:
Yeah it's normal and it looks beautiful on the bride but it can be a pain in the ass if you plan on wearing it again after shadi.
oh man, i SO agree with that!!! my shaadi dupatta was wayyy too heavy too. just make sure your hair is a solid beehive, i.e. severely backcombed and with a ton of hairspray otherwise your dupatta will crush it and make it look really flat. im sure whomever you approach for your hair and makeup will know the drill once they see the dupatta :)
so what colour is your outfit? whats it look like? is it a gharara or a sharara or what? oooh, im excited for you!
thanks for the advice...cuz my MIL wanted to know cuz appparently, if i wanted maybe they can reduce the work on it cuz it's literally on every little part of it, tjhere's not a place on the dubatta that is empty and on te egdes there's like all stones and stuff..and it's like really long...so u sure i shouldn't be worried abt it? cuz i'm like small and stuff too and my MIL saw it's prolly heavier than me..hehe..
oh, the lehnga is extremely nice masha'Allah! it's like all off-whitish all with little sequins and with like the border all around being maroon velvetty(and thick) with stones on it and it even has little tiny bells! Might sound weird..but they look good and sound good hehe.. and I just love the fact that it fit perfectly, but the lehnga is long, but as u guys said it should be, also cuz i'm gonna wear heels and someone will hold it for me.
i don't wanna be annoying, so u guys are perfectly sure i will be able to wear the dubatta? Like this thing is mad heavy, and i don't have such a big head...
oh and also, how the heck will it get pinned up???
why dont u just try it on..and see if u can walk around..and move ur head!
how can anyone tell you if you'll be able to stand the heavy dupata? people have already said its normal for dulhan ka dupata to be heavy..but if ur still concerned..then i say try it on
good luck :)
i tried it on, and it wasn't staying on my head at all...thats when i got scared, but i don't wanna alter it cuz i love the way it is but then my mom thinks the ppl at the beauty parlour have a way to pin up even the heaviest dubattas but i don't trust my mom, she doesn't know this stuff.... we really don't know abt these things, since we've never really bought these kinda things before, and my MIL is the same way, this is the first wedding for both families...so i told her i'll ask some ppl and let her know insha'Allah. Like i always knew it was heavy, but i dind't know it was THIS heavy, but i don't know much, so that's why i don't even know if it's normal heavy or not, or if it's normal for it to slide off my head or not and if i just gotta wait for the pinning up process.....so clueless...
^ Are you going to a desi parlor for ur makeuP? then yes, the womena t the salon will be able to do it.. my duputta was really heavy and my makeup artist did a great job in pinning it in so that it flattered me but wasn't difficult to manage..
it also depends on the fabric..if its silky and a bit heavy then ofcourse it wont just stay on ur head..
i say if u really like it..then keep it the way it is..the salon people will take care of it..i mean the people who made the dress wouldnt make a duppata tht brides couldnt handle..
do u have a pic of it?
i tried it on, and it wasn't staying on my head at all...thats when i got scared, but i don't wanna alter it cuz i love the way it is but then my mom thinks the ppl at the beauty parlour have a way to pin up even the heaviest dubattas but i don't trust my mom, she doesn't know this stuff.... we really don't know abt these things, since we've never really bought these kinda things before, and my MIL is the same way, this is the first wedding for both families...so i told her i'll ask some ppl and let her know insha'Allah. Like i always knew it was heavy, but i dind't know it was THIS heavy, but i don't know much, so that's why i don't even know if it's normal heavy or not, or if it's normal for it to slide off my head or not and if i just gotta wait for the pinning up process.....so clueless...
your mom is right. the people at parlor knows how to fix dupatta. its not much difficult to pin it. no worries. it will be all good inshallah :).
yeah, that's what i was thinking Aaana, they wouldn't make somehting that would be impossible to wear...i think another reason i was worried is cuz i'm a bit on the tinier side and so maybe it's not for me....but then again, i think the tailor saw that i was on the tinier side...
and no i don't have a pic...but insha'Allah khair, u guys made me feel sooooo much better...when the time comes, i'll post the pic of the dress insha'Allah...and i'll let u know how it goes insha'Allah! can't wait for it....less than 4 months insha'Allah!! (make duaa everything goes well if u remember)
what is the material of the dupatta? and do you have pics? if it isnt silk chiffon or net it will be so annoying and hard to make it look right, you need to practice pinning it, etc
it's made of chiffon I think....not sure.....
btw, one more question(sorry if i'm annoying), but would itmake a difference if my hair isn't thick at all...like would it be hard to pin it up in this case...i only have a week to decide whether i'm sticking with it.
^ No, the beautician will probably do a lot of backcombing as well as add fake hair if your hair is very thin. At least that's they do in Canada, not sure abt where you are. Check the parlour where u will be getting ready if they will provide the hair pieces or you will have to get them on your own. If your duputta will be very heavy, it's best to stick to a simple, neat hairstyle, but don't wrory about how "strange" it will look, since teh duputta will be covering it.
yeah im in canada (montreal)...thanks a lot sarah..,does anyone know of any good desi beauty parlours here??
just go for a trial already