Duaa al Qunoot during Witr Salah

Assalamo alaykum,

While looking up material on the method of offering witr salah, I came across some stuff on duaa al qunoot that I thought I should share.

Please refer to the link for the duaa and additional information.

Ref: Du’aa’ al-Qunoot in Witr prayer

Ref: Is the du’aa’ of Witr obligatory, and what should a person say if he cannot memorize it?

Re: Duaa al Qunoot during Witr Salah

Ref: Qunoot during salaah

:jazak: Sadiyah…

Excellently informative post…

“Allaahumma ihdini feeman hadayta wa ‘aafini feeman ‘aafayta wa tawallani feeman tawallayta wa baarik li feema a’tayta, wa qini sharra ma qadayta , fa innaka taqdi wa la yuqda ‘alayk, wa innahu laa yadhillu man waalayta wa laa ya’izzu man ‘aadayta, tabaarakta Rabbana wa ta’aalayta la munji minka illa ilayk"

I recite the same except the bolded parts…(I learned it from a book called ‘The Citadel of the Believer’ (An excellent book…It is a tiny book and can be gotten fi sabilillah from Darussalam publications…)

Many points have been clarified for me which I was ignorant about…May you be rewarded for it…

As usual, we know so little about the Fiqh of our faith and consider ourselves Muslims…

Thanks again…:k:

I am a bit confused by this, do they mean we have to raise our hands the way we do when we make a du’a at the end of prayers? because the way i’ve been doing it and the way i’ve seen others do it is, they raise their hands and say Allah o Akbar the way they do when starting the namaz after doing the niyah…

and yes Jazak’Allah khair sadiyah, it was very useful, i didn’t know half of the stuff there. may Allah(swt) reward you for your deeds. Ameen :kiss:

You should do it like you make dua at end of the prayer... raising hands and should be done after you get up from last rukoo.

Let’s just not get confused.

There are two different ways that Rasooulah:saw: performed the wit’r with.

One is as mentioned in the original text of the thread.

Second is the one that Imam Abu Hanifa:rehm: prefers, in which you have to say takbeer in the third rakah before the rukoo and raise your hands to your ears and fold them again and then recide dua al qanoot and then complete the rest of the Wajib al Wit’r

I have prayed both ways but normally I follow the hanafi school of thought.

yea that’s how i pray and all the masjid people pray (not just pakistanis but arabs and what not)

but during Ramadan we did go to a masjid who mostly had africans, and they would pray the 2 rakahs and then pray one rakah and raise their hands as if making a dua and they would recite a lambi chori dua. so i suppose these are the two different ways and you can do either or

I read it the way AQ mentioned with the exception that I raise my hands for duaa.

Yes.. I have prayed it the other way (2 and then 1 rakah) only once few years back on 27th night of Ramadan when Dr. Israr Ahmed lead us the prayer that night even though he himself normally does the other way.

I'vee seen the same method used in Harmain Shareefain during Ramadan Congregational Wit'r prayer.

The important point is that none of the methods are wrong. Both are Sunnah.

So what is the more stronger Dalil...

Do we raise our hands like in supplication or do we raise them like in the Takbeer-e-tehreema?

bhai jaan! Rasoolulah :saw: did it both ways… what daleel are you looking for?

Bhai sahab…The stronger one…:smiley:

mein deti hoon zor daar chaanta gaal pe raseeding

lo apni daleel aur ghar jaa ke ansu poncho :mad:

Haan…This daleel is really authentic…:hehe:

Any and all actions of Rasoolulah:saw: were stronger to say the least. I dunno what do you mean by Stronger in any sense.

Something which is mentioned more often and has more reputable and verifiable Dalaails…

I’d get back to this thread in a couple of days with the solid info, :insha:…

OK... So if you get a daleel, you mean to say billions of muslims thus far got it wrong if they were doing it other way???

Nahin yaar…:smack:

I just like to follow the stronger Dalaail…

^ Lajawab has a point.

Ive learned Hanafis do have the stronger daleel. I'll get back to you soon inshAllah.

But both are correct.