Dua of Musa

Rabbi, inni lima anzalta ilaya min khairin faqeer
ربِّ إني لمآ أنزلت إلي من خير فقير
“O My Lord! Truly am I in (desperate) need of any good that You bestow on me!” (Quraan: 28:24)

Heard the above dua is read for marriage, employment etc.Wondering if anyone has read the dua for similar purposes? And how authentic this is for marriage?

Re: Dua of Musa

Peace @Life01,

One day I asked a certain person belongs to a community that are mostly in Labour professional i.e., heavy truck driver if I say precisely, that why majority of them are "driver"? He told me that our parents, relatives etc., since our childhood till today keep asking dua that we become "doctor" or "engineer" etc. But they keep doind dua. So now you tell me how come we become "doctor" or "engineer" etc.

What he was trying to say that "dua ke saath daro ki bhi zaroorat hoti hy", "hilla ke saath wasila ki bhi zaroorat hoti hy". Means if one wants to get marry, he/she should find a good rishta along with duas too.

Hope I'm able to answer your query. :)

Quran is not a book of spells. It is a book of wisdom, and the story of prophet Musa is one that relates several advices, and provides food for thought for those who prefer to reflect instead. In brief, Prophet Musa was at a point in his life where he was persecuted, and faces legal unjust punishment against his physical self and his livelihood, he was on the run from the men of Pharoes and had left behind all his little belongings and life behind. He was in absolute loss, no wealth, no clothes, no family, no money, no friends. In this state, he begged Allah for "khair". "Khair" is very comprehensive and very subjective. If something is better for tomorrow, it may not be better for me today. If something is better for you, it may not be better for me!

His dua was accepted, and one thing led to anther where he ended up marrying, gaining health and wealth, he got married, and had the support of the tribe he married into. That was "khair" for him at the time as Allah had decreed best for him. Allah taught Musa this dua and teaches us all in the Quran the same dua. So let go and prefer khair of Allah. inshalAllah, things will fall in place in the most excellent manner for you across all aspects of your life.

You will be tested with patience in many ways .

General Rules of Dua acceptance

• Pray five times
  • increase sadaqah
  • abstain from shameful things
  • Eat hahal, earn halal, give forward halaal
  • do not backbite
  • make istigfaar increasingly during the day everyday sincerely

This dua is on my phone's wall paper as I am going through a difficult time in life. We can never tell if a certain dua will help us for a specific cause. Just pray pray and pray. "ANY good" could mean any thing under the sun. ANY THING Allah talaah can offer us. :) That is what I think. We cant know if it is authentic for marriage.

One I know and read for marriage and future family/kids is:

**"Rabbana hab lana min azwajina wa dhuriyyatina qurrata A'yunin waj'alna lil-muttaqina imama."

"Our Lord! grant us in our mates and offspring the joy of our eyes and make us patterns for those who guard against evil." (25:74)**

BigdaNawab basically pinpointed it all. Good answer!

Lethal Kamikaze…too hard English. :confused:

^man gets what he strives for...

Have yaqeen and sincerity while making dua..
May Allah grant us goodness of dunya and akhirah Ameen

Peace BigdaNawab

If by “not a book of spells” you mean that you can’t use it as a verbal recital to achieve various affects … Then explain this hadith …

Narrated Abu Said ﺭَﺿِﻲَ اﻟﻠﻪُ ﻋَﻨْﻪُ : Some of the Companions of the Prophet ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ went on a journey till they reached some of the Arab tribes (at night). They asked the latter to treat them as their guests but they refused. The chief of that tribe was then bitten by a snake (or stung by a scorpion) and they tried their best to cure him but in vain. Some of them said (to the others), “Nothing has benefited him, will you go to the people who resided here at night, it may be that some of them might possess something (as treatment).” They went to the group of the Companions (of the Prophet ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ ) and said, “Our chief has been bitten by a snake (or stung by a scorpion) and we have tried everything but he has not benefited. Have you got anything (useful)?” One of them replied, “Yes, by Allâh! I can recite a Ruqya , but as you have refused to accept us as your guests, I will not recite the Ruqya for you unless you fix for us some wages for it.” They agreed to pay them a flock of sheep. One of them then went and recited ( Surat AlFâtiha ): All the praises and thanks be to Allâh, the Lord of the Alamin (mankind, jinn and all that exists). And puffed over the chief who became all right as if he was released from a chain, and got up and started walking, showing no signs of sickness. They paid them what they agreed to pay. Some of them (i.e., the Companions) then suggested to divide their earnings among themselves, but the one who performed the recitation said, “Do not divide them till we go to the Prophet ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ and narrate the whole story to him, and wait for his order.” **So, they went to Allâh’s Messenger ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ and narrated the story. Allâh’s Messenger ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ asked, “How did you come to know that Surat AlFâtiha was recited as Ruqya ?’’ Then he added, “You have done the right thing. **Divide (what you have earned) and assign a share for me as well.” The Prophet ﺻﻠﻰ اﻟﻠﻪ ﻋﻠﻴﻪ ﻭﺳﻠﻢ smiled thereupon. Hiring, What is paid for Ruqya (i.e., Divine Speech recited as a means of curing diseases) with Surat AlFâtiha , when practised over an Arab tribe.Hadith No:2276

Bismillah ar rehmaanur raheem

First of all....

One can use recorded Hadith in two ways:
1) To demonstrate one's own preconceived notions, concepts, and believes
2) To understand and elaborate the meaning of the Quran treating authentic hadith as an ancillary piece of literature.

The sunnah of our beloved Prophet (peace be upon him) is suppose to serve as a LIVING EXAMPLE to the QURAN, not the LIVING example of our own current-intellect. So, hadith must be understood in the light of Quran (the primary source), and not standalone, or one's own customs and norms.

Now moving to the concept of "Ruqya". Two ways to explain is as far as I understand it....
The Arab had many superstitious customs culturally in the Pre-Islamic days. Recitation of charms, incantations and spells for something was also part of other cultures around the Arabia; Example the Persian to the North. Some associated influential emotional and powerful and witty poetry to have an enchanting effect on people as well, and poetry was the primary form of high-order literature and arts within the Arabia.

These same sentiments, habits and intellect enabled people to take Quranic verses and apply them as Ruqya as well when Quran was revealed. The Prophet (pbuh) DID NOT prevent and reject Quran's use in such a manner because his job was to share benefit, not overshadow, or hide benefit from human beings. However, evil magicians use Quranic verses as a Ruqya to cast evil non-beneficial spells which becomes BLACK magic that is HARAM. Obviously, Prophet did not condone use to Quranic Ruqya as for evil deeds.

So does that still prove that Quran is indeed a book of spells???
No...and here is why
everything thing in the world as an "effect" and "function", and "utility" that is innate. For example: legs used to walk or run not fly or breath. A round tire is used to move a locomotive, not fly an airplane . A key is used to lock and unlock something. Polite and courteous language also creates effect, rude and harsh language also causes psychological trauma. In nature EVERYTHING interacts with everything else in many ways and has many innate properties maintained by Al-Mudabbir

Quranic verses similarly also have many utility, function, effects, just like any thing in the world. But according to the language of the Quran, time and time again, and in several places Quran calls itself as the book of wisdom (Sura Yasin, 1-5) that upon reflection is bound to render best/righteous behavior which is the objective of man's life.

When the Quran was revealed with Surah A'luq in cave Hira during this blessed month of Ramadan, what was the message in the first 5 verses revealed to mankind? To my understanding, it engaged man sharply into deep fundamental reflection about the epistemological and biological evolution in man's existence among others things.No where does the Quran call itself anywhere close to a Ruqya. Nor did Prophet Muhammed ever teach it as a Ruqya, or ever lived a life where he preferred incantation over acting and struggling in life in wisdom. The loss in the battle of Uhud is an example to reflect: no quranic ruqya even by God's own messenger couldn't change fate of battle.

Peace BigdaNawab

There is so much I would like to say on this post, but so as not to be distracted from the main topic. You said hadith has to be seen in the light of the Qur'an and so if I provide you with this ayah, will it not make you reconsider your position, even slightly?

And We send down of the Qur'an that which is healing and mercy for the believers, but it does not increase the wrongdoers except in loss.

quran.com/17/82

@psyah
sure. go ahead

The ayah in my last post … That is evidence of my position that Qur’an is a healing, do you believe it now?

the evidence is actually your intellect....because it saw what is thinks it read in that verse.

and to be honest, its a learning experience for us all. so no point for two non-scholars on the subject to argue..hah

can the word "healing" not be interpreted in multiple ways?

for example: guidance for the jahiliya may be seen as "healing" for them......the Quran definitely provides that.

Peace BigdaNawab and Muzna

Of course you are both correct and so am I ... However, earlier BigdaNawab said that one needs to understand hadith in the light of Qur'an ... Now I presented a hadith where Fatihah is used as a cure and BigdaNawab took exception to that saying that it has been presented through my own bias. he said the Qur'an presents itself as a book of guidance and he said it is not a book of "magic spells" ... I tried to show that it is also presenting itself as a healing in and of itself ... But now I stand accused of seeing in it what my intellect wants to see.

I can of course argue the reverse case that BigdaNawab sees no cure in it due to his own intellect preventing that. So we are on stalemate ... Except that His accusation on me is not valid ... I am not the one presenting this argument, the scholars who I follow do ... They are experts in Islam and have been license to transmit their teachings by the previous generation of experts. At the same time I do not negate your interpretion sister Muzna, yes it could well be interpreted in multiple ways ... The apparent meaning however ... I.e. The literal meaning cannot be ignored ... If you read the translation again ... It says it is a "healing and mercy for the believers" ... So if healing meant to guide the jahil ... Can it be that it is saying the belivers are jahil that need to be guided, when it already uses the term hidaya (to guide) in other places?

Please also go to Surah 41 Ayah 44

And if We had made it a non-Arabic Qur'an, they would have said, "Why are its verses not explained in detail [in our language]? Is it a foreign [recitation] and an Arab [messenger]?" Say, "It is, for those who believe, a guidance and cure." And those who do not believe - in their ears is deafness, and it is upon them blindness. Those are being called from a distant place

Now if healing or cure here meant "guidance" then effectively we are accusing the Qur'an of tautology, which is a grammatical weakness or we are forced to conclude it means what it says - that it is a cure.

It calls itself a cure "for the hearts" ...

Surah 10 Ayah 57

O mankind, there has to come to you instruction from your Lord and healing for what is in the breasts and guidance and mercy for the believers.

This is a direct statement further stating that it deals with psychological imbalances ... It puts the heart at peace ... According to my empirical reasoning ... Take anger, tension, anxiety, depression, laziness, spiritual fatigue and so on ... It "magically" cures all of these.

Ask what the Sahabh used to do before getting their arrows removed from their limbs ... They used to start praying and use that state like people use alcohol today to lower the intensity of the pain as it is removed. Why is it soothing to recite the Qur'an for a person who is dying?

be-naseeb mullah aur unkey behesiiyeh
reh gaya in k paas Quran

you are not wrong ...maybe i am wrong.
You take whatever you can find in the Quran. It only has benefit for every intellect

I don't disagree with your analysis or interpretation psyah bhai and at the same time I agree with BN's suggestion that you can find whatever you wish to look for.

The original disagreement began with the terminology: a book of spells.

Maybe BN can further clarify but I took his statement to mean that it is not a compilation of incantations that can be recited by anyone that wishes to make something happen, as a magician would want us to believe he/she can do.

While Allah swt can provide healing to anyone He wishes in any way He wishes, the suggestion that the holy Quran contains "spells" would lead to the assumption that anyone, even one without faith, can recite surah Fatiha and expect to be healed of whatever ails them.

sometimes I feel like women generally get it. There is no religious male ego trying to emerge as better and knowledgable.
Munzi wunzi, you have explained this in a way most people can digest better. nailed it. thanks!

wow…this one’s worth saving…

:blush: