Dua needed for a friend

A friend familiar with GS contacted me and asked me to post this on the religion forum asking for some help. He is in a state of disturbance and needs your help. I would appreciate if you guys can help out.

His depression has reached the point of considering suicide and thinking about death constantly. He feels helpless and like he cannot get out of this state. He has trouble sleeping for days and when he does sleep its only for 2-3 hrs. There are alot of things going wrong in his life and he is blaming himself for it. He feels like he has not been a good son either. The thing is he cannot talk to any family members about it since he lives alone plus you know how desi families are…they dont exactly deal with this in the ideal way.

He wants a dua that he can recite to get rid of all the negative thoughts

So if you guys can both pray for him and provide any duas he can recite or ways in which he can recover it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Dua needed for a friend

here:وَقَالَ مُوسَى إِنِّي عُذْتُ بِرَبِّي وَرَبِّكُم مِّن كُلِّ مُتَكَبِّرٍ لَّا يُؤْمِنُ بِيَوْمِ الْحِسَابِ *
Waqala moosa innee AAuthtu birabbee warabbikum min kulli mutakabbirin la yuminu biyawmi alhisabi****

*40:27 Moses said: "I have indeed called upon my Lord and your Lord (for protection) from every arrogant one who believes not in the Day of Account!" *I asked one scholar for dua to cure suspicions and negative thoughts.

This was his reccomendation. Insha Allah will work:)

Thank you very much SindSagar.

Allah aap kay dost ko sehat atta farmaiy. Ameen

Shweetdreamz remember to explain to him there are people out there who are in the same position, or in fact worse. May ALLAH swt forgive him and his family for thier sins, may ALLAH swt insure they live long and happy lives, may ALLAH swt insure they are entered into Janat Al Firdous forever, may ALLAH swt insure they are never suffering both mentally or physically in this life and in the next, Ameen.

When I recently found myself in a similar situation, I was advised to continuously read tasbeeh of "Astagfirullah" and also, "Hasbi allah ho wanemal wakeel"

My situation is and was different but just having something to recite continuously masha allah really helped me get through some very dark times.

Having a nervous breakdown of this sort is something that I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy..........main aap keh friend keh liyeh dua karungee keh Allah SWT unkeh dil mein chehn aur sukun deh aur unkih har mushkilat koh hal farmaye.

If he needs someone to talk to, he can always PM me.

Ya hayu ya qayyum be rehmatika nastaghees

and

Lahola Wala Quwatta illa billah

both are specific for depression

as well as the dua of Rasul Allah that he recited :

Allaahumma innee ‘abduka wa ibn ‘abdika wa ibn amatika, naasiyati bi yadika, maadin fiyya hukmuka, ‘adlun fiyya qadaa’uka, as’aluka bi kulli ismin huwa laka sammayta bihi nafsaka aw anzaltahu fi kitaabika aw ‘allamtahu ahadan min khalqika aw ista’tharta bihi fi ‘ilm il-ghaybi ‘andak an taj’ala al-Qur’aana rabee’ qalbi wa noor sadri wa jalaa’a huzni wa dhahaaba hammi

(O Allaah, I am Your slave, son of Your slave, son of Your female slave, my forelock is in Your hand, Your command over me is forever executed and Your decree over me is just. I ask You by every Name belonging to You which You named Yourself with, or revealed in Your Book, or You taught to any of Your creation, or You have preserved in the knowledge of the unseen with You, that You make the Qur’aan the life of my heart and the light of my breast, and a departure for my sorrow and a release for my anxiety)’ - but Allaah will take away his sorrow and grief, and give him in their stead joy.”

(Ahmad 1/391 and Al-Albaanee declared it sahih.)

crescent warrior, Wannabe_a_mum and antumul alona thank you very much. this was very very helpful.

I was going to suggest what antumul alona suggested. I really helps. I have tried it myself and still recite it all the time.

Allahumma innaka annisul aaneeseena li-awliyaa-ika wa ah’z’uruhum bil kifaayati lil mutawakkileena a’layka tashhaduhum fee sarra-irihim wea tat’t’ali-u fee z’amaa—irihim wa ta’lamu mablagha bas’aa-irihim fa-asraaruhum laka makshoofatun wa quloobuhum ilayka malhoofatun in awh’ashat-humul ghurbatu aanasahum d’ikruka wa in s’ubbat a’layhimul mas’aa-ibu lajaaa-u ilal istijaaarati bika i’lman bi-anna a’zeematal umoori biyadika wa mas’aadirahaa a’n qaz’’aaa-ika allahumma in fahah-tu mas-alatee aw a’mihtu a’n t’’alibatee fadullanee a’laa mas’aalih’ee wa khud’ biqalbee ilaa maraashidee fa laysa d’aalika binukrin min hidaayatika wa laa bibad-i’n min kifaayatika allahummah-malnee a’laa a’fwika wa laa tah’milnee a’laa a’dlika

O Allah, verily You, unto those who love You, are more loving than any who loves; You are ever at hand to fulfill at once the desires of those who rely on You; You take notice of their wishes, You perceive their innermost thoughts, You know the depth of their intelligence. You are fully aware of their confidential concerns. There hearts long for (relief from) You. Whenever miserable and forsaken Your remembrance comfort them in distress. Whenever misfortunes assault them, they turn to You, knowing well that the reins of all affairs are in Your hand and every affair rise from and flow out as soon as Your decision is made. O my Allah, if I falter in speaking my request and wander astray in describing my needs and wants, show me the way that leads to that which promotes my interests and turn my heart to its course, because it is neither against (the principles of) Your guidance nor Your act of giving succour can be described as unlikely. O my Allah, support me with Your pardon, do not burden me with Your justice.

Recite Surah 109,112,113,114 three times daily, helps too. Keep up with his obligatory prayers that is if he doesn't. And get it all out whatever is troubling him be it the means of talking to someone or just simply putting it all down on a paper, theres more to it hmm ..

Thank you very much. God bless! :)

tell him to pray and ask Allah swt for fogiveness coz He is the most merciful and forgives us for our bad deeds too and tell him to remeber Him in your good times too coz us people forget him when we are fine and having every thing we wish for and i think when we have bad times Allah swt is reminding us that he is there and we should not forget that, may Allah swt rest him in peace and frogive all his and our sins tell him to talk to his parents specially his mom trust me he will feel relieved coz thats what moms are for and parents always forgive theri kids for their mistakes and i am sure they will to Insha Allah and for bad thought i want some thing too coz i think alot of negative things but some thing in arabic pls

and i can't concentrate while praying too so pls suggest me some duas to recite too thanks

Say to this person that we care if it helps at all! And if he really was thinking of suicide, then he has nothing to lose in speaking to his family members Insha'ALLAH. Suicide should never be an option at all...

i told him exactly the same thing...

thanks alot. hopefully the prayers suggested in the thread will help you as well.

The two azkaar up there are very very authentic and I am doing them for many years as well… I read the duaa for the first time though…

One more thing that I know is that Surah Duha (Surah 93) is also one that can be recited in such situations.. The context of the Surah is that, there came a time when for many days Prophet:saw: did not get Wahi… and Wahi was something that prophet:saw: used to wait for out of love of Allah:swt:… many days it did not come… and mushrikeen started mocking him:saw: (naaouzu billah) that Allah;swt: had forgotten Prophet :saw:… He:saw: himself said that during that time, he:saw: had such an intense depression that often time he wanted to go on top of mountain and wanted to drop himself down… (ofcourse, he did not for suicide is wrong)… Then this, surah came in…

Keeping that context in mind, when one reads this surah with the understanding of each ayaah then, one will realize the effect of it.. :insha: