dry cough & home remedy

i’ve had a persistent dry cough for about, oh, 3 weeks now. it was supposed to be a sore throat/cold but it’s turned into a cough ie there is some irritation in the throat. i don’t wanna take some cough syrup, so was looking for a tried and tested home remedy, which doesn’t necessitate me buying weird stuff that is just going to sit in my pantry for years to come. por favor.

i took some honey (not directly, in cereal) and it seems to help for a few hours, and then it goes away. also isn’t it garam in it’s taseer. so maybe not recommended in this heat? what about raisins ground with some black pepper corn. any effective?

tried and tested methods only please :sheen:

Re: dry cough & home remedy

my mum always made us take a spoon of honey and olive oil mixed together. gross but works.

Tried and Tested . Straight and simple also and in advance wish you all the best in getting well soon.

Every 2 or so hours boil one glass of water and add about 2 spoons of honey in it and mix. let it get down to a suitable tepmrature ... and just drink it like tea.. chaskey le le kar and dont let it cool down too much .. aur this way its easy ..cos honey on its own does miracles but for cought it will not have a long lasting effect.. but with water - neem garam.. the whole throat and all the way in, its effected with teh honey via the water... and do this for a day or so and inshaAllah dry cough will be gone.

Tried and tested: Make a cup of green tea and add sum fresh lemon to it, u can also add 1 tsp of honey, but u don't have to. Take it for atleast 2-3 dayz, have it twice a day if possible, it should work!

What FBI said really works.

Also, brew some tea with pieces of ginger, a few wholes cloves and some cinnamon in a large pot. Drink this all day long and each time you warm a cup, add a tsp. of honey.

What FBI said, tried and tested by me also, and it really works.

but i don’t have ginger :bummer: i was avoiding buying stuff i don’t have. :hinna:

thanks guys, will try the FBI wala method tomorrow inshallah.

then just go with FBIs concoction.

AVOID cough syrup..it makes the problem worse!!

Honey water works...I also add some lemon juice too.

Gargle with warm salted water before going to bed.

Also at night keep your head elevated..You'll get a better sleep!

Khumar theres an over the counter cough mixture- really effective- BENYLIN- they do it for all types of coughs- or honey and warm water and drink ginger tea desi style....... and as corrupt angel- namak ke gharare- ( salt gargles) Hope u feel better soon!

hi
you can also use honey with cinamon poweder.heat for a while and take twice to thrice a time a day.

its relly work gr8.

try it and i hope u wil find useful

rememeber in ur prayers

Esha

This absolutely works, should be sipped slowly in bits from the spoon, not all in one go. If you drink aything after it, the effect will go away so you have to take it again.

My dadi always made us have 1/2 cup of warm milk with 1 teaspoon ghee in it and crushed "seviyan" she even gave an explanation on how it lubricates u're throat..

Worked on us!

Use CASTROL GTX, it’s liquid engineering. :devil:

^:rotfl: >>>> :rawr: will be flaming fire :hehe: Dragon Kitty!

In natural medicine, honey does possess unmatched qualities. I have been told that using a little bit of honey with lemon and black pepper may help as well.

I usually don’t get the coughs, so not sure how successful this is, but i’ve heard testimonies :smiley:

remind me to not come to you when i’m sick :vivo:

xeno i’m using mobil :snooty:

buddhi.

i use honey with salt on it. works for me. or just try plain honey.

dont hunt for a symptomatic treatment

u have dry cough which is giving u a sign that there is some irritation in ur respiratory tract (throat, tonsils or lungs) due to virus or some pollutants. go to the root of ur problem, treat it and ur cough will disappear!

the only cure for the irritation is antibiotics, which i am not in the favor of, without finding out what kind of microorganism is causing it, since i don't really have the time for the tests and such. and even if i did that, i don't like anti-biotics. as for the pollutants, can't help that either. so i'm ok with treating the symptoms :D honey tastes gooooood!

antibiotics r not for irritation.

antibiotics r for bacterial infections...if u had bact infection then u wud be coughing up sputum/ phlegm (greenish yellow stuff)..which is the wet or productive cough and u would be running fever as well.

u just have dry cough which is why i said it is probably caused by virus or pollutants.

im glad honey is helping you! :)