drinking with a straw

at what age could your toddler do it? mine is 17 months… been trying cuz i would like him to get over his bottle habit.. but it isnt happening… im not stressing at this point but just had a thought as to when toddlers are able to drink from straws.. and if there are any tips…

he just chews on the tip.. loves drinks with straws but cant get anything in his mouth :smiley: so he either chews.. or uses the straw to dip it into the liquid and then licks the end :smack: aisay ho qiyamat thak doodh nahi khatum hoga!

Re: drinking with a straw

yesterday my drank the first time with a straw and she has just turned 1! she saw an orange juice that my elder had not finished and wanted to have it .. after a few tries she did drink from it, i guess it comes with observing and she observes the bigger one a lot.

we never had bottle so she is able to drink from a snippy to a normal cup from 7 months onwards.

awww… so cute, hhehehehee… Try with a sippy cup first… I’m sure he will get that hang of it soon :slight_smile:

My daughter never took the bottle, so I started her with sippy cups (for water) around 6 months when she was on semi-solids, she started drinking from the straw pretty early, don’t remember the exact age though.

:) Try sippy sups first, then sippy cups with straws. You might want to show him how. He'll get the hang of it. Not to worry.

not to sound sick but i have been sucking a whole lot trying to show him... he just isnt getting the hang of it.. or maybe he doesnt want to? cuz otherwise he is a master copycat! he drinks well from sippy cups... maybe he just doesnt want anything else cept his bottle for his bedtime feed? otherwise ... he drinks milk 3 times a day... for his morning and lunch feeds, he drinks from a sippy cup... but the night feed is an issue...

oh and even with sippy cup.. he doesnt close his mouth around the tip.. he just lets the liquid pour in .. sorta how a brahmin drinks water! he also doesnt close his lips around a spoon .. i have to use his upper teeth to scrape the spoon clean!... its almost like a mommy bird feedig her birdlings... just drop the food in and once its in , they shut their mouths...
i found it really odd.. especially the spoon thing.. but the dr says its normal.... i cant help but feel that its all related.. the lack of mouth closing around an object like the sippy cup tip, spoon.. and the inability to be able to suck from a straw...

im not gonna freak out bout it cuz just like teh dr said .. his reflux will go away... it has.. and that he wil learn to chew one day, which he has.. maybe he will learn to suck too.. feeding wise :D

i just worry bout his teeth... they say a rubber nipple does no good to a baby's teeth once they have popped.. and my son has a gorgeous bateesi... dont want to spoil them ... yikes

How long have you been trying? And what kind of a straw is it? The ones that come with a sippy cup are a pain for even adults to suck. Try the normal straw, if you haven't already. We never really tried until a few months ago. At first she didn't know how to suck. She just sat there pretending, thinking she's all cool. But the second or third time around, she got a hang of it. Unfortunately, it's not something you can actualy teach them. They just learn. Just give him water or juice (or whatever he likes) and get him to practice everyday.

Mine won't let her bottle go either. The only milk she'll have is in the bottle, and she doesn't eat as it is. I'm so worried too about her teeth. Even with the straw, she'll only have water (or juice sometimes).

my baby started drinking from a straw at 9 months :)

UPDATE!

he drank a whole milk feed with a straw.. YES YES Yes.

it was never his fault to begin with.. he was perfectly capapable of drinking with a straw.. but it was our mistake to keep giving him the longer ones... yetserday i was having juice and he wanted some.. its a small juice carton so the straw was those small ones... i gave it to him thinking he will never get anything out of it but lo and behold.. he just sucked and drank! it was crazy and i wept... cuz im an idiot like that....

so ... length of straw also matters! i was thinking of getting him those kiddy cups with straws built in but what cb is saying makes me think twice.. maybe i should take water with me and let him test try the diff cups :D lol

but ya.. just thought i would update :D

^awwwww, MashaAllah… you’re such a cute mommy :stuck_out_tongue:
I get so emotional over these milestones too… our babies grow up so fast :naak:

they do... :( they do... i guess thats why we keep having more... :D

^ :hehe:

aww sweet khawa.. i m wonderin should i also strt my daughter on sippy cup when shell b 6 mnths in 25 days.. ive read somwhere sippy cups are for babies which were bottle fed.. i think theres some other kinda cup for the ones who were brestfed.. is it soo??? my baby was exclusively BF for 2 mnths but since 3 mnths am givin her BB also cus i think she is not full with my milk alone and i feel too lazy too BF her so BB is so mch better smtimes :D

you can start but it takes sometime for them to get a hang of it. and its not necessary to start the absolute second they turn a particular age, just go with the signals your daughter is giving you... i have a friend who's daughter could drink out of a small cup at 6 months.. never needed a sippy cup. so it takes all kinds. give it a try....

i didnt know there is a sep sippy cup for breast fed babies...

mairee baitee tu 2 saal tak bulbuley banatee rehtee thee apney orange juice main straw sai and we used to be :smack: :smack2: . And here is the kicker, if we used to ask “you like it” she was like “oh yeah yum yum” :slight_smile:

but son learned it even before his 1st birthday…

:cb: D6C… how cute is that :smiley:

jee aab tu hameen bhee cute lagta hai uss waqat pochna tha na … :smack2:

PS: :smiley:

lol haha.... DC... hehe... i agree.. at the time you feel like knocking them senseless.. but once you are over the hardship, you feel like knocking YOURSELF senseless for wanting to knock you child senseless with their short term idiocy

such senseless chit chat :D

Mashallah that is amazing your daughter has never had bottle and went straight to a cup! Alhamdolilah.