I haven’t been 21 in more than a decade, and I tend to wear what I like and what I think looks good on me. I’m not a slave to trends and fashions, but I will supplement my wardrobe with some nice pieces that are current for the seasons. I have leggings and skinny jeans and tunics and maxis in my wardrobe which I pair with 4 inch heels, if I feel like it. But I also have trousers, sweater sets, cargo pants, flats and pearls as well, and Pakistani fashion is a whole other kettle of fish.
So what is age appropriate attire? What looks good on someone who is in their teens? 20s? 30s? 40s? Over 50?
What DOESN’T look good based on age or is there no longer a need to benchmark fashion based on age?
For example, can a woman in her 50s wear leggings or churidaar pyjama or is that too young a look for her?
And please answer the question for men as well - what is age appropriate and age-inappropriate attire for men for those same age groups.
anything that is a classic works for any age adult.
yeah women have issues e.g. with short skirts not being worn by older women etc
guys have less nakhray, less fads, and less such issues.
somethings that older guys cant wear, look jackass-y on the younger guys as well...e.g. the whole hood look, pants falling down type of look
I think the best way to avoid looking like you are trying too hard is to stick to classic styles in American and Pakistani fashion and remember what your body looks like to everyone else not what you think it looks like :P
I've seen plenty of auntys in short dresses with leggings and they look ridiculous, you can still look "hot" but be more conservative and classy. I've also seen aunties who just ooooze elegance and remind me of how I want to be one day.
Yeah seriously. What do aunties love sleeveless shalwar kameez so much? I understand the summer's hot but hey the men get along just fine in full sleeved shalwar kameez.
Well for teens and young adults i think it depends on ur body type. If your on the chubby side then avoid
those flowy outfits unless the fabric drops b/c it can add extra pounds.
With the aunties.. yep seen plenty of those.. the skin tight suits, the see-thru sheer shirts where u can see their bras yikes
- sleeveless .. I think there's a limit there, if you cannot pull them off you shouldn't espec. with extra arm fat :D I dunno personally my mom's never worn em and I don't much.
excellent topic.
I absolutely abhor skinny jeans unless the person is fit and toned.
and the whole leggings and baggy top look is a no-no for anyone past their 20's as far as I am concerned.
"less is more" is fine as long as we are talking about flashy embroidery and embellishments.
while I don't always get to practice it, my personal style is understated elegance.......
Ok guys , I have a question after reading all of the comments here …
When there is equality preached in all other aspects of life , why do we become so age conscious when it comes to women dressing up a certain way? why do we take away the right of an individual to dress up a certain way? if someone is feeling young at heart and tries to display it in their dressing within decent dress codes , we shouldnt penalize them …
I try to buy nice and fresh bright colours for all the buzurgs in the family … because i dont like to see them living a dull , boring life just because they arent young anymore … I have a family member who is 68 mashallah but lives a happy , colorful life and feels young at heart … we still discuss fashion and makeup and perfumes … and she wears modern fashion too and looks beautiful for her age .. better then all the others in the same age group .. I love her for her spirit
Look at the oldies here in the UK , they live a life of fun , so lively … they wear red .. sleeveless , skirts … what ever they feel like it to feel good about themselves … none of us have the right to discourage them from doing so or making them feel less attractive … In desi culture I hear this all the time , older aunties wishing to wear certain things but cant due to pressure of “log kia kahein gai” :no:
Yes I do agree that fashion wohi acha that suits ones body … but then even younger crowd wears stuff that makes them look like monkeys , so why penalize the older crowd … good and bad fashion exists among all age groups, everyone has their own fashion preference as well , you might not like what I like and vice versa , remember old age is a phase that we will all see one day … and believe you me , the older you get , the more you want to live .
I think as long as you look and feel confident in what you are wearing, there shouldn't be any problem.
what you wear depends on the environment you're in, if it's conservative at work or you're just going for a shopping trip with your friends etc.
it depends on what your height or weight is.
wear what looks good on you. don't wear something because it's what everyone else wears, if you look in the mirror and feel right about yourself then it's good for you.
i think when i'm 40 i'm probably still gonna wear slim jeans if i'm dressing casual because my legs are straw like, even slim jeans are large for me sometimes
i think you should be wearing clothes that look right with the shape of your body