khaw, what funny is he will notice if i need a threading of lips but will not notice that i got a facial or threading done, so i tell him and he will say ohhh thats why ur skin is looking better
yeah dressing up is fun, I do it for myself but with a small kid and work, somethings need less attention and thats me sometimes.
I blv being groomed is more important then dressing-up. I see couples walking about in malls and I really wanna grab my thread and do her eyebrows! :S Threading,waxing, nails.. teeth!
and dont u girls think (who DO dres up) that it adds a bit of energy to your day with ure husband? like suddenly u both feel fresh and ready to take on things... i definately feel that difference from days when i dont make any effort.. husband will come home and be all tired and we will both be tired and blah together..
but days when i do dress up.. suddenly even if husband comes home tired.. he gets all charged up too...and the talking is much more alive and energetic... :)
hmmm interesting. Okay, I'll do an experiment today because I have all the time to myself aaj k din so I'm gonna dress up and be dolled up and see what his reaction is and report back here. :D
mines doesnt care if i am dressed up or not, so i dont botter anymore .. LOL but i do dress up for work, what botters me that if i am dressed up for some party sharty, i expect some kind of comment from him, oh u are looking good but nothing really comes, he says it he doesnt need to tell me each time but I kind of expect it, so thats why I dont really dress up other than any event or just for myself.
I'm sure if he doesn't say it, he does communicate it non-verbally. ;-)
no to be honest... i dont go for threading or waxing on other ppl.. threading is a personal choice.. so is waxing.. i dont believe in the need to have hariless legs and arms all the time.. it doesnt make me dirty .. it just means i dont feel like putting myself thru pain.... so yes at times i do have bushy eyebrows, and hairy arms. doesnt make me look ugly or dirty or make me smell.
look around you.. not everyone threads their eyebrows or waxes their arms.. but thats not even what u see first off.. its their clothing.. its only when u draw closer to u notice other things.. but still... threading eyebrows isnt a must for most women.. nor is waxing arms. i have so so so many friends who dont.. now if u have a jungle growing, that may be diff..
what would put me off ppl is BO, unironed clothing when outside, messy uncombed hair, food stuck in teeth and dirty fingernails.
Girls,
I have a question about manicure. Sorry for my ignorance, I have NEVER in my life gotten it done at a salon so I'm just wondering if I need to do it even if I clip my nails and dont have long nails(not long by -any- definition)? I do keep them clean and moisturize my hands etc. But is manicure really a must?
Everyone looks neater after threading/waxing! I wudn't wanna be caught dead with bushy eyebrows or arms/legs but then again not everyone has to feel this way. I blv threading/waxing/manicures make a world of a difference to u're overall appearance!
arraay ladies.. since none of the men has said anything in this thread let me speak for all of us (men) on GS:
beauty is in the eyes of beholder..
i don't always tell her verbally how amazing she looks but there are days when she tells me to stop staring at her lol.. its the smile that gives it away.. khair everyone has their own perception of what beauty is.. mine is simple.. remain healthy, remain happy and smile.. to me 80% of the beauty is in the smile itself..
I do dress up for her but i dress casual/comfy whatever that might be.. still look decent.. and i am not a great dresser.. :(
khawa, you are so right: i have noticed too that on days i dress up and make an effort for hubs (which is less and less since the clothes dont fit any more blah), his tiredness just flies away.
When i first got married, my MIL was around and she would ask me to dress up nice while they were visiting. But the bonus was hubs loved it. So i got into the habit. And then i got pregnant and she was like, you should wear all your shadi kay kapray atleast once since later on the kids dont like kaam walay kapray :D
I m so damn tired when i come home from work, that I dont' like to dress up for my husband...we both come home same time. I have to take care of my baby who is 11 month old feed her/ do this do that etc. as u know life is so fast here. AND when i go to party of course i dress up.
IN pakistan,
ladies have nothing to do but sit gossip. cook if they have too. Wahan life bohot easy hai massi ati hai jahroo pocha hota hai...aur baqi din free..thori bohot cookign karli . phir 5 pm honae sai pheley ladies tayar hona shoro hoti hain takae unkai husband dhek kar khush hoon jab woh ayen.
LOl
Before i got married my mom always used to tell me to look beautiful and soondar for my hubby and I believ that while its not vital to a relationship it definitely does help and is important. Men want to come home to a sweet looking wife. What's wrong with that? WHy do you think when rishta's are being tossed around one of the first thigns people want to see is a picture??? Believe it or not looks do count to an extent.
I hope I don't sound too shallow but unfotunately that's the way this world works now. There was a study that found that better looking people are more successful. Go figure.
haha, its so cute to see all u gals dressing up and looking good for ur hubbies. And Ansoon, good to see u do that too
I cant go without threading and waxing.. i’ve given up on makeup (as in have stopped wearing it at work cus hubby reckons i dont need it ) so i have to get threaded.. hubby loves the clean hairless look.. and it boosts my ego like 20 times..
I dont get much time to do too much to myself cus of work and bubz.. lekin if i am going to work (and cus we go to work together), i do attempt to look good for him.. i’ll straighten my hair fro him or wear a nice suit.. aaah its nice when u look good for them. And ive noticed my hubby making a real effort these days as well. And I LOVE it!
I dress up for my fiance all the time.. he does too..
Makes a world of a difference.
Another thing, spouses/partners should never forget to say:
-- you look beautiful/handsome today
-- Thank you
and mostly importantly,
--I love you.
Everyday...
Even on days when I look like crap, my fiance looks at me with eyes all glazed over with love..! Haha.. He tells me how beautiful I am and how he feels so lucky to have me... I tell him I look ugly! he laughs and says I don't see myself the way he sees me :)
ahh... i dun intend to b rude or hurt u.. but this is all gonna change BIG TIME. i knew my hubby before marriage and we were engaged 2 yrs and now, i have to ASK how i look... i have to ASK if i look beautiful. sorry but thaz the truth. but i hope it dusnt happen to u :)
its the truth for you love... not for a lot of women out there. i knew my husband before marriage and have been married nearly 2 yrs now and my husband still takes a lot of intrest in how i look and compliments me left right and centre quite a lot.. if anything, i feel as if the compliments are coming my way more and more as the days go by.. maybe it has stayed that way and gotten better after marriage cuz my husband MEANT every word he would compliment me with.
maybe if they were random words he just felt like saying cuz thats what ure supposed to do when ure engaged and all lovey dovey, then he wouldnt have thought it necessary to still think imp enuff to do after marriage.
so its diff for all couples :)
YourPresident: i hope he continues to be his sweet self after marraige too, inshallah :)
and guys, can we assume that ppl that arent so intrested in dressing up themselves or putting in too much effort to look good, will also not care so much for how their spouses look and what they wear?
Im another love my comfortable clothes rather than dress up everyday. It doesnt bother hubs, but it certainly makes him appreciate it when i do dress up!
Dont wear make up often, he says i dont need to, and i dont think i do either.