Dressing Up on these perticular moments!!!

Hi there all Guppians!!!

lets share ur Dressing Up experiences at the time of ur rishta, when guys family or mum n sisters n aunties come to see u at ur home, how u got dressed up? were u dressed up simply with no make up, or did u wear make up aswell???

I personally belive on “simplicity is the best policy” …
let me share my exp. first …

At the first time wen my rishta came, although they informed before coming but i dressed up so simply, infact not in a proper way n with no make up at all:). but even then i was approved . lolzzzzz but was in just 1st yr that time so me n ma family wern’t serious for that…

by the way how a girl shud dressup at this perticular moment , cuz i have seen that if the girl appears to be so simple then ppl say that “girl is jahil , dont even kno how to dress up properly” and if she wore makeup and properly dressed then ppl say that " ooh she is quite advance" :frowning:

My gudness, sick ppl, hey all share ur thoughts and experiences…

Re: Dressing Up on these perticular moments!!!

Hehe, first time I went to meet his parents was when I was in their town for a conference and they had invited me for dinner so they saw me in a business suit once when they came by the hotel to invite me and I was not carrying anything fancy. When I went to their house, I wore jeans with a black kurti and carried a shawl so I don't have to ask his mom for one to pray namaz. I hung out with them for four days, I wore jeans with tops all those times and no makeup because the humidity there was insane and also, my husband hates makeup. I didn't even want to dress up because this is how I normally am and I didn't want to act different and give them a shock later that haww yeh to aisay nahi thi pehle.
Then when they came here to talk to my parents formally about rishta, I wore jeans again because we picked them up at the airport, took them to ny for two days and all the while, everyone was dressed pretty casual.. jeans, shirt. Even when they came to our house later for a few days, my clothes were casual, I even wore pajamas at night, haha. Even during shaadi time when they all flew over with their khaandaan people, I did not dress up or anything while going to pick them up at airport. Infact I even had my glasses on.. lol.. with a tee and cordoroys, and they were pretty surprised that one day before my shaadi, I looked the least of a dulhan.
My parents in law are very laid back. My mil doesn't do the dress up thing herself and is pretty casual so I can even walk around in pajamas and noone cares when I am visiting and staying with them. However when going out to someone's house or for dawats, I do like to dress up. My husband doesn't say anything either, of course he expects me to look clean and presentable and not shabby. But as I mentioned before, he hates makeup, he doesn't even like me putting on eye pencil.

hhmmm we just came home from shopping and my told me his family is coming so i should go and change…

i wore this white shirt with ferozi salwar…and i didnt wear any makeup or anything…jst wore this nice white ear rings… my momani forced me to wear a lip gloss

everyone was in the living room while his niece came to the tv room where i was sitting with my cousin sisters and one of his niece came and asked me directly about myself saying 'where is _____ aunty…

*AUNTY :eek: …she is just couple of years younger than me *
i was like ____ main hi hoon…and she was shocked for a min and than said…ap tu etni young hain…
:smack2:

dont know what they were expecting a 23 years old gal to look like …

@ Shay
nice, thats really cool to be in jeans and pants even wth ur inlaws, lucky girl, and thats gr8 that ur Hubby dont like make up at all. lucky girl :)

@ zilentzpring
AUNTY..................... :CareBear:

Let me see If I can remember... oh I wore a navy blue shalwa kameez when my MIL came for the first time to our house (my mom did not let me wear black - which is about 70% of my wardrobe) - I didn't have too much makeup but I did wear mascara. (Natural look)

The next day they were leaving - I had gray dress pants and cable knit sweater.

hmm well i flew to pak n my inlaws had seen only pics of me
n wen they came to our place i was wearing a simple shalwar kameez u would wear in the house with no makeup and i just sat for like 5 mins n then went back in
our formal meeting wen i met my fiance was at a restaurant and i got a little dressed up with a nicer shalwar kameez i think it was red n green(haha xmas colors) n wore a little bit of makeup but i usually have a little bit on anyways like eyeliner, blush n gloss......
i think i will always remember that day.....

That day I was just wearing a very casual two tones green salwar kameeez. Nothing dressy about it. I tied my hair in the back. I normally do not go out with a pony. I always leave my hair open.

I had eyeliner and lipstick on but it was all smudged because of watery eyes and sneezing a lot. According to me - I did not look good at all that day because I was sick. I had that "I just woke up" look...

That was the day for me - in just couple of hours I already had a ring in my finger from mom-in-law, and everybody was hugging and crying, and I have no idea where the sweets came from.

My wedding date to a stranger was fixed!

=)

I wasn't ready to get married but had rishtayz coming...... sometimes I wore simple shalwar kameez with no makeup and sometimes I wore simple but nice shalwar kameez with a little blush and mascara, and now that I am ready I guess I'll try to dress up a little more decent!

Are guys expected to dressup or be casual at such events?

I was dressed in a very simple shalwaar kameez, like a plain colour with no patterns no embroidery, no lace, nothing, very very simple. But I wore eye liner and a bit of lipstick because I usually do.

If someone is coming to my house then I do not dress up..no make up and my normal everyday clothes. I dont wear shalwar kameez often nor am i comfortable in it... so why pretend I do by wearing it in front of these risthas?

In fact a couple times when I had a rishta come to my house...I walked into the door straight from uni (i dont dress up at uni at all) :)

i prefer casual wear

cute reaplies :slight_smile:
it seems that all guppians are so simple and feel comfy being casual infront of any one,
hey what if the situation come of a love marriage, if guy is intreasted in sending a proper proposal to girls home, and thats the matter of girls intreast aswell , how will u present urself in order to get praised by his parents :wub:

When the rishta that was The One came for me...I was not dressed up. In fact, I was so tired of the whole rishta thing, I was dying for it to be over with. So, I wore cotton shalwar kameez, put my hair in a pony tail, put some powder and kajal on and that was it. I went downstairs, sat with them for a few and then left. Ive no idea what did it, but he liked me a lot and here we are engaged!

I still dont know what he saw in me that day...I was not paying attention to anyone or anything!!!

aww, thts sweet. thts y its said, 'Jodi uper wala banata hai' :)

There was once this rishta that i badly badly wanted NOT to happen. SO i wore the clothes I had been wearing for two days, made sure my hair were sticky and I smelled really really bad. I mean REALLY sweaty and all :hehe:

The aunty came and hugged me first thing. I knew it right then that she didn’t approve. And then it was tata goodbye.

Fot others, I normally just do my hair better. That’s all.

I wear simple clothes and a little bit of makeup (which I usually wear on a daily basis). On a few occassions I had no idea why they were there :cb:

^^:hehe:…:rotfl: