drawing lines between friendship and romance

Spinning off of Fayz’s thread about getting too close, question: when and how do you draw the line when a male friend is trying to be more than just platonic with you? I mean, what do you do when he is asking for more than friendship and you’re not comfortable with it. What do you tell him (and don’t tell me just tell him the truth…that’s easier said than done because it’s a little more complicated when you have known this pal for a while).

:help:

LOLZ i never drawed any lines, nobody ever asked me :smiley:

But agar aisi baat ho jaye [which i know will not happen ever!!!] then i dont know what the hell to do… :bummer: let me think about it… :smiley:

SP, this siht happens when you are 15 not 25. If you can't demarcate the category by the time you are 25 it means two things. a) you have no experience in managing coed relationships and need to get laid. b) you should get laid.

i start calling all of paki/indian guys bhaijan :flower1:.. n try to stay away from others ..

drawing lines between friendship and romance

I always use*d* erasable red marker. It gives you room to redraw.

FTF aj…FTF..you cheeky b@S%^&* ! :rolleyes:

If you are absolutely sure then there should be no problems drawing lines but if you are not then let time draw the lines for you, or else the other person will do it for you eventually anyways.

My question was based on ‘fear of getting close’ but then I spun it off myself :-D...guppies are just not ready for complications

Matsui Bhaijan, :nono3: … I am just helping out here.

Sure AJ, I know what yoa re after here. :hehe:

Sweetpie, hmmm i had a friend like that who just wouldnt understand. So the only thing you can do is be straightforward and honest to him abt it. Thats the easiest way to go. Jsut tell him you value your friendship with him and you feel anything more will just spoil it. Or maybe just say you are interested in someone else.

^ Thanks for offering your view on this, Ira :flower1:

Just not a very good salesman this guy who wants to get closer than platonic, is he now? Nope. Never had this problem of staying platonic longer than absolute minimum. You got me there.

This selfish fashion of telling someone to lay off is brutal. I bet none of you girls ever stopped to think what sort of damage this would cause.

Some repercussions may be losing self respect, fear of rejection multiplying ten fold, insanity, influx of hate for the opposite gender, not being able to trust the opposite gender etc etc.

I have had this soul crushing experience but I was young, so I couldn’t really handle the heat.

But, what can one do eh? I am sure there are less painful methods of handling these situations. I am not an expert, but I'm sure the more experienced geezers may come up with some good advice.

Date only the opposite sex and only make friends with your own gender. PROBLEM SOLVED!

It ironic when girls flirt with you and all then be like I did'nt mean it that way. Yea ok, bullshat! :D:D:D:D:D:D

Reminds me of a song:-
Hum ache dost hain aur hamesha raheinge yaar, par mein tum se naheen kartee piyar
Just my two cents. If one falls, the other has to support. Its the understanding between the two that would define the new relationship. Dont cry, if you can not manage. If you do, you lack some grooming yourself.

I think that women need to get out of their shells and think for a moment or two.

If you dont intend to do romance - dont start a relationship with the opp gender. Make freinds with only the same gender.

When you put your hand in fire u will get burnt - and when something backfires - the **** does hit the fan - and it shows too

Next time you see the poor sod, tell him aap to meri bhai henh. That oughta ruin it for the guy.

I think Matsui had it covered, the a and the b deal.

Good luck :k:

I have friendship with a guy or shall is say had :bummer:
Anywayz lekin aise koi baat nahi hui hai Thank God!

all i know is this is all bukwas, drawing lines etc.
there are only two sides to this issue, if you are the one drawing the line, you have the upper hand, and so dont pull out funny threads like these which ppl are always so ready to pounce on.
if you taking the drawn lines of other ppl, you are welcome to express feelings of victimsation and haath aatee hay/aata hay, par nahee aata/aatee.