Dravid The Humble Man

Re: Dravid The Humble Man

^ I agree, I have no clue why people get embarrassed when our captain is not able to speak a second language.

Captain1 Bhai,

The embrassment is not at his disablity of communicating in English, but at his making a fool out of himself whenever he makes an attempt to speak English.

I would say just speak in Urdu, why in gods name would he need to answer a question asked by Rameez in Urdu, in his tooti footi English.

Aejaz

^ and why in the earth would you speak in urdu/hindi when you can't do justice with it?

acha anyways, however English Inzi speaks, it's none of anybody's business.

Inzi expresses himself just fine when he gives Urdu interviews. Nikhil, I don't know what you are talking about. Match ceremonies is a different story, not everyone is a good public speaker. Big deal.

Tanhayan baaji,

Are you talking to me in your opening statement of your above post:rolleyes:

Mohtarma maine bhi tou wohi kaha hai jou aap daura rahi hai, Yes stick to Urdu!!!, Iman se Ladkiya pehle likhti hai aur phir padhti hai.:smiley:

Jee I was. See, I don't think you speak good Urdu. Does it make a difference to you? You will still speak it to get your point across.

I also don't think anyone should tell Inzi to stick to Urdu, he will speak whatever he wants.

In that case he has my blessings, to put his foot in his mouth every time he opens it, Baaji I was trying to defend Inzi and not Insult him like you presumed:p .

Rahi my Urdu speaking Skills, well I try to improvise with inserting English words when I get stuck, rather that start Fumbling:D

The reason is idiots like Ramiz or other commentators who pushed our cricketers to speak English on many occasions. Inzi probably was expecting Rameez to ask questions in English hence he already made up his mind regarding his answer :)

Aejaz bhai, How exactly were you defending him and not insulting him? Seriously, why assert something when you don't mean it, you know it's wrong? What are you so proud of anyways?

Aur berhi meharbani aap ki keh aap 'fumble' nahi kertay. Agar aisa na hota toh mujhe apni zindagi adhoori lagti.

Man Inzi needs to learn english.. last time when Ramiz Raja speaks in Urdu, I thought okay Inzi you lucky but he started speaking in ENGLISH?! for what??? lol

o lol sorry, didn't read your responses..

Guys i think we need different characters!!!
Dravid ya i think he is really good for sport. i mean see this guy even after losing such an important series VS PAKISTAN man....goes on and do a great job---come on guys it is just a game.
Inzi man i really love his interviews as well. ya and he is definetly one of the favourite batsmen of my time---lara,sachin,ponting,s.waugh and dravid the others.
so to summarize different type of characters are needed and hats off to DRAVID.

Folks lets get one thing straight, Inzi is a great batsman and has proven himself to be extremely successful captain. Issue here was not his cricketing abilities, comparison was being made to Rahul and other cricketing captains as the team leader who has a responsibility to communicate with international media representatives.

Commuincating in your own language is commendable, that would also be acceptable for the domestic population and is proven to be practical given the recent example where our boyzz gave interviews in urdu which were translated into english by waqar, ramiz or sanjay. Having said that, it is also a sad reflection of our cricketing professionals compared to our neighbours, India. Irfan Pathan's english was pathetic when he started his career with team India, look where he is today, he can express himself very clearly.

Lets understand one thing, if our players improve their speaking skills, they will be the one's to benefit through increased sponsorships. Right now there markets are restricted to Pakistan, they need to go international.

Lanat ho tum sub per.. if a person doesn't speak well in english doesn't mean he is a jackass .. Inzi is a humble person... urdu is his language he doesn't want to learn english so what?

You guys need a reality check yourself.

lot of soccer players can't speak a word of english but that doesn't seem to hurt their marketability one bit. However, I will agree with you on one point. You would think inzi would improve atleast a little bit over the years. But his english is as atrocious now as it was at the beginning of his career. I think he is pretty retarded off the field.

You need to educate yourself.

OK EVERYONE JUST BACK OFF,

This is Dravids thread, lets not screw it up!!!!

like i said before u need to educate yourself. Chinese basketball player Yao Ming cant speak english, when talks to media after the game he can barely say few words. He cant express his thoughts. but he earned himself a multimillion dollar career in basketball team and advertisement with Apple. I have seen his interviews they are worst then Inzi. Speaking english has nothing to do with any sport or being a better captain. Any team in cricket would love to have him as their captain regardless of his communicating skills in english.

Wah bhai wah, na jaan na pechaan may thera phelwan....

We r discussing the sport of cricket, not Amerikee basketball. Cricket is dominated by english speaking nations, to be precise ex-colonies of England. Language of English has always been the medium of communication thus the traditional emphasis which has transcended into lucrative sponsorships. Using your phrase, you need to educate yourself on cricketing history and consumer economics.

I heard Dravid speak hindi once. He speaks hindi like a 3rd generation portuguese from goa.

And brahmachari99, Younis's pakhtoon accent jumps up, all the way up to the surface whenever he speaks english :D

Inzi speaks good in urdu.. its just his style of talking is a lounge room style rather than press conference style. Most of his answers are basically disproving public misconceptions thats why he often starts with "Nahin dekhain baat yeh haiy ke.... (gives explanation)".

Sincerely,
Captain Lota