Dravid resigns as India captain

Whats going on? Is something brewing? Is Sachin playing some backdoor stuff to get captaincy. He did show his interest last year. Here is the news…
http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/310880.html

Rahul Dravid has resigned as India captain, Cricinfo has learnt. In a letter written to the Indian board, he has asked to be relieved of the captaincy before Australia’s forthcoming tour of India, beginning later this month.

Re: Dravid resigns as India captain

He didnt look too happy yesterday at the BCCI Meeting announcing IPL.

errrrr, He has led India to their first-ever series win in England in God knows how many decades and yet he resigns? Thats interesting.

He said he wants to focus on his batting and also wants to spend some time with family and friends. Captaincy of Indian team is not allwing him to do this.

He may be first desi cricketer to leave captaincy of these Gora-reasons.

Correction... It was not first ever.It was 3rd. ;)

watch live here

http://www.techsatish.tv/2007/02/aaj-tak-news-india.html

http://www.techsatish.tv/2006/12/ibn-7-tv-india.html

Totally unexpected decision!! :(

Perhaps Dravid wants to be remembered as a successful captain after one series win :)

izzat bani hui hai bani rahe

Correction: It's actually two series wins. India beat WI not so long ago

Didnt you read my 'first in how many decades' bit? ;)

A gentleman's decision, if it is not because of normal desi leg-pulling by bullies like Tend/Yuvi.

I think it is a right decision as well. He is not playing with concerntration, due to enormous pressue that Indian captaincy brings. Time to test either Yuvi or Zaheer for captaincy and let Tend/Gang/Dravid play their natural game.

India did well without a coach and they can do even better without a captain as well. Thats what I hope. Seriously there is no one person who can be the captain of the indian cricket team. Dhoni is too inexperienced and I have serious doubt in his abilities.

Rumor is that its gonna be Sachin.

Excellent decision by Dravid.

One could see that his body language was getting weary under the weight of Captaincy and his batting was being adversely impacted too.

So Pawar and Co would probably plant Tendu or Ganguly back as the Captain and Indian Cricket would have come a full circle.

My preference for Captaincy would be of course Yuvraj Singh.

Now people would say - oh but he is not even a regular member of the test side.

But look at the undeniable facts :

(1) Yuvraj is a better batsman than Dhoni.
(2) Karthik and Dhoni 's wicketkeeping skills are about the same.

If both of the above are true, than it should be Dhoni who should compete with Karthik for the one spot in the Test Side and Yuvraj should be a regular feature in Tests.

Most of the Captains lose their cricketing abilities once they become a captain- I guess Romesh Powar is the best candidate to become the Indian Captain- the guy looks like a Captain with a big fat belly.. can ball really slow and frustate the opponent.

Yuvraj Singh ke doodh ke daant bhi nahin tootey hain! He hasn't started even having moustache/beard

good one

Its sad though, i used to watch indian teams matches only because they used to show him on television. :(.

teelobhain, u had a crush on Rahul Dravid??? are u serious??? Shoaib Akhtar is much cute looking and looks like a small bachcha

^^shoaib akhtar is cute??? r u kidding me...