no Im smoking :P
*Originally posted by MyStiCaL_MisS: *
are you serious?
http://www.time.com/time/asia/2004/journey/india.html
Dear sholay, what can I say but thanks for your humanity and kindness.
True, but there is a diference. In early days people in the uk used to fight to take over each others masjids whereas back home they used to take over each others shrines as well. Anyhow in those days in the uk we did not have any purpose built mosques (excepting the shahjahan masjid) rather we used to buy houses or even churches if we could afford and just use them as mosques. The funding was collected from people on fridays in masjids as well as from their work places and even homes. The reason we used to fight over masjids was that in areas where most people were brailvies but masjid committees and imam in the masjid were deobandis, people wanted their kind of committees and imams. So when local people could not get this by mutual agreements, they began using our own very desi system (haatha paayee mar kataayee). These days that kind of stuff does not happen because by now people have become separated and settled in their ways. Of course animosity has increased due to each sect now preaching against the other but that was not the case in the very beginning. All of us ie wahabies, shias, sunnies, brailvi, deobandies etc used to live together and go to the same mosque. Nobody was bothered about these differences. It all began when we started importing mawlanas from back home. Anyway, it is not a good thing. Obviously you are aware of what is happening back home in pakistan between shias and sunnies. How people are justifying blowing each other up right in the masjids. This is not only dangerous for these people themselves but also for the country.
Dear sholay, I personally am prochoice, prodemocracy and freedom therefore against compulsion or force. This means I cannot be against anyone who chooses to believe in god or for that matter gods or even no god or gods. I am against organised religion not personal faith. As for me, people are born ignorant and it takes time to become learned and so between that ignorance and maximum possible knowledge one can have, there is a whole range of levels of knowledge each of us has. All beliefs come from one’s inner thoughts for personal reasons. It is impossible for anyone to change anyone’s mind but people are open to learning and moving their own goal posts all by themselves. We change our minds as we grow because we learn more and more things. Knowing more things helps us see thing farther or deeper and wider ie in a different context from a different perspective. For example, looking at things through a window is not the only factor that makes a difference in knowing what is out there rather it also depends whether you are standing right at the window or a bit at a distance from the window. Changing your position with respect to the window increases or decreases the size of the area you can look at as well as how far. From a distance from the window you cannot see as much area as you can when you are standing right at the window. Likewise, you cannot see things the while you are on land that you will be able to see from the air. So changing one’s positions changes one’s perpective or stand point where of one is looking at things and that helps one see things in various contexts or in other words changes the context of things. The wider and the deeper your view of things brings wider and deeper understanding of things. Likewise the more you know the better your judgment is likely to be. So changing mind is natural with time ie due to increase in knowledge. This is why it is wrong to stick to things we knew as children- the way we knew them- when we become adults because we are now expected to know things better. If there is a god as you are saying then I have not done anything that should qualify me for his anger. All I have done is made my own mind up about things as I came to know more and more things in life. The human brain other than that serves no purpose as I see things.
So I am happy with whatever anyone believes and follows so long as one does not fall into despare and destrcutive mindset, for that would most definitedly be not acceptable to any sensible person who want to get on with his life to do better for oneself and thereby for others.
I am not critical of islam because it is a religion but because it is not rather it seems to be a political movement that tends to drive its followers towards controlling what other believe or do. Not only that but the more you give into it the more it takes over. So muslims are therefore becoming more and more target of frustartion of nonmuslim world because they are not trying to understand and address their concerns about islam and muslims.
On top of all this open discussions have been totally disallowed in islamic media. Not because of media itself but because the media does not want ot become the target in the middle. As a result temperatures are rising to a dangerous level and the only people going to suffer the most are muslims.
You will agree that by talking to each other, be it in form of angry exchange of words, we still lower the tempers. Because once I have said whatever I wanted to say to you, I have no more frustration to take it out on you. You can then reply to my out burst and that lowers your temperature also and so we come to realise our mitakes and misconceptions about each other.
It is a logical fact that both of us cannot be right in the very same sense that we disagree with each other about something so by way of ideological exchange we come to realise for ourselves if we are wrong. This is why there is peace, progress and prosperity amongst open minded people but not amongst closed minded.
Anyway, it was very nice exchanging some words between us and hopefully we have learned something from each other.
My regards and best wishes.
^ May Allah show you the way.
*Originally posted by mal1k: *
r ya?
Zakir Naik is againt Madhabs, which Ahle Sunnah wal Jammah agree on....
He has a good memory mashallah..
^ So Dr. Zakir Naik is not from Ahl al Sunna wa al Jamah ?
*Originally posted by MyStiCaL_MisS: *
r ya?
Zakir Naik is againt Madhabs, which Ahle Sunnah wal Jammah agree on....
He has a good memory mashallah..
OK i am sorry, can u plz tell me what do you mean by "ahle sunnah wal jammah"
This is the first time i heard this line.....please tell me what do u mean by "ahle sunnah wal jammah".
IDOL USED FOR CONCENTRATION
Question:
The Hindu Pundits and Scholars agree that the Vedas and other Hindu religious scriptures prohibit idol worship, but initially because the mind may not be matured, an idol is required for concentration while worshipping. After the mind reaches higher consciousness, the idol is not required for concentration.
"Allah" in Sikhism
One of the names by which Gurunanak Sahib referred to God is "Allah".
"Allah" in Rigveda Book 2 Hymn I verse II
Even in the Rigveda which is the most sacred scripture of the Hindus, one of the attributes given to God Almighty in Book no 2 Hymn no I verse II, is ‘Ila’ which if pronounced properly is the same as Allah.
Allo Upanishad:
Amongst the various Upanishads one of the Upanishad is named as ‘Allo’ Upanishad in which God is referred to as "Allah" several times.
Renowned Orator of Islam and Comparative Religions Dr Zakir Naik today said divide and rule legacy of the British adopted by successive governments in the Independent India had caused lot of damage to the amity and harmony between Muslims and Hindus living in the country.
Delivering a lecture on +Simalirities between Hinduism and Islam, organised by the Jamiat-E-Ahle Hadees, Gulbarga unit here today Dr Zakir Naik said there was sinister move by the British rulers to breed discontent between Hindus and Muslims in the country. The vested interests spread misconception about Muslims in the minds of Hindus and vice versa and one should realise it before, it is too late, to ensure peaceful living in the country, he said.
Dr Zakir Naik said both Hinduism and Islam preaches universal brotherhood and the concept of God and also doctrine of life and death. Both the religions advice to respect other customs and culture of different people for the peaceful and harmonious living.
However, vested and evil elements in the society managed to spread hatread and discontent between Muslims and Hindus.
He said it was time for all to realise the grains of good available in both Hinduism and Islam. Great social reformers like Dayananda Saraswathi, Ramakrishna and Swami Vivekananda strived hard to enlighten the people to bring unity and amity between Hindus and the Muslims, this would have to be taken forward for the welfare and betterment of the nation.
‘‘Islam is not the new religion as propagated by westenern protogonists. The Islamic religion is as old as Hinduism and it was very well established in Vedas, Upanishads and also in Puranas, Dr Zakir Naik claimed’’.
The seminar was followed by an interaction session in which large number of both Hindus and Muslims were participated.
http://www.webindia123.com/news/m_details.asp?newscode=81951&catcode=ENG3&subcatcode=
i can't wait to meet him when he comes to toronto :D
It is true that Ila is a name of a Goddess, the wife of Lord Shiva in Hinduism and is also referred to the Lunar Goddess, but it would be a long shot that Allah and Ila would have some connection. Anyway one site has its own theory about the connection.
Has anyone watched the debate "The Quran and the Bible in the Light of Science" between Dr Zakir Naik and Dr William Campbell? Naik crucified him. It was amazing.