Dr. Shaista ke Morning Show main live caller ne shista sahiba ko khari kahri suna di aur sath main sab morning show host and shista ko hqeeqat dikha di un ki aur karwa sach keh diya jo in naam nihad awam dost morning show host se bardasht nahi hota hight of insult
To Dr. Shaista's credit, she only hung up once the caller started talking ill about her brother. I don't think many people would like seeing a family member getting publicly insulted so that's no-brainer there!
Also, I have to respectfully disagree here with that caller. I don't like this my way or the highway attitude. First, it's a free country; people who don't like Shaista or her brother or think her show is too ostentatious for their tastes are free to watch something else. If those hosts keep getting air time, that probably means there is still demand for them and the channels are not getting a hit on their wallets through a decline in advertisement revenue.
Second, and most important, these "sets," "fashion," and "consumption society" support hundreds of jobs and contribute to the economy of what's a very poor country with not many jobs around for the average man and woman. Also all that "consumption" has a multiplier effect with the money continuing to circulate in the economy. That's ECON 101 for you.
Finally a lot of people like 'fashion" and glamour even if they cannot always afford it; not everyone is wallowing in self-pity or would prefer an ascetic lifestyle if they had a choice. That's partly why Star TV dramas are so popular with Pakistani audience.
I think I talked about it in the old thread and like to mention it here too.
In broadcast world, with very few exceptions, there is no such thing as real time live broadcast. Producers of the show, almost always broadcast a live show with 5 minutes of delayed time to handle any situation that they don't want viewers to see.
In cases like broadcasting sport events, there might be exceptions, but in shows where viewers call in, the shows are and must always be delayed broadcasted.
Well then when it comes to Pakistani channels, they all are unprofessional people anyways so they must be running the show as real time live, or they could have just edited the call out.