Dr Qadeer Khan!

not sure what to say…I am speechless. this is the latest column by our so called pride of pakistan dr qadeer khan…how much more of an idiot this guy can be. he is writing a column in the biggest newspaper of Pakistan and he is yelling at pakistani govt for denouncing north korea …moreover he is openly supporting north korea’s explosion of hydrogen bomb and its nuclear program.

and if that is not enough, he is also declaring that north korea has always been our strategic partner and that it has always helped us with our nuclear and missile program. seriously, is this guy a complete joke? looks like he has no love or respect for his motherland because these statements will only embarrass Pakistan. I have no doubt that this joker was helping iran and libya with their nuclear programs. i mean just read this column.

re: Dr Qadeer Khan!

First of all, even Corps Commanders (and COAS) have very very limited knowledge of nuclear secrets. So it is impossible to assume that Dr Qadir was able to share highly sensitive state secrets with another countries without Intelligence having a clue about it. If he was doing so without their approval, they would have got rid of this guy immediately. He wouldn't be alive to write this article today. It is extremely naive to believe this! I cannot begin to explain it.

Some people have no idea how strict military's internal intelligence system is, especially for EME field (Electrical and Mechanical Engineering). I can personally vouch for the fact that officers belonging to EME are under surveillance for years even after their retirement. I don't even want to imagine the kind of close eyes they would have kept on Dr Qadeer.

I think AQ khan is entitled to his opinion, it's our choice to agree or disagree with him

I am surprised with the topic and your comments
I am against AQKhan for his selling nuke tech to other countries playing in hand of some generals but what he wrote is all true and our history . I remember in 70-80s when North Korian Ships embarked at West Wharf , all the times , whole the area was controlled by security forces and all cargo was secretly disembarked , Later Shaheed BB was successful to get the missile technology from N Korea so we are now able to defend our country .
I don't know , why the truth is painful for you

qilbla sarkar, what opinion? if he is commenting on social issues or political situation or any other topic, of-course we will respect his viewpoint but he is commenting on north korea H-bomb explosion and North korea contribution to our nuclear and missile program...highly sensitive topics to be discussed in a newspaper column by a nuclear scientist with a shady past.

chalo man liya aap kee baat, lets respect his opinion but shah jee, he is not giving his opinion. he is revealing some state secrets. every country uses different channels to establish or expand its nuclear program but where do nuclear scientists expose those things in a newspaper column? North korea is such a notorious topic these days and hazrat openly declaring that north korea helped pakistan with its missile/nuclear programs and always provided us weapons and that their technology is far better than Pakistan. by the way, we as a state always opposed these allegations that we ever helped North korea or took their help but here is your top scientist admitting it himself. and you are saying that he has right to express his opinion? and then he is saying that our govt should not denounce their H-bomb explosion...what shd we do? celebrate it?

anyway, looks like i am wrong, so sure, dear dr qadeer please keep on writing such columns.

bhai meray. i am not saying why we took north korea help or why did we help them... but do we need to expose everything in a newspaper column? how would that help us as a state?

and fine, theek hai salam aap kee shaheed bibi ko ............. but trust me she would have not approved dr qadeer column.

A writer, columnist in this case, is entitled to his opinion within the editorial policy of the newspaper. Your criticism would have made more sense had it been against the newspaper as well that let that piece published. I agree that Dr. Qadeer will not earn any global respect for him or for the country by emblazoning his opinion in a manner like this.

you are also admitting that what dr qadeer wrote about north korea is not going to help him or Pakistan...and it can definitely hurt us. so we are aligned there.

As far as editorial policy of the newspaper is concerned, i wish our press was that responsible. they will publish anything for sensation.

AQ Khan is self centered egoistic personality. He have done wonders for Pakistan but he want to be worshipped and may want to have status of Baba-e- Pakistan...
To get importance he often spill beans...hw should have retired but then he won't be Pakistani if he retires...here people retires only to start something new...

Is it a common practice in Pakistan to replace people's first name with an insult and keep their surnames? For example: Khota Malik or this stupid practice is only reserved for people with surname Khan? I reckon taking the piss out of Khan surname is just another extension for pathetic Pathan jokes. Anyway, it's not funny.

Yeah let's abuse Pakistan's Nuclear Father bomb because he dare have an opinion on North Korea that goes against Amreeeekans. How dare we worthless Pakistanis say something good about people that our Amkreekan masters don't like. Oh no, we'll be bombed....Pakistani immigrants will be kicked out of Amreeka.

Apart from the fact that some people think sharing nuclear secrets is akin to forwarding an email, AQ is entitled to his opinion. He's not a policy maker, not even a government employee or much of a public figure. He wrote an opinion piece in the local newspaper in the local language, people who are so concerned about 'global impact' can get over it. I doubt White House is getting his articles translated. LOL

Has Pakistan even expressed herself on North Korean bomb? There is neither any need to denounce it or celebrate it. Simple as that. That region simply doesn't concern Pakistan. We don't have to always look so desperate and toe the lines of Yanks and Saudis. It's okay to have independent opinions even if they go against the Yanks and Saudis.

Dr Qadir isn't saying anything that world didn't know about. Of course there are countries that funded/helped Pakistan with A-bomb. The only difference is that when the going got tough, Pakistan as a state never admitted those things. Newsflash - State never admits to such things! This is how it works.

The whole issue is well and truly over. Even Amreeekans don't care whether Pak helped Libiya or Iran or whatever. And they aren't stupid enough to believe that one person was able to share nuclear secrets with other countries without state's approval- but too bad, there's only so much you can do against a nuclear armed country. End of story.

Freedom of speech. I don't think he disclosed any state secrets here. Most of us champion the cause of free speech, that applies to those too who say things which are opposite to our point of view. It is healthy to have differing views on the same topic.

yes but there is a protocol for freedom of speech as well. he should have restricted himself to north korea’s explosion of H-bomb. i believe connecting north korea and its support to pakistan missile and nuclear program by our top nuclear scientist, who by the way has been in the past accused for an active role in proliferating nucealr weapons technology to other countries and was put under house arrest by pakistani govt after he formally admitted his responsibility for the activities in question , was completely useless and immature. there was no need for it.

we have stated our viewpoints in detail and now we are going in circles, so lets leave it here, ciao and peace shah sahib :blush:

Dr Qadeer made the greatest sacrifice by compromising his personal reputation to bail out the state. He happily became the scapegoat! That's how great the man is.

No Pakistani with bit of self respect would ever stoop low to abuse a national hero just because he has an opinion that goes against the America's interests.

Keep writing Doc. Don's care about hurting Americans' precious feelings. The ISI is holding your back...like always!

^ Are you really that obtuse?

Calling your top scientist a joker and idiot Khan is more of an appropriate example of obtuse. He's not a politician.

People like Malala and AQ certainly don't deserve this kind of abuse, regardless of the differences you may have with them.

You need to produce more and more scientists, have your young generation look up to them, not paint them as dumb idiots or jokers because they have different opinions on geopolitics.

If you want to honor scientists, then honor Abdus Salam who never issued controversial statements to this knowledge. Malala is a gem compared to this old fart's rantings.

Pakistan did what it did like India for its nuclear program, but why scream it over a loudspeaker now? I think this guy is bitter that he was part of a smuggling ring and he pulled the short stick. Perhaps, it is his akhrot up top that doesn't get that things could've been worse if he hadn't taken the "fall" and stayed in Pakistan.

What can do I? I forgot that I am talking to Pakistanis, where one top scientist is considered a wajib ul qatal Kafir and the other a Ghaddar and a dumb joker.

Carry on.