Updated at: 1710 PST, Thursday, January 21, 2010
ISLAMABAD: During a certificate-awarding ceremony at a college in Islamabad, the situation took an unusual turn when a female student refused to get her certificate from Federal Minister Dr. Farooq Sattar in protest against the captivity of Dr Aafia Siddiqi in the US.
Asma Waheed, an A-level student of OPF College, came to stage but registered her protest on Dr Aafia issue by refusing to get certificate from Dr. Farooq Sattar.
The student was of the view that the government had been exhibiting negligence on the issue of Dr. Siddiqi.
The federal minister in a bid to calm the situation said the student used her democratic right and he respects it as his party MQM is also making similar efforts for the return of Dr. Siddiqi.
Later, he invited the student to the stage and answered her question saying high-level efforts were being made to bring Dr. Siddiqi back to the country.
The minister hoped that government’s efforts would prove fruitful.
liars all of them ... these are the bloody politicians who have sold people to the americans in exchange for dollars .. they are incapable of doing anything for any pakistani prisoners abroad.
Who knows what the real story is. Maybe she is guilty for doing something stupid, and maybe she is totally innocent. You cannot trust the Pakistani government for anything. Those ministers would sell their moms.
sach yaar who we can talk any thing pass our real issues.
how we could we even pretend to have normal issues.
Why dont we take over out country slap politician to death, then give power to ppl.
How could we talk any thing beyond how our country is hijacked by criminals?
Haan, bohot sachay aur imaandaar log baithey hain Pakistan mein.
This doesn't apply to everyone in Pakistan but I haven't seen people more dheet and fuzool like some of the ones I came across there, I wonder if anyone has ever slapped them.
Other day on TV , her mother was telling that she is not a scientist of a doctor . Her Phd. and research was in Education . I am not sure why American & Pakistani government is hiding the truth .
Haan, bohot sachay aur imaandaar log baithey hain Pakistan mein.
This doesn't apply to everyone in Pakistan but I haven't seen people more dheet and fuzool like some of the ones I came across there, I wonder if anyone has ever slapped them.
parezy mery mamoon ki side bhi politics meen heen, I understand how you feel when ppl generalize. One day I was buy dahiBhaly and 2 guys were discussing my mamoon.
But the thing is its not about or family.
Thing is even ppl in PA dont see how politician are damaging our country.
Things is its not even hidden, start reading any paki english news paper's economy section. Do it for like a year.
Follow the stories. you will be surprised to death to see how could some one harm country they way they do. Just to earn extra money.
Once you do that you wont let any politician speak ever if you could.
kisi din time hua to I will write the stories I followed back in the days.
U will be surprised to know how some time they intentionaly keep pakistan behind so them or their mukhalif politician can keep making money from over seas business organizations.
parezy mery mamoon ki side bhi politics meen heen, I understand how you feel when ppl generalize. One day I was buy dahiBhaly and 2 guys were discussing my mamoon.
But the thing is its not about or family.
Thing is even ppl in PA dont see how politician are damaging our country.
Things is its not even hidden, start reading any paki english news paper's economy section. Do it for like a year.
Can you tell me where you got the idea from that I'm in favor of politicians?
Yeah like you said about my family ties but despite of it all, I don't support PPP in any way, and they know it. I'm very much aware of what PPP has done and continues to do so-. I have heard first-hand stories that you cannot imagine and it just disgusts me to no end.
What I meant by my comment was that even if you remove politicians (PPP, MQM, whoever), there's no guarantee that Pakistan will ever be how we imagine it to be. Politicians are blood sucking corrupted idiots but by giving it to people to run, it's not gonna be alot better. Nothing is done there without rishwat, this source, that source, every other person is dishonest, look at the doctors and lawyers, the kidnapping, the robbing, shooting people for the pettiest reasons, no tolerance, no unity, no discipline, people show up to work when they feel like it, you can sit outside their office for hours to get anything done, no will to clean the country, every wall is covered with paan, go pee wherever you feel like... and so much more. There's no system in place and who do you even expect to do that? People who do all of the above?
All of that is not just true about the politicians, it applies to the general awaam as well. How can you expect people like that to run the country? Unless you go around picking the odd ones who can actually offer something better, but who will look for them?
The country needs someone who is disciplined, has the maturity and sense to differentiate between right and wrong, and actually thinks of the country before his or her own being.