dowary system

Dear All,

Is dowary system in pakistan is increasing? One of my friend from pakistan told me that it is on the rise in punjab and sindh area? is it true? As far as I know dowary is banned in islam then why is it so? :eek:

Abhi

Re: dowary system

Murdering people is banned in islam too. So is giving and taking interest and bribes. Oh and prostitution and adultery is banned in islam too. So is child molestation. And marrying off children without their consent. Honour killings. Etc etc etc. Then why is all this increasing in Pakistan?

Cuz we’re a dirty dhabba on the name of muslims :frowning:

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I don’t think it would be banned in islam (jahez counts as dowry right?) but it is not something required as well (if the parents / siblings want to give something then that’s a different issue).

And Captain Lota is right!
Also abusing your wife is wrong (even in quran where it says beat them as a last resort for some circumstances, it means lightly as not leave a mark and i read in a hadeeth hitting the face is a big nono).

Oh well.. :frowning:

i know this is a repulsive and atrocious thought but i do wonder how this dowry business is correlated to economic fluctuations... on a very local and micro level.?

More business for local home appliance shop owners? Umm nah scratch that.

On a more sadder scale, you can have a woman hang herself because she has been put to shame because they cancelled the marriage because her family cannot afford the dowry. Coincidentially her brother happens to be the local bhai and he goes and burns up all shops....

..nahhhhhh scratch that too. Too indian moviesh.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Dowry is fine if it has a equal balance... in other words i bring the lota and so does he.. in case if one breaks gotta have a back up....

Seriously speaking... dowry system is simply bakwas......

I suppose its origins were in the fact that while sons had rights to inheritances, something needed to be done for the daughters

I highly doubt that sir.

The subcontinental mentality of the past has been that daughters are a burden that should be married off asap. So for someone to take your daughter is like somone taking a burden off your shoulders and thus he needs to be compensated for that in cash or kind i.e. dowry.

Have you seen the movie Bandit Queen? Watch the beginning 10 minutes where they show a man whos come to take away a 6 year old phoolan from her family and in return for this ‘favour’ her family gives the man a bicycle as dowry.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

I dont know what is more cruel. The fact that the so called educated there have the 'unspoken' expectation of the dulhan to come laden with dowry goods or the others who demand it.

My cousins teacher at Frobel's rwp was thrown out of her house by mom-in-law and gang, 4 years after marriage cause her mother did not give a pair of gold gangan (sp?) to the mother in law as a gesture of thank you for taking my daughter etc etc.... And this was a so called parhee likhee family. Not to ingnore the furniture, electronics, clothes and jewelry etc the girl did come with... tsk tsk.

My uncle’s sons recently got married in islamabad and I did attend their weddings. As far as I saw, I was amazed to see that my uncle (taya abbu) didnt recieve or take any kind of dowry from the girls. Instead, he and his wife made dowry for the wives of my cousins.

I say those girls are really lucky to have my uncle and aunty as a mother/father in laws.

So, with that it depends on a family and their background. Some strictly prohibit and don’t allow the system of dowry in marriages and some don’t mind at all!