Doubts on the Order of Relevation of Quran

Some of the fellow sunni guppy claimed that one who doen’t believe that the current quran is compiled in the order the ayats was revealed.. is tehreef - e - quran… Since it was off the topic I want to start a new thread…

** I am no Alim but it confuses me when I as a student reads the ayat of Quran

“Today I have perfected your religion and completed my favour upon you, and I was satisfied that Islam be your religion.” (Qur’an 5:3)

I don’t understand If this verse is 5:3 of the quran… which states Islam is perfect on the relevation of this verse … Does it mean in sunni school of thought the rest of the quran doesnt mean anything because Islam was perfected on the relevation of verse 5:3.

salaam

^^ I think you have misunderstood the person. No sunni will cliam that the quran is written as it was revealed.

The brother was talking about the ACTUAL order of the verses (ie. the order in which all Qurans are today), NOT what order were they revealed. You seem to have confused the issue.

That was the last verse to be revealed, and I dont think there can be any disagreement about that.

As far as I know the sunnis believe that the correct order of Quran was dictated by the Prophet (Peace Be Upon Him) himself to the katibeen-e-wahi (those who wrote down Quran in his lifetime), and Quran was recited in the correct order by him during salah.

It was this same order that was used by Hazrat Abu Bakr (Peace be Upon Him) to compile the Quran. This order is the one we see right now, and it is certainly not the order in which Quran was revealed to the Prophet.

Now, if someone is wondering why the Quran was revealed in a different order than the one which Prophet dictated, thats a separate question. We can offer an intelligent guess, but the real answer lies with Allah Tallah.

Assalam o Alaikum

May be i should explain my point bit furtherer...

shia concept is that there was tehreef in quran ....and that too of not just only one type of tehreef .....

these were..
1-ommition of ayahs
2-addition of fabricated surahs
3-changed the wordings
4-changed the order and thus changing the meaning..

what is ur stand on each type of tehreef.....

i'll provide refrences .....but first tell me what do u think about these concepts........

Number one is certainly claimed by Ahle Sunnat.

*Originally posted by 1010: *

Refrences..?

and plz answer ....dont beat around bush.....1010 as spelled by kalim....:-)

I gave many references in previous threads. Do you want me to repeat them?

i am a sunni, and i never believed in omission....
some people believe in the theory of abrogation but i dont think its a majority belief....

I gave many references in previous threads. Do you want me to repeat them?

give me link ...but after u have answered my question .........

I don't know which Ahl-e-Sunnah you talk to, but all Ahl-e-Sunnah you find here on GS absolutely do not believe there is any ommission of ayats from Quran. :-)

So, you can either go and paste context-less references all day long to prove a non-existing point, or move on to other more useful discussions.

I second Faisals comment.

Assalam O Alaikum,

Third verse of Surah Al-baqarah should be enough for every muslim:

This is a perfect Book; there is no doubt in it; it is a guidance for the righteous,

I don't know that after reading this verse, how can one still argue that some verses are abrogated from Holy Quran or the order has been changed or something is added.

me three ^^

1010 mate alang Flang ki na maroo.... :)

..... if Allah Almighty said that he is gonna protect Quran him self u can can b*** **** as much as u want .... :)

go ahead..... hav fun

*Originally posted by bao bihari: *
Assalam o Alaikum

May be i should explain my point bit furtherer...

shia concept is that there was tehreef in quran ....and that too of not just only one type of tehreef .....

these were..
1-ommition of ayahs
2-addition of fabricated surahs
3-changed the wordings
4-changed the order and thus changing the meaning..

Bao Bihari, its been argues not once but several times that the hadith's you quoted are zaheef... becaue it contradicts the teachings of Quran the ayat I quoted in the first post is the witness that Islam is perfect and so is the book.... Don't start is Again Mr... As a shia I believe in Quran and any hadith that contradicts Quran is dhaeef.....

*Originally posted by Diwana_Desii: *

Bao Bihari, its been argues not once but several times that the hadith's you quoted are zaheef... becaue it contradicts the teachings of Quran the ayat I quoted in the first post is the witness that Islam is perfect and so is the book.... Don't start is Again Mr... As a shia I believe in Quran and any hadith that contradicts Quran is dhaeef.....

its ok yaar..let bao nihari make up these stories :) i guess he knows something we shias dont know

**deewana desi **

in case u skipped this part …i had asked that if u dont belive in these ..what is ur stand that if any one belives them …is he remians a muslim or not…
Kindly answer my question …

and secondly ..the riwah if not maduu according to ur belief can still be taken as ur original belief…and in case of tehreef e quran ..i think u have more then 2000 hadiths in asool e kafi supporting my stand..and no hadiths to contradict what i belive is ur belief…

i hope that i have made my point more clear now…

wasalam