Don't want to share my recipe with you! Hmph!

What do you do when someone who never shares their recipes asks for one of yours? I only like sharing my recipes with ppl that do the same. I have made an excuse and said that I do not know it properly and got help from someone else, but she insists on me showing her how to make it and I really don’t want to b.c she is super competitive with me. What to do?

Re: Don’t want to share my recipe with you! Hmph!

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/398848-share-not-share.html i suggest you read this

Re: Don't want to share my recipe with you! Hmph!

Just say "haan haan, zaroor dikhadungi...koi baat nahin" and then never follow up. If she follows up with you...make appointments and then cancel on her. Do this a few times and she will get the hint.

I know it sounds bad lekin zindagi mein stress kam hai kya jo ek aur museebat apne galey bandlein? :)

^ ok THAT is Taiz :hehe:

If u want to be upfront say “you never help me so i’m not goin gto help you.”
If you want to be nice, do what reha suggested. :smiley:

hmmmm u can miss any ingredients and tell her the rest.......:)

i agree with shk_14, just dont tell her the full recipe

I've realized beating around the bush or giving fake recipes sometimes makes the situation worse, just be upfront about it

Also, if you have given a recipe to this girl before has she given the credit to you or switched it around a little to make it "her" recipe

once i did not share my recipe of EXCELLENT halwa because i didnt wanna tell anyone on the table that actually it was my glabjanam recipe which went TERRIBLY wrong…:hehe:

^:rotfl:

the problem is that she takes my recipes and makes it "better" and makes it for people that I know so then when I make the same thing they think that I used her recipe, it's really annoying. I know it's petty but I don't care. And I can't be upfront about it because she is really close to our family and I know she will take it the wrong way and tell everyone. If I leave out an ingredient or give her another recipe I know she will come over and force me to show her how to make it. It's gotten to a point where I don't even make new things anymore, but when I do my MIL will mention it to her and she'll ask me. She is the super jealous type and has to be better than me at everything.

everytime she asks, just say "inshahAllah zaroor batoon gee"

Is it? :hehe: Dude, Ive been given the run around so many times I cant telllllll ya!

Then do yourself a favor and become a little bit more selfish. Why not?

WHen she comes over, miss an ingredient or do something different. Miss an ingredient or a step in the recipe while you’re showing it to her…make her believe she got it. Yes, I realize its mean but why are you going to indulge her in her weirdness? Keep missing stuff or doing things differently so your dishes are always yours and hers are just imitations. Flip the script girl, I dont see why you wouldnt want to!

I agree with reha...

or if you don't wanna waste your time on her at all just email her some link to a food show or some chef's online recipe thats nothing close to yours. just be like "oh mein tau hamesha issi chef ki recipes use karti hoon" you won't even have to invite her over and go through the whole recipe in the kitchen...she can waste her own time figuring out why the food sucks.

if she's not giving you her recipes why would she make a big deal of you not giving yours??? i wouldn't give her the recipe under any circumstance...she sounds super annoying

why dont you go over to her house and ask for some recipe of hers? a really good one ... if she tells you ... then you can tell yours too ...
she knows she wants a recipe from you ... if she doesnt give hers, you wont give yours ...
or just ask her for something she wouldnt really give you otherwise ...

Or say, hey why dont i come over, you show me one of your recipes and i will show you one of mine?

have a cooking parrrtttyyyyyy :D ... spend a romantic evening together with cunning undertones :D

Its very common in pakistan...no one wants to share their recipes...turns out that all the new recipes are usually from the tv shows that are on these days...

haha some very good suggestions! And some very cunning ones too!

I just need a way of politely saying no in a way that is not mean. Everytime I ask for a recipe sh says she'll tell me later and then I just don't ask again b/c I don't want to force her if she doesn't want to. Also /i don't want her to start making this for ppl I know, which I know she will. Anyway, I don't think I can just give her the recipe and leave something out b/c she's eaten when I've made it so she'll know that it's not the same and there aren't many ingredients in the recipe. Everyone is always complimenting her food, I want people to compliment me too!

ask her to teach you how to cook that recipe which she ripped off of you, and cooked it better! and if she says later ... make an appointment there and then!
then you will also know if she is really always trying to get away with telling you recipes, or is it just you trying to be nice and sweet and not asking her in a real way ... may be she thinks you're just "btw" asking, and not REALLY asking for it.