I understand.The best thing is to ask your loved ones to join too. With so much shortage we should try to convince more muslims to join.
Re: ==Donating Blood!
sorry, this may seem silly question..
what is mallow donation?
Not a silly question at all…Its donating the marrow in your bones IF you EVER Match with a person/child who needs it.Please note that they donot take the marrow out o everyone, its IF you Ever match. I met some people today that have been on the registry for 12 years and never matched.Thats the thing but it sure Definitely Saves a life of Human.You as a donor regenerate the marrow just like blood.
Here is a link.They also do International Registry.
www.marrow.org
Donating bone marrow is a long process where alot of things have to match.
Shikra bhai - this is how the donation is collected!
Bone marrow is collected under general anaesthetic from the cavities in the hipbones. Using a needle and syringe, punctures are made through the skin over each hip and the marrow is extracted from the pelvic bone cavity. This procedure can take up to two hours. In the month before the collection you may be asked to donate one or two units of blood.
The time needed for complete recovery varies, but generally you can go home the next day and resume your normal activities after two or three days. Normal bone marrow will re-grow rapidly to replace the donated bone marrow.
The risks for donating bone marrow are the same as those with any general anaesthetic. The chance of a serious complication is very low but some people may experience nausea and local pain for several days.
^^ thank you for the detailed explaination Sunset Eyes:)
Hmmmm…thanks for the info Sunset Eyes, this is also how I thought bone marrow is extracted and that’s exactly why I was not willing to do it. However, the girls’ parents (father is a doctor and mother is a nurse) assured me that this traditional method will NOT be used. Allah I will have to do is simply donate blood and they will take certain type of cells out of the blood. Bone marrow directly from the bones will not be needed. That’s what they told me and that’s why I agreed because they can take as much as blood as they want, but poking needles in my bones? :nono:
Aagey Allah jaaney.
I donated blood today...and after Half a bottle...okay lower then that...baby bottle/pouch//My blood stopped. I offered my other arm but they said its because of platelets, my body wont give more blood..The lady said we have taken as much as we could..and already we have gotten a lot..I didn't understand a lot of it.Anyone care to elaborate.
Also they made me go eat lunch before since it was my first time...The only thing was during my time...two dudes gave their blood and woh bhi full full bottles..or mere ki small baby size pouch:(
Since anesthesia may be used , iit doesn t hurt a lot(so I have been told).But imagine the reward..you literally save a life.
Your blood was too busy to come out ![]()
Now explain it in Medical jargon:D
I understand that, but lies, I can’t stand that. I specifically asked if they’ll be getting the blood/marrow directly fro the bones and the answer was “No, we will just need your blood as you would normally donate blood”. That’s why I agreed to register.
The typical procedure involves anesthesia, some places recommend that you take from a few days to a couple of weeks off work, that’s impossible. Had they told me the truth themselves (I knew it from websites but they painted a different picture), I would’ve gladly registered to help out but that’s not the case here.
Having said that, I think the 2nd process does exist but is not as popular/common. Here’s what I found out:
Peripheral Blood Stem Cell (PBSC) Donation
**Blood stem cells are also found in the circulating blood stream (peripheral blood) as well as the marrow, but in much smaller numbers. A growth factor known as granulocyte-colony stimulating factor (G-CSF,which occurs naturally in the body and regulates production of certain white cells (neutrophils), is injected for five days prior to the collection. This temporarily boosts neutrophil production and encourages movement from the bone marrow where the cells are made, out into the peripheral (circulating) blood.
The cells are then collected via a sustained needle on a blood cell separator machine, in a process known as apheresis. One or two collections on consecutive days, each lasting approximately 4-5 hours may be required, but overnight hospitalisation is not usually necessary and no general anaesthetic. The effects of the G-CSF may include bone pain and flu-like symptoms during the 5 day period the drug is being administered but which resolve 1-2 days after the last dose of the drug. During the collection the donor may experience discomfort at the sites of the needle insertion and a temporary tingling sensation in the body from the anticoagulant used to keep the cells from clotting. No extended recuperation period should, therefore, be necessary, although you are likely to feel tired for a short time afterwards.
a lot of young girls (specially of pakistani/desi origin) are low in haemoglobin, and although many may not be anemic per se, may still have haemoglobin below the normal range... thats why fainting may occur more often...
i am anemic, hemoglobin is not just a few points below range, but its WELL out of range,
so thats why never tried to donate blood, as noble as it is and as much as i would have loved to, i don't have enough of it to maintain even my own self healthy...
Ask99, either your haemoglobin is a little low (as its usually the case with girls) or the platelets may have aggregated at the site of blood retrieval, causing clotting, and stopping further flow of blood out... thats my guess...
Pakistan main tu larkeyon ka blood lena tu hospital waley haraam samajhtey hain
becharey sochtey hongey muda na galey par jaye ![]()
Larkey, guys ka blood aisey nikaltey hain jaisay hamarey jism main blood ki factory lagi howi hai, 2, 4 ounce ziada bhi nikal jaye tu khair hai ![]()
They never resfuse any doner ‘guy’ no matter how skinny he is. But they will never take blood from girl even if she is willing
r u allowed in islam to give and recieve blood
Yes I have!
Please carry on donating, it's such a small thing for everyone to do, but can make such a huge impact on other peoples lives.
I dont worry bout it anymore, they keep on sending me back saying I dont weight enough :@:
a lot of young girls (specially of pakistani/desi origin) are low in haemoglobin, and although many may not be anemic per se, may still have haemoglobin below the normal range... thats why fainting may occur more often...
i am anemic, hemoglobin is not just a few points below range, but its WELL out of range, so thats why never tried to donate blood, as noble as it is and as much as i would have loved to, i don't have enough of it to maintain even my own self healthy...
Ask99, either your haemoglobin is a little low (as its usually the case with girls) or the platelets may have aggregated at the site of blood retrieval, causing clotting, and stopping further flow of blood out... thats my guess...
They gave me the reason of the platelets clotting.But the thing is why didnt they try the other arm then if it was just one site.
r u allowed in islam to give and recieve blood
short answer .. yes it is
long answer .. it is considered haraam by some scholar but because haraam becomes halal when its a matter of life and death (like a starving to death muslim can eat pork), same scholars agree that it is allowed to do so to save someone's life.