Is anyone on the net ever experience the domestic voilence. If yes what kind of action as been taken?
Yup.
I've seen it from a number of different view-points. The action that was taken ranges from nothing, to calling the police to... well... that's a whole new topic.
I'm sure there are plenty of websites where you can talk to people who have been through this.
farhina,
I am really
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif
you mean domestic violence as in real life thing happening and you get to know about it on net or when a husband/wife beat each other because one of them use internet (whatever the purpose) and the other is not happy about it?
call me baby
Yeh, ChannMahi's father used to chitrol him every day he'd skip school which was pretty much every other day.
Roman kakay, that is not domestic violence that is child abuse.
Not if you are as old as you were and still going to school.
Roman - Man you are so funny.
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Domestic violence is nothing to be making jokes about. It’s a very serious thing and those that have been exposed to it in some shape or form will not take kindly to making light of it.
Not only am I appalled to see that this type of violence still takes place, I am even more floored to learn how flippantly it is discussed or advised. (e.g. “Do chaantay laga kay ghar say bahar nikal dayna chahiyay” - A comment overheard recently during a conversation in which both men and women of older and younger generations were participating.)
Attitudes such as these are the downfall of our society. Women that participate in such discussions and fail to object are as much at fault in causing harm for their silence condones the behaviour.
More later…
When I was at college we had to choose a topic for our COMMUNITY ASSIGNMENT, I chose Domestic Violence, I studied it so in-depth that by the time I finished it at the end of the year… I knew everything there was to know! I also helped my neighbour who suffered from it…
Its a sad and sorry situation… and bitterly common in this world!
Hmm...well some family friends took in some muslim kids who were in the care of children's aid. Their father murdered their mother after fighting and beating her in front of their faces.... the guy only got 7 years in jail.
*"Labaik, Allahumma Labaik, Labaik La Sharika Laka Labaik, Innal Hamda Wa N'amata Laka Wal Mulk, La Sharika Lak." "Here I am at your service, O Allah, here I am. Here I am at your service and no partners do you have. Verily All Praise and All Bounty belong to you, and Yours alone is The Sovereignty. No partners do you have."
Thanks Mem sahib that was really inciteful.
Roman: Have not you heard…danda pir hai wighaReyan tighaReyaN da
Domestic violence backhome to control or put down women was a common tool used by lot of people. I have observed that desis here in the West can’t apply that tool without going to jail so they have come up with a new one where they intentionally keep women economically dependent…and yes that too inspite of them working and all that.
mention naat!
Here's a question that pertains to this thread:
What kind of behaviour or actions prompted the violence to occur?
I've always wondered what makes abused women stay with abusive men?? I'm sure it's got something to do with not having the courage or self-esteem to turn around and do something about it. i've seen it happen to a good friend of mine where her husband used to beat her. She would beg me not to get involved, and she was probably right as it could have made things worse. She used to fall for his crap when he would apologise and the whole cycle would start again...
Originally posted by Muzna:
**Here's a question that pertains to this thread:
What kind of behaviour or actions prompted the violence to occur?
Anything or anyone can. I think something wrong with brain chemicaly imbalance/alcholic/ drugs and stuff. Most of these kind of people are very agressive and stuborn. sigh.
Originally posted by CoolDude:
I've always wondered what makes abused women stay with abusive men?? I'm sure it's got something to do with not having the courage or self-esteem to turn around and do something about it. i've seen it happen to a good friend of mine where her husband used to beat her. She would beg me not to get involved, and she was probably right as it could have made things worse. She used to fall for his crap when he would apologise and the whole cycle would start again...
so what does one do in such a situation? just sit and watch?
[This message has been edited by ammarr (edited July 05, 2001).]
Originally posted by CoolDude:
Mostly woman are depend on man in our cluture and parents are not all the time supportive or they just can not beleive that it is happening to them. They also say I LOVE HIM.... he will be okay he promised and all the stuff and blame everything to themselves saying I must have done something to deserve it but nothing like that happens. Those people never change. Even anger control class are TEMP. So my advice if you find someone suffering tell them to talk to National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1 -800-799-7233.
Originally posted by ammarr:
** so what does one do in such a situation? just sit and watch?
[This message has been edited by ammarr (edited July 05, 2001).]**
I think you have to get involved because no matter how "sensitive" the whole thing is, it has to be stopped. Can you imagine how the victim is feeling..how battered she is?? She has a right to live a normal, unabusive life and if you can step in and make that happen, well then so be it!
*"Labaik, Allahumma Labaik, Labaik La Sharika Laka Labaik, Innal Hamda Wa N'amata Laka Wal Mulk, La Sharika Lak." "Here I am at your service, O Allah, here I am. Here I am at your service and no partners do you have. Verily All Praise and All Bounty belong to you, and Yours alone is The Sovereignty. No partners do you have."
Get involved and do what?
Beat up the guy: and then let him take out his anger on wife later??
Call the police: and then feel stupid when she denies everything out of fear?
a 3rd person getting involved directly never helps. I was there to listen, give advice, and be there when needed - not to be a fool and go charging into a situation based on my emotions. It's easy to pass comments when you've never seen or dealt with a situation like this.
Originally posted by Hinna:
** I think you have to get involved because no matter how "sensitive" the whole thing is, it has to be stopped. Can you imagine how the victim is feeling..how battered she is?? She has a right to live a normal, unabusive life and if you can step in and make that happen, well then so be it!
I don't think that's always a good idea, if someone wants to be helped, they'll get help or ask for it. A third person shouldn't just butt in, it can make it worse.
I agree with cooldude, sometimes all you can do is listen and be a good friend, that helps alot, and when they need help just try to be there.