Doli rakh do kaharo

Mai Sasuraal Nahi Jaaungi Doli Rakh Do - Chandni.HQ
Doli had an important place in desi culture, but after advent of new technology and transportation means, it seems that this disappeared from our society.

Have you ever heard from your elders or seen usage of doli yourself?

Re: Doli rakh do kaharo

Doli is now used as ceremonial entrance of Bride from gate to wedding stage… :chai:

kaamchor kaniya’aen :chai:

Majra batain?

you tell. I don't know about this usage of doli. BTW, is there any difference between doli and palki?

i've some interesting tales to tell regarding the tradition of Doli. iA, tonight! :)

Both are same.. I was thinking to use this word in my comment 2… :hmmm:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XzIOiI7PhM

do share. Is it related to some fat lady that couldn't be carried by kahaars? :p

Palki and Doli are basically same. Hindus used Doli while Muslims used Palki in India, especially, in Awadh area of Uttar Pradesh.

Doli is simple and is usually decorated with ornaments and flowers while Palkki is roomier and has more intricate design with fine wood. the one my mom had was was stored in the far quarter of our house and which was later disposed of had sliding doors and was so beautifully crafted. i remember we used to play in there when we were kids. :)

no no....i'm at work...iA, i'll post at night. :)

Don’t work so hard. :snooty:

lol…i am NOT! begaarii bhii ek kaam hii hai…:smiley:

Key to a successful life these days, look busy do nothing :smiley: And believe you me you will look very busy replying to posts in gupshup :hehe:

true! vaise hii jaise jhooT itnaa bolo k sach lagne lage…Zardari et el are the champions! :cb:

is the doli tradition alive in rural Punjab?

Tera Mera Ik Jhagra, Alahh Aap Nabere,
Ve Lag Gaye Nain Awere,
Ranjhe Majhiyan Charaiiyaan, Doli Le Gaye Ne KheRe,
Tere Raah Ronde, Hanjhu Muk Gaye Ne Mere,
Jawan Sadke Mein Tere, Vehre Aa Varh Mere,
Tera Mera Ik Jhagra, Alahh Aap Nabere”

I dont think so. I have never really been to a rural wedding, but I have seen marriages in semi rural environments but the doli is missing. It was there two generations back (grand parents). In some cases the middle class urbaners use it as a cultural thing (from outside the wedding hall to inside it).