Does this offend you? Or would you not be offended at all?

Re: Does this offend you? Or would you not be offended at all?

Southie Uncle all your comments on my threads are valuable. Every word and every letter is so profound that it actually is a verbal painting rather than a comment.

You belong in the age of truth southie uncle this era is not as worthy of your pure views.

Take that back Uncle. :frowning: otherwise main yahan nahi aaongi. Aap mere dost the, hain aur hamesha rahenge.
It was not ignored Uncle. I wanted to reply to your other thread first and take my time with the response here. Aap ko koi ignore kar sakta hai kabhi..yeh asambhav hai. aap ka dil dhukane ke liye humein maaf kar dijiye..here is a phool. http://www.imagesbuddy.com/images/114/2013/12/friendship-is-to-people-what-sunshine-is-to-flowers.jpg

Shaasavera- this thread does seem to be agenda driven. I don’t understand it and I am pretty sure you don’t either at the conscious level. I am just trying to understand what made you ask this question. AND believe me, I love controversial threads. They are the life of GS. :smiley:

I guess it’s controversial in a hidden way. Based on a thread from elsewhere on GS. It’s all conscious. :slight_smile: ok i will reveal. Category A countries offer Pakistani passport holders visa on entry or no visa requirements to enter the country. Minus Sri Lanka but this is recent news. This is why they are a random selection of countries.
Category B countries do not offer that which is why UAE was put into category B.
KKF knows about it from this thread. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/643216-srilanka-cancels-visa-on-arrival-facility-for-pakistanis.html Now i think i was jokingly called an indian agent because category A countries are 3rd world countries unlike B. However, though that may be so they include islands with stunning views and Nepal has some breath-taking landscapes. I have some family living in Nepal and ive been there it’s a beautiful place.

Similarly maybe in looks people from those countries might need meet what might be considered the “ideal looks” according to desi standards but perhaps they have a heart of gold :slight_smile: So no reason to feel offended.
To reveal the above was my agenda.

It’s not much a revelation as it is a reminder. Not every individual of an entire race has a heart of gold, Savera. You may hear generalizations about cultures such as ‘the Arabs or Afghans are very hospitable’…“The Hispanics are a very warm culture”…etc etc. And I do feel there is some truth to these statements, however I don’t think they are sufficient to say that every person of a specific ethnic group has a ‘heart of gold.’ That’s a strong statement, one that can be determined only by interacting with the person/people. What you’re basically doing is applying the “Don’t judge a book by its cover” principal on a larger scale, in this case to various ethnic groups. It’s not a revelation, it’s a reminder. Without interaction, our first impressions of a person are based on their looks…it’s an innate behavior for us to be more attracted to some faces/looks more than others…determining personality and compatibility comes later, after interaction. What you’re saying is that a person we are not attracted to might have a heart of gold. Well, the same can apply to attractive people as well, they might have a good heart too. I dunno if you’re trying to get us to feel a strong or perhaps equal appreciation and acceptance for all peoples and it would be nice if we could do that…but I don’t think it’s a realistic or simple expectation. It’s idealistic, but not so simple as you make it sound because it requires both exposure and interaction with people as well as checking/monitoring our negative feelings or biases.

Also, it seems you’re trying to send the message that, "Don’t feel offended if someone assumes you are (insert nationality) because even though they may not be attractive according to society’s standards, the people of that ethnicity could have a ‘heart of gold’ and therefore you should view the association positively. Well, Savera, when someone correctly assumes that I’m Pakistani, I do not think “Yaaay, I have a heart of gold.” When someone assumes I’m Arab or Hispanic or Trinidadi…I don’t think, “Yay I’m associated with those who have hearts of gold.” Nor do I think, “Yay, India has beautiful landscapes and is a tourist hot-spot and home of Aishwarya Rai so I should be proud of being assumed an Indian.” Usually I just wonder what about my features led to the conclusion. And I think for many people, the thought process is not skin-deep, it is superficial…because its looks that are being discussed and not personality/character. Maybe someone else can express my thoughts more articulately and concisely. While your message does have some merit, I think it’s also a bit flawed.

Would it offend you if you were from Jupiter and someone mistook you as a Martian?

Are Jupitarians also aliens as those from mars? If they are of the species like all humans are then probably not. Offence is a strong word to use if someone makes a mistake. It’s not deliberate. One has to hate the thing for which they are mistaken to be offended. Not sure if Jupitarians hate Martians. Did Jupitars and Mars have a 1000 year war?

You do have a point and perhaps I am slightly naive and idealistic for the moment. I think offence is a strong word and i’ve seen it being used. I don’t think we have to love/like/feel proud of all associations but neither is it necessary to feel very offended. I guess first impressions depend on looks but what if someone has got to know you but not your background. Maybe just your personality/character through interactions with you at for eg. work or elsewhere in the community. What if based on those things they mistake you for another race rather than by just looks. Revelation in the way that im sure many people might not have been aware that Pakistanis get visa on entry at places like Haiti or Vanuatu. Though they may have known about Nepal. Not individuals of all races have hearts of gold but sometimes when we make assumptions about a person based on their background from what we have heard we limit ourselves. I guessed that perhaps countries in category A may have more negative stereotypes towards them as they are less known than category B. Or because category B countries are more well known and established/higher in the hierarchy people would have better feelings being associated with them then others.

Shaasavera, Southie and Redvelvet walk into a bar. The bartender cried as he raced out the door.

^ Yes we have the bar to ourselves for serious discussions.:biggthumb: No more haram activities in the bar. Take over time.:flower1::k:
imho the above comment wasn’t even that long. :slight_smile:
So, did Jupiter and Mars have a 1000 yr war or a bloody past? were the bartender’s tears of happiness or sadness?

Were you the bartender kaakay? Your lame joke is more of a tear inducer.

^if 3 of us were in a halal bar I would nominate myself as the mediator of the discussion between you and Southie as each of you articulated the religious and secular viewpoints. Interesting to think how personalities online would translate in an offline world.

I don’t know why people don’t like long comments. It indicates that someone has thought about the topic and gave an in depth answer. Sometimes you need to do that online because you can’t clarify yourself on the spot like you can with real life conversations.

Maybe the person making an assumption about your ethnicity is basing it on your features/appearance…on what they see…and not on what they’ve heard about your background. Chances are the person on the receiving end of the assumption is not thinking deeply about the background/landscaping/economic standing/world ranking/global perception and all that the assumed country and its people have to offer…as much as you would like for the individual to about these things. I think that often times it’s based on just our perceptions/preferences in terms of looks. Maybe you need to streamline because I feel like you’re all over the place with the topic. And knock yourself out with the nomination and election, I will be a no-show.

My apologies for the lame joke. Nothing personal.

I mean i was speaking generally not referring to myself specifically. What you say does make a lot of sense though.
I was just joking about the religion vs secularism discussion. There is much more to discuss of course. You don’t have to be a no-show. It could be a GS meetup with other people you’d want to associate with. I guess I was being presumptuous assuming something like that would happen.

:confused:

^ kya hua. I was just saying i shouldn’t have been presumptuous to think you would want to meet me and Southie as alluded to by Kakaballi.
I didn’t ask your permission so it’s wrong to assume that. I guess i can be all over the place.

Southie Uncle aap hum se khafa to nahi hain? this song is for u. i know you’re always supportive of my threads and comments :slight_smile: tere jaisaa yaar kahan..kahan aisa yaraana..tere sang likhna yahan..tere sang ban ho jana..jk about the ban part. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ie5YvDd4NFw

anyway my baji opened this thread. You should post your childhood pics also..right now few have posted. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images-central/643269-post-your-picture-when-you-were-a-kid.html

Agree..

Also many Pakistanis think being mistaken for Arab or Turkish means they’re fair.. There are dark (comparatively) Turks from the east of the country and darker Arabs which I would assume is what many Pakistanis are being mistaken for.. Similarly, there are some Nepalese people who look Indian rather than just Oriental..

You just volunteered for a Le Pak meme

as monk would say, please let your thing go now.