Does skin colour still equal social status?

I was at a Pakistani wedding recently with my wife. We were seated with what seemed to be a nice couple who were attending the ceremony along with their younger daughter and mother of the husband. Since there was not a lot to do before dinner was served, we were sitting idly, listening to the conservation this family was having. It seemed that they had an older daughter and they were on the lookout for a rishta for her. As we were sitting, the following conversation took place that really shocked us:

Husband’s Mother: Isn’t that Mr XXXXX and his family seated on the table to our right?

Wife: Yes, Ammi you are correct

Husband: Is that young man sitting with them their son?

Wife: yes, he is about to finish university. same age as our daughter.

Husband’s Mother: He is a bit too dark and the father also has a pretty dark skin colour.

Husband: Wonder if they are from the bride or groom’s side?.

Wife: I will go talk to them but I think they are just friends of the family of the Bride or groom, not related to them. The bride and groom both belong to very good/rich( khatay peetay) families .

We were pretty shocked and angry at these people for thinking that someone who is dark skinned cannot be possibly related to someone who is of a lighter skin tone and therefore must automatically belong to a not so good family. This is a disgusting trend that has developed in our society for people to assume the status of a family by skin colour. It might be true in Pakistan where the elites are mostly lighter skinned but people should not make this assumption in Europe and North America that dark skin must equal bad family background, as there are many educated people who have dark skin.

Re: Does skin colour still equal social status?

Wow I have heard of liking 'lighter' skin but never something like this............a total new low

It is pretty bad to assume those things.

But then again...and I am sorry for saying this...I am not surprised.

happens brah, nothing new, maybe you misunderstood? maybe they just didnt want the guy to be darker skinned cause they dont want their grand kids to be dark skinned?

otherwise jake's on them mukesh ambani is pretty dark skinned and hes like the 4th richest guy behind warren buffet?

if that was the case then I’d be a rich witch. :hoonh:

OKkkkk, well im not surprised.

My cousin is very dark, and im fair, so when people see us together they assume we are friends. we introduce each other as cousins, and people almost spit in shock. ??

My friend actually went up to my cousin and said omgggggggg i never woldve thought you were cousins, i mean, you look like a tamil....

its horrific. my cousin nearly cried. and my friend was duly slapped.

ok. i just realised my above paragraph didnt actually answer the question. lol.

right.

yes, unfortunatly the lighter you are, the better it is,it seems. but only in the asian community.

it is only in asian community. before moving to uk i lived in a country with very less asian community and i have never ever thought about skin colours and nor did any of my goray friends had any issues with skin colour. since i have moved to uk i realised how important is to have gora rang in our community. you are like a saint if you have proper white colour!

Oh Come'on! Dont tell me u guys r nt aware of how the africans were treated (still r in some cases) in US and other countries.

very sad.

They must be really backward thinking and unislamlic people. I've never heard such shocking statements.

There's no one more racist (not sure if this is the right term) than us Pakistanis. If someone is kaala, we actually nickname them kaalay. In our school we had a friend who was dark, and we called him Mohanty after that indian bowler who was really dark. Making fun of colour is so common that even he didn't mind. Also we had this other dark guy (who's also a friend btw) and we used to tell him yaar terey chehray pe bara noor hai. lol. It was all in good humour though.

gora rang bahtar samjhaa jaataa thaa/hai kiuN k gora saahab kii chamRii ka rang goraa thaa. goraa barr-e-saGheer se chalaa gayaa, ham jismaanii taur pe to aazaad ho gaye magar zehnii taur pe ham aaj bhii Ghulaam haiN...sad Hai'f...hazaar Hai'f!

I feel bad but then I dont feel bad.

We do this to ourselves. I am sanwali. I never had any issues with skin color until I hung out with desi people. Even sanwalay log themselves will go for girls with fairer complexions because of inferiority complexes.

Personally, I think its amazing how African skin barely ages. Have you seen many of them with wrinkles? They can be 50 years old and MIGHT get slight crows feet. Its all about what Allah swt gives you. He made them darker and gave them beautiful skin Mashallah.

I have to admit I have seen some black women who do NOT look their age at all, all factors aside, i think this race most of them age really well.

**true...as i said above we are still "zehni Ghulaam". ek gaanaa yaad aa gayaa:

jiskii biwi kaali uskaa bhii baRaa naam hai
maathe se lagaa lo Teeke kaa kia kama hai

ab i've to prove my point by practicing the notion. iA, i'll marry a "saNwali" or a "kaali" :)**