Does it feel odd?

*Originally posted by Sadiyah: *
I can never tell my relatives that 'mai un say internet par mili thee, kisi chatroom/msg board par'. People would right away assume that you have a lose character and it won't be long before all sorts of rumours will be spread throughout family and friends.
I think you have a point, but this will only apply if you are talking about yourself and probably in your family.

In my situation, it is a matter of how much can I vouch for the person I am recommending. Knowing someone only over the internet hardly qualifies for that. Or so it would seem.

Meeting people online is envogue. Lot of non-desi friends of mine have met their spouses, girl/boy-friends through match.com

Why does it matter how you meet someone as long as YOU are happy. Who cares what desis think!

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Does it feel odd?

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *

For all we know you might have sent Faisal tons of PMs.:o I have set up exactly one successful rishtha , actually that was just a recommendation on my part, my Ammi took it seriously ,and it actually happened.

So you are rishta auntie? :D

I have been accosted by "aunties" while attending weddings. Man o'man, they just don't let up! Now I just take a gori friend and tell them she is my fiance'. That works well.

Theres nothing wrong with introducing people to each other.Its not exactly 'rishtha massi.'

Luxy---I refuse to help you find a rishtha.:o MaiN sub ki rishtha aunty huN , except yours.

*Originally posted by Muslim_Queen: *
Theres nothing wrong with introducing people to each other.Its not exactly 'rishtha massi.'
Well, there are other names for this too.. .and "rishta massi" is perhaps not the worst. :-D

Faisal, i think you are just referring... and not asking them to marry... aage woh decide karein to meet and talk and see if they are suitable for each other...

Ofcourse! I have never referred anyone (yet) from GS or any online friendship. What I am musing about is, what if I do, and they ask me "sounds good. How did you meet this person?" and my response be "Err... from an online message board"... That kinda feels a bit odd, and doesn't seem to convey a very nice and comfy feeling to the listener. You see what I am saying?

^ Dont recommend anyone then, that you havent met in person at least anyway.

I guess it also depends on the type of family that your recommending too. How open minded they are, how cultural they are, etc.

Anyway if someone asks, I think better then saying of the net, just say you know them through a friend or something. Avoid the truth a little, if you have too.

hmmm well yeah people tend to raise eyebrow when you say you just know them from internet... but waise bhi most of the rishtey are from people who have met someone like in ages or just know ki falan falan ka larka/larki is eligible for marriage so baat chala di...

so in my opinion you should start thinking of referring someone you know from web world (kya pata mera bhi number lag jaye kabhi :p)