Does Islam permit Art, Music etc.

Dear All,

Please throw some light on this issue. I remember a few years back an English daily in India decided to publish good inspirational tales from various religions/faiths for Kids. These stories were accompanied by beautiful illustrations.

One story was about Prophet Mohammed and Abu Bakr. Next day of its publication, local Muslims protested and editors decided to withdraw entire concept of publishing religious tales.

Re: Does Islam permit Art, Music etc.

what Islam doesn't prohibit specifically, it permits. .. again my participation in the thread (I can already see where it's headed) is to defend the Qur'an against the allegations and mistranslations of lahv-al-hadees as 'Music'.

excellent threads with a lot of info on this topic have been discussed and can be found using the search facility. take a look and then note any specific questions :)

merci

No it is not headed towards "cartoon controversy" if that's what you imply. I asked this question because when Taleban controlled Afghanistan they banned all such things. Was that Islamic ?

Taleban did not follow Islamic Laws properly.

Yaar sawaal seedha sa hai..gana bajana...painting karna allowed hai ya nahin. Agar haan to Prophet Mohammed ki achchi see tasveer banane main kya harz hai.

How can you make a potrait of someone you have never seen?

The reason why potraits (especially of our Prophet) are discouraged, is because it can lead to shirk (i.e. by worshipping the potrait). You might end up doing what the hindoos do - worshipping idols/images (deities) instead of God himself. What is the purpose of having an image of our Prophet?

Yes, both (music & arts) are permitted. One may be discouraged, but not forbidden. But you cannot simply just make up a random image and claim that its our Prophet Muhammed.

Use search option. The question(s) have been thorougly discussed before.

harj ye hai ke log us tasweer ki vaisi pooja paat karnay lagayn gai jaisay Hindu buto-N ki kartay hayn, ya Esaai '+' ki kartay hayn.

No, it does NOT, because its kind of harm in islam, to listen to music.
the punishment for this is that on last day, you will be putted a glass rod in your ears form 1 side to the other. through your face.

:eek:

:omg: :omg: :omg:
glass rod? sorry dude, but can you referrence this?

By the way, this has already been discussed previously:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=201290

so why do the sell cd's in all the countries that are supposedly islamic? just sheer hypocracy. these people just make up rules and go find some suitable reference. I don't believe anything any so called holy men say about what is and is not allowed. because it is abundantly clear they have no idea and it is huge racket.

architecture is an art form. should all buildings with the beautiful moghul architecture be razed?

should all arabic channels that play music be banned? because all of them do? oh that'd also mean none of the muslims can watch any tv channes inc cnn. is anyone rdy to chuck the tv?

wonder what sudden and inspired references these guys will come up for cloning, genetically modified crops etc.

Nobody can use windows because it starts with music. no ipods, no radios, no movies, no dvds, no cd's. no nothing.

some genius will come up and ban omar khayam also ...afterall poetry is an art form too.

either ban everything except food clothing and thatched roof shelter or declare the whole wide world to be a bunch of sinners.

ps. I just noticed that thers is a section called islamic arts in GS itself.

as-Salam-u Alaikum
I have done extensive research on the subject using the Quran since I used to compose music myself in the past. The Quran is absolutely silent on the suject of music and art.

When it comes to Sunnah, there are numerous traditions of music and art being forbidden, but several scholars including Tamanna Imadi have questioned many such traditions and sayings claiming them to be Za'eef.

It is how you use this art of yours is what is in question. If music is only about superfluous infatuation with subjects of imaturity, that is what one should look out for. Otherwise, music to raise awareness of something, or for betterment of society, or even just as a form of expression is NOT forbidden in the eyes of Allah.

Ma'Salam wa Rahmatullah

^ you may have done extensive research but all those mullahs claiming all kinds of nonsense about arts music and everything are also claiming the same thing. who is in power?

http://www.inter-islam.org/Prohibitions/Mansy_music.htm

Music is expressly prohibited in many Ahaadith. Among the dominant purposes of our beloved Prophet (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) was to destroy musical
instruments. (Mishkat vol.2).

They are in power because it is the ignorance of the masses that lets them stay in power…

The Quran specifically prescribes to verifying information:

17:36
ولا تقف ما ليس لك به علم إن السمع والبصر والفؤاد كل أولئك كان عنه مسءولا
And you shall not be content with (and follow blindly) any information of which you have no direct knowledge. (Using your faculties of perception and conception you must verify it for yourself.) In the Court of your Lord, you will be held accountable for your hearing, sight, and the faculty of reasoning.

Taqfu comes from the root QFF which means to stop at or be content with.

Most people do not even verify information coming from many of the mullas and are content with any information they are provided… that is the root cause of the problem.

khanbabax,
Our dear prophet could not have contradicted the Quran or have gone in excess of what is demanded by Allah:

81:24
وما هو على الغيب بضنين
And he withholds not in secret the least bit of the Revelation.

4:87
الله لا إله إلا هو ليجمعنكم إلى يوم القيمة لا ريب فيه ومن أصدق من الله حديثا
Allah! There is no god but He. He will summon all of you on the Day of Resurrection about the advent of which there is no doubt. Who can tell you a more reliable HADITH (saying) than Allah?

Many of the traditions are Za’eef. People still follow them blindly.

Please stop being one of those for whom the Quran says:
وجدنا عليها ءاباءنا والله أمرنا بها

And in case someone still has doubts:

7:184
أولم يتفكروا ما بصاحبهم من جنة إن هو إلا نذير مبين
Has it never occurred to them that there is no madness whatsoever in their fellow-man (or rather, there is no hidden deception in what he says - Djinnatu refers to madness as well as hiding something, such as for intent of deceit)? He (the prophet) has lived a whole life among you (refer to 10:16). He is only a plain Warner.

7:185
أولم ينظروا في ملكوت السموت والأرض وما خلق الله من شيء وأن عسى أن يكون قد اقترب أجلهم فبأي حديث بعده يؤمنون
Can they not see (and correlate what he tells them with) the Dominion of the heavens and the earth and what Allah has created? Does it ever occur to them that the end of their own life may be near (hence the time to make the right decisions is not unlimited)? What HADITH besides it (the Qur’an,) are they going to believe after him?

فبأي حديث بعده of 7:185 is pointing back to والذين كذبوا بءايتنا in 7:182 since the context (مفهوم) is still continuing throughout these verses and there is nothing disjoint...

The Quran is not silent on things such as adultry, and yet it is silent on things like music. There is a reason for this, for music used to achieve ends that are non-sincere or are for selfish purposes, or meant for commiting evil, is wrong...

Many thanks for letting me contribute after a long time... Music is not evil. Those who compose music should listen loud and clear. If they are sincere to their expression, they are doing NOTHING wrong!

Ma'Salam wa Rahmatullah