Re: Does Bollywood incite sexual violence in India?
Can't say whether bollywood directly incites sexual violence, but it does draw a distorted picture of women.
Example:
The item songs (especially the current trend): You will see one woman in skimpy/tight clothes, dancing on a sexually suggestive song, alone among tons of (mailey/drunk looking) males, making sexually suggestive moves and hand/face/body signs. The males all over and around her, drooling like dogs and touching her here and there. Which the woman seems to enjoy.
I don't know, but this does sends wrong signals about females.
Agree with kakabali. It's a combination of different factors and I do believe that Bollywood is partly to blame for the way society is conditioned to objectify women. The other factors, in my opinion, include the weak legal system, prevalence of bribe, no serious/long-term consequences (in most cases), attitude of law enforcement agents and politicians toward the rape victim (for seducing the rapist), lack of education at home about human rights/gender equality/anger management, everyday struggles that the common person faces and has no other outlets to take it out on, and a conservative society where single girls are afraid of getting pregnant and may resist intimacy with their boyfriend/fiance, etc.
Bollywood doesn't promote or justify rape, but I think it awakens peoples' sexuality and teases people with the idea of the bombshell babe they could be enjoying. Remember the movie Munna Bhai MBBS? Such a sweet, innocent movie, right? Remember the dying Muslim dude whose last wish was to have sex, and viola, then we have a call girl in the hospital who spends the night, no problem. Another gem of a song, dekh le aankhon main aankhen daal dekh le. And nope, she isn't really talking about her eyes.
You can't really compare Bollywood with those raunchy hollywood videos and say that if those don't provoke people to commit a sin then bollywood shouldn't be blamed either. Case in point, in western societies, there are real consequences of such a crime and while sex of all kinds is considered acceptable, everyone is taught about the importance of mutual consent and the age of consent. Plus, most people aren't opposed to the idea of sex before marriage, so if one girl refuses, there is another one at the bar that you can try your luck with. So in that case then the videos alone are not as harmful as their counterparts in Bollywood are.
It's multifaceted; so many factors are at play such as upbringing, incompetent law enforcement, etc, etc. But media is definitely one of them. I agree with Xtron and Le Pak. Each time I would pass by the title of this thread while scrolling the forum, I would answer the question to myself in the affirmative, "YES,Bollywood is partly to blame. It is not the the only reason or factor, but it is definitely one of them." The B'wood heroines will passionately speak out against the rapes, but they will not hesitate to do item numbers."
Those people who are saying that B'wood does not deserve any blame at all and that men should use their own sense, why would such people then hesitate to let their daughters and sisters leave the homes in clothes that are revealing or very form-fitting? It is because common sense tells you that you cannot trust others, that you cannot rely 100% on others to use their aqal and zameer, so the women have a responsibility in portraying themselves in a way that does not draw as much attention and especially the kind that is dangerous. It might be flattering, in a way, to be stared/ogled at....but this reaction does not come uncensored....it will not screen out the more decent guys from the animals and keep the latter at bay.
Movies, music videos.....they play a role in creating and establishing trends. These trends are not just limited to fashion and cars and technology. Trends also include things like attitudes, values, images etc. Even young children will not only make light of disturbing celebrity behaviors, they will also try to emulate celebrity behaviors and attitudes. For people who think that the media does not have any impact on people's attitudes, values, moods....you have got to be kidding yourself. It's very catching. It takes just one movie to produce an item song.....and soon enough....other directors will follow ....and one day it becomes more than a trend, it is treated like a rule/law that a movie should have an item number. The more that something is repeated over and over, with the passage of time the viewers adopt a more relaxed attitude about things. Jo cheez aap k saamnay roz hoti hai, waqt k saath you can become careless about it.
Now to clarify, I don't mean that B'wood movies encourage rape. But they do titillate and arouse and they encourage a laxity in not just sexual attitudes but in how people should think behave. While rape is not being promoted, bayhayaai is promoted.
I don't see how bollywood can be blamed for some jaahils not knowing how to be human.
Like so many hiphop songs are very sexual...and the videos are even crazier...are we going to blame them now if a woman in North America gets raped?
Sex is all over the Western media and rapes happen North America as well. But consider that North America has a more competent law enforcement than India/Pak, etc. Also consider that rape victims in North America are not treated like a social stigma as they are in the Asian subcontinent. These things make a difference, Aaliya.
So, you are right that Bollywood shouldn't receive ALL the blame; that wouldn't be fair. But Bollywood does indeed deserve some of the blame.
I somewhat disagree with the point that movie-makers sell what the masses want. It is true in a sense. But on the other hand it's like saying that those in control of the media are majboor. And that's not always true. Many times the current, popular trends are started by those in power (celebrities etc). They start wearing something, or doing something.....(from fashion, to cell phones, to twerking).....and it becomes all the rage. Sometimes even the negative attention that the celebs receive can have a completely oolta (opposite) effect on impressionable minds...in the sense that even the celebrities' scandalous behaviors will be thought as "cool" and put into practice.
An example that comes into mind is that lately there has been a string of music videos and music performances showcasing symbols of the occult/satanism. This is seen even in the lyrics. And you have high school students who are getting into the occult because they see people like Katy Perry, Beyonce, Jay-Z making such things seem "cool."
Those who think that media (be it Hollywood or Bollywood or whatever) has no effect on society's attitudes ....are kidding themselves and maybe they're too attached to the movies and their favorite celebs...to think otherwise.
The original post / article appears to lay all the blame on Bollywood. As Mr. Kaka and others have pointed out, there may be multitude of factors at play. A repressive (read conservative) Society, and non unifform application of law are some as Kaka points out.
Within India the incidence of rape varies. Probably based on whether law and orrder is given importance.
To put ALLthe blame on Btown is what some may be "particularly sensitive" to?
Good upbringing, common sense, good character comes first. If a person has these then such item numbers will never provoke a person to commit such a terrible crime. Someone who is guilty of rape can easily say i have been watching films and item numbers and thus i committed the crime. Will his act be justified? Not that i am in favour of cheap movies/vulgar songs or they should be made. The makers will make what ever they want to make. But each individual should know what is right and what is wrong. Tons of people here on GS and in personal lives whom you and i know watch Bollywood a lot. Have they committed any such act?
Within India the incidence of rape varies. Probably based on whether law and orrder is given importance.
You're quite right about this. I read an article about this recently which stated that the southern states of India have a significantly lower crime rate than northern India (the areas around Delhi were cited to have an especially high crime rate, particularly violence against women) and less than half of the number of reported rape cases.
Good upbringing, common sense, good character comes first. If a person has these then such item numbers will never provoke a person to commit such a terrible crime. Someone who is guilty of rape can easily say i have been watching films and item numbers and thus i committed the crime. Will his act be justified? Not that i am in favour of cheap movies/vulgar songs or they should be made. The makers will make what ever they want to make. But each individual should know what is right and what is wrong. Tons of people here on GS and in personal lives whom you and i know watch Bollywood a lot. Have they committed any such act?
Yes, good upbringing comes first. While Islam condemns rape, it also admonishes to lower one's gaze and to dress in a decent manner. In other words, Islam has placed a responsibility on EVERYONE to do their own part.
Is it so hard or painful for some people to admit bayhayaaii when they see it....or is there a strong emotional attachment to Aishwarya's, Kareena's , Deepika's scantily clad thoomkay and breast thrusts?
Another example to consider is that all of us have been raised by our parents not to lie....not to gossip....not to cheat. But many of us have lied and gossiped and cheated from time to time. This is because human nature is weak....despite a strong upbringing. Yes, Blessed Bhai/Behn, you are right that a rapist cannot blame his crime on Sheila and her jawani and Badnaam Munni. But at the same time, you cannot say that achi tarbiyat/parvarish hi kaafi hai and let the spread of bayhayaayi continue in other ways.
And fikar not. Aap apni B'wood ki filmain arram se dekhtay rahain. Nobody is calling you a rapist for doing so.
You should read the comments on the website, Pinkvilla if you haven’t already. The members will make bold comments that falan actress is such a great mother…such a devoted bahu…such a good human being…is so innocent…as if the fans actually live in the homes of these celebs or …the heroine/hero is their mamu ki aulaad…or they can look inside their hearts to know with such certainty k kaun kitna masoom, naik, shareef hai. And they can get nasty with other users who don’t hold the same high regard for their beloved celebs.
the whole culture of the indo-gangetic cowbelt is such that the honor of the family resides on the person/sexuality of the female members of families and society in general. this is just the perfect setup for rapists both socially sanctioned and otherwise. bollywood is but another product of this culture, and not the cause of it.
Yes, good upbringing comes first. While Islam condemns rape, it also admonishes to lower one's gaze and to dress in a decent manner. In other words, Islam has placed a responsibility on EVERYONE to do their own part.
Is it so hard or painful for some people to admit bayhayaaii when they see it....or is there a strong emotional attachment to Aishwarya's, Kareena's , Deepika's scantily clad thoomkay and breast thrusts?
Another example to consider is that all of us have been raised by our parents not to lie....not to gossip....not to cheat. But many of us have lied and gossiped and cheated from time to time. This is because human nature is weak....despite a strong upbringing. Yes, Blessed Bhai/Behn, you are right that a rapist cannot blame his crime on Sheila and her jawani and Badnaam Munni. But at the same time, you cannot say that achi tarbiyat/parvarish hi kaafi hai and let the spread of bayhayaayi continue in other ways.
And fikar not. Aap apni B'wood ki filmain arram se dekhtay rahain. Nobody is calling you a rapist for doing so.
Redvelvet dear islam certainly has placed "a responsibility on EVERYONE to do their own part" but at the same time one cannot blame the other person/party "oh he/she did not do his/her responsibility so she/he is all to blame. There are lots of porn and adult channels on net and tv. You cant watch them, do something bad and simply blame them. And for such channels and stuff do you contact their producers to stop showing stuff or you keep yourself/your family away from such things. And if one does such creepy stuff then they were not a good person to begin with. And as for your 'emotional attachment' statement well it has nothing to do with me being a bolly fan. I will say the same for chinese, turkish etc film industries and i am not even a fan or have any interest. I think you did not properly or ignored it but any how no one can call me a rapist because i watch bolly item numbers but i dont go out do creepy stuff (u believe that or not is your thinking and opinion). For me if a person is good from inside then nothing can influence /provoke/affect him or her.
I think you did not properly or ignored it but any how no one can call me a rapist because i watch bolly item numbers but i dont go out do creepy stuff (u believe that or not is your thinking and opinion). For me if a person is good from inside then nothing can influence /provoke/affect him or her.
I think you didn't understand..the point of this thread. Ok..for beginners..we all agree that sex sells. This is well known fact. Be it in Hollywood or Bollywood. But more so, bollywood have left behind hollywood in that arena. Here is a thing, when you sell sex on the tv or even idea that..women or woman dancing front of sex hungry male dancers..dieing to touch her...sends wrong signal to mind of young people. Whether person acts on it or not is not the point of argument. The point is, bollywood as a media is to blame for society ills. Solution?..well there is no solution..they can show whatever they want i can care less..but just take some of the blame for increasing promiscuity in the society.
Agree with kakabali. It's a combination of different factors and I do believe that Bollywood is partly to blame for the way society is conditioned to objectify women. The other factors, in my opinion, include the weak legal system, prevalence of bribe, no serious/long-term consequences (in most cases), attitude of law enforcement agents and politicians toward the rape victim (for seducing the rapist), lack of education at home about human rights/gender equality/anger management, everyday struggles that the common person faces and has no other outlets to take it out on, and a conservative society where single girls are afraid of getting pregnant and may resist intimacy with their boyfriend/fiance, etc.
Bollywood doesn't promote or justify rape, but I think it awakens peoples' sexuality and teases people with the idea of the bombshell babe they could be enjoying. Remember the movie Munna Bhai MBBS? Such a sweet, innocent movie, right? Remember the dying Muslim dude whose last wish was to have sex, and viola, then we have a call girl in the hospital who spends the night, no problem. Another gem of a song, dekh le aankhon main aankhen daal dekh le. And nope, she isn't really talking about her eyes.
You can't really compare Bollywood with those raunchy hollywood videos and say that if those don't provoke people to commit a sin then bollywood shouldn't be blamed either. Case in point, in western societies, there are real consequences of such a crime and while sex of all kinds is considered acceptable, everyone is taught about the importance of mutual consent and the age of consent. Plus, most people aren't opposed to the idea of sex before marriage, so if one girl refuses, there is another one at the bar that you can try your luck with. So in that case then the videos alone are not as harmful as their counterparts in Bollywood are.
I think you didn't understand..the point of this thread. Ok..for beginners..we all agree that sex sells. This is well known fact. Be it in Hollywood or Bollywood. But more so, bollywood have left behind hollywood in that arena. Here is a thing, when you sell sex on the tv or even idea that..women or woman dancing front of sex hungry male dancers..dieing to touch her...sends wrong signal to mind of young people. Whether person acts on it or not is not the point of argument. The point is, bollywood as a media is to blame for society ills. Solution?..well there is no solution..they can show whatever they want i can care less..but just take some of the blame for increasing promiscuity in the society.
I very well understood the point of this thread and i still stand by my original opinion/views. Lol i never had any such wrong signals while watching such dance acts so dont know what other people have in their minds while watching such acts or perhaps they have a dirty mind anyway. Anyhow everyone is entitled to their opinion.
Bollywood is not the cause ... Bollywood is the symptom of a disrupted society.
The reason for Bollywood doing what it does is because of ratings ... People drive Bollywood not necessarily the other way round ...dramas have a greater impact.
The true cause for the sexual violence is on the following levels:
a) Partial preservation of ancient culture and modernity adoption
b) Internet creating deprivation
c) Secularism and godlessness
d) Law enforcement or lack thereof
e) Consumerism
f) Education and Cast System
Some of the anchors of the past that were part of society have been removed ... People do not have an inherent sense of right and wrong and they are beginning to do things that they feel they can get away with rather than not doing them out of a sense of morality or self-control or out of respect or desire to protect the vulnerable.
The Hindus of today lack religiosity and despite modern education they have had the moral carpet swept from under them ...
I very well understood the point of this thread and i still stand by my original opinion/views. **Lol i never had any such wrong signals while watching such dance acts **so dont know what other people have in their minds while watching such acts or perhaps they have a dirty mind anyway. Anyhow everyone is entitled to their opinion.
Just because YOU personally did not feel any negative effects from the dance acts doesn't mean that others are going to also have the same reactions. Even if you know others within your social circle that didn't get "wrong signals" doesn't mean that everyone else will also be the same.
Theek hai....maana tum Bollywood k bahut passionate fan ho.....par kya tum itnay baray fan ho k tum yeh bhi nahi maan saktay k the picturization and lyrics of some songs is baykhuda? I don't care that they never sent you wrong signals. Can you at least admit that the picturization and lyrics of some songs is baykhuda? If you can admit that yes, some of them are baykhuda........mu next question to you is kya in ka hona zaroori/sahi hai....ya ghalat hai? Kya society ko in se faida mil raha hai ya nuqsaan k chances hain? And if you are going to say that there is absolutely no problem at all in having such item numbers...like un main bilkul koi kharabi nahi hai.....then you value your entertainment more than common sense. And IF you admit that raunchy item numbers are not "right"........I want you to tell me why you think it's not right. Things that are generally seen as morally "not right"...are those that are nuqsaan-deh for ourselves and others. Jin kaamon se mana kia gaya hai....(cheating, stealing, etc etc)...it's mainly because they are harmful for us on an individual level and societal level.