Docs

“The question is, ‘Do I have a God complex?’ Which makes me wonder if this… lawyer… has any idea as to the kind of grades one has to receive in college to be accepted at a top medical school. If you have the vaguest clue as to how talented someone has to be to lead a surgical team. I have an M.D. from Harvard. I am board certified in cardio-thoracic medicine and trauma surgery. I have been awarded citations from seven different medical boards in New England, and I am never, ever, sick at sea. So I ask you: When someone goes in to that chapel and they fall on their knees and they pray to God that their wife doesn’t miscarry, or that their daughter doesn’t bleed to death, or that their mother doesn’t suffer acute neural trauma from post-operative shock, who do you think they’re praying to? Now, you go ahead and read your Bible… Dennis, and you go to your church, and with any luck you might win the annual raffle, but if you’re looking for God, He was in operating room number two on November seventeenth, and He doesn’t like to be second guessed. You ask me if I have a God complex? Let me tell you something. I am God.” - Alec Baldwin as Dr. Jed Hill, from the movie Malice

Anyone agree? :hehe:

I know all the med students I live with feel pretty superior…:bukbuk:

Re: Docs

Originally posted by RajputFury: *
... the kind of grades one has to receive in college to be accepted at a top medical school ... I have an M.D. from Harvard ... Let me tell you something. I am God.

Based on my experience, this phannay khaani is not limited to doctors alone. :-)

Re: Re: Docs

:hehe: well said Faisa bhai…in my experiences certain members of the med. community have taken it to the bext level.

It is called social darwanism and the fittest survive and excel. There is no shame in that. Pray that the next generation makes it.

or your fathers fat checkbook :rolleyes:

Talking Darwinism to the extreme, I can personally kill that Doc (proclaiming to be God), now what does that tell you?

^ that tells me you would kill on eperson but the greater numbers would not be affected. Social not individual darwanism.

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
^ that tells me you would kill on eperson but the greater numbers would not be affected. Social not individual darwanism.

Darwinism nonetheless :)

And what makes think I can't be a genocidal, killing machine? :D

RF where are you heading with this argument?

*Originally posted by hmcq: *
RF where are you heading with this argument?

HMCQ ji, honestly I don't know :)

Basically this was a product of spending a day being ticked off in the company of Docs who had reiterate their self importance. I don't care if it's darwinism or not but no member of any profession should have the right to act in a pompous manner.

RF, have you tried dealing with the Goldman M&A team. They will make orthopedic surgeons look like nuns.

Well RF, speaking personally I don't think us Docs have delusions of divinity, superiority over the rest of the "awam" yes..divinity no:P

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
RF, have you tried dealing with the Goldman M&A team. They will make orthopedic surgeons look like nuns.

Can't say I have, but this "God" complex is somewhat more justified with docs than some number juggling paper pushers :D

*Originally posted by Zakk: *
Well RF, speaking personally I don't think us Docs have delusions of divinity, superiority over the rest of the "awam" yes..divinity no:P

Not saying all Docs are this way, just a large vocal minority. Both my parents are docs, so I have seen the good side too..