Do you worry...

Re: Do you worry...

depends.. who are 'the people' around me... if its my immediate family.. yes..
....rest? No.... its impossible to please some people... no matter what you do, they will always demand for more and more and more.....

nooopee. minus my favorites. omg i play favoritesss.

no, it depends on the person

I agree I care about how it will impact my family and friends but random aunties etc I don't care about. I am not the type to worry about what others will say most of the time. Although I don't usually do things that might be questionable.

I only care about a few people around me and how they think of me ... these people know me genuinely to know where i am coming from even when i do something stupid ... everyone else i'm not too concerned about ... cuz honestly u can never keep everyone happy

sama here

So far what we have can be summarized as:

Some do not worry or even care. Some worried for selective people's perception. Some worry for everyone.

In general everyone should 'care' about how one is being perceived by others since we are considered 'social animals'. Weather we do something about it or not depends on individual basis.

Being 'worried' could be based on what is being perceived (very bad) and who is having opinion about you (relatives/close friends).**

'Worrying' about everyone's opinion is not healthy and not 'caring' for anyone's opinion about you is also abnormal.**

I dont know.

I dont like the notion of worrying about what someone thinks of my outfit.

I dont like having to worry about others' perceptions of right and wrong because sadly in desi culture...we believe our culturemore than our religion. Its just how we are...

Like my friend's saas had a fit because she took a shower right after she came home with the baby. She was apparently supposed to stay dirty for 7 or 8 days...and since she showered before...her saas read extra namazein to make sure ke kuch ulta seedha na ho. Aisa kahan likha huwa hai ke larki 8 din tak nahin naha sakti? Yuck!

Depends who we're talking about - family, friends, extended family, acquaintances, outsiders...

But for the most part - no.

Very nice and humble Reha! :)

And everyone concerned about your outfit may not be worthy of you being worried about their opinion, but you will still be curious as to why and may 'care' for it. Right?

About desi culture, yes it has many weird thoughts and practices. Just like many non-desi weird thoughts and practices.

( that custom is called 'chati'-the sixth day, when the woman takes shower. I think in older days, women who took shower early were thought to develop infectious diseases more so than those who did not. Women who died of 'puerperal sepsis', and water was considered as source of infection which could be true in those days. So they made women wait at least six days before taking shower)

If your friend took shower then it goes with her doing the right thing. Touche to yuck!!

But she should not 'worry' about it. Still she can 'care' for it by either hiding from her saas she took shower ;)

or

try to explain it is a silly custom. Whatever can work in her situation.

Kya matlab hai apka? :konfused:

Okay, I understand your explanation lekin this phenomenon of “log kya kahenge” is so ingrained in our culture that I guess after a while…I stopped worrying. Yes, I care when I think my actions might impact someone else’s life in a negative way but thats about it now. Maybe Im jaded? Maybe Ive just seen too much of the “log kya kahenge” that I do exactly what I want but dont make a show out of it. I dont know. I just think that logon ka kya hai…unko agar aap sar pe bithalein tab bhi vo kuch na kuch zaroor kahenge. :slight_smile:

I think it was Mabrook who said it once perfectly to someone…it made so much sense and I never forgot it. Dharley se raho aur sirf apni karo…koi agar baatein banaye to muskurake aagay barjao.

Of course, this doesnt mean be obnoxious…it means live your life happily and dont let other peoples’ opinions cause you to lose sleep. Do your best but dont expect the world to think the best of you…because 1) you cannot control them and 2) they’re not your problem.

I just think that people pleasers end up being so unhappy all the time…is it really worth it?

I dont but wife does and since she is boss of the house I have to......

That was the comment on bold part of your post. ‘**I don’t know’. **Not many people say it.

Agree.

If one does the right thing, then one should be confident and not be worried about others.

But

At times we all should keep the door open to correct ourselves or learn to change and should at least care about other people’s opinion enough to ponder or pause for a second.

If still we find ourselves right, then just ignore.

See, as I said ealrier, we are social animals and cannot just not even care for other’s opinion altogether.

“Dharale Se Rehna” is good, it keeps the sanity and confidence intact but it can eventually hurt not being able to conform.

Anyhow I agree with you on broader aspect. :slight_smile:

Perhaps you actually do.

At least worry about her opinion. Not so bad. :hehe:

Admitting your mistakes is different. Of course you should have the ability to correct yourself or apologize where you're wrong.

I just feel that in our culture it gets a little too much...there should be a limit for everything.

I do and i wish i didnt :(

worry no... not at all.

When you lose important people just because those around can't put a stop to their gossiping tongues, you start to care what others are saying.

That is very difficult situation indeed.

Important people but gossiping-meaning they are important to you but criticising for no reason. :(

May be it is better to care but still not be 'worried' at all.

This is called conforming to situation.