consider the surroundings too? I once saw a girl wearing capris entering lums mosque with a dupatta on her head. Naturally, she drew some judgemental looks as it was jumma time.
Do you change your dressing according to the place? Like for example people who live abroad, do they suddenly start wearing desi clothes when they are here in pakistan?
Hmmm I have always had a whacky dress sense theres always something about me that has to be martial aside from that I try to keep myself dressed in a manner that does not cause too much controversy.
However when not in a proffesional setting then I prefer to wear loose clothes ideally Salwar Kameez or fringed Tribal attire. :)
masjid ka apna ehtaraam hai aur cukture ka bhi...no matter how much i want to wear something if it is not suited to the culture or the place i wont wear it
i wear capris all the time here...and im ok with wearing them desi style in pakistan....not ok with wearing them in a masjid or namaaz e janaaza
i wear jeans at home in pakistan ...sometimes capri style jeans too but when i go out in Pak i always wear shalwar kameez
so yes i feel like culture, jagah wageyra ka ehtaraam hona chaahiye
I dont beleive a woman from my household would ever wear such a clothes, theres nothing wrong with them as such, but its just not something our culture has accepted. I as you can probably tell am fiercely conservative in some respects.
but people do that right? Capris are so 'in' in pakistan.. Gone are the days of conservative looks and all. but not every one can pull off a capri to be honest! some look so weird in it!
nahi not everyone can pull off a capri…my cousin looks weird in it and meri maami ne usski bohot besti ki thi…she was like stop trying to be like llxxll she’s slim and stylish and u look hideous with capris…u look like a pendu trying to look maadran… my cousin hates me now thanks to my maami ji’s wonderful ability to make insulting comparisons
but capris are “in” in pakistan and i wear them all the time except to mosques or religious gatherings
Though I’m a hijabi and I’m always trying to dress modestly wherever I go, but entering into a Mosque, I take extra precaution. Meaning if I must wear pants than I will have something covering me up to my knees. I also don’t like to wear heels to a Mosque. But when I’m out with friends, I don’t mind wearing 5’ heels.
I also watch the colors I wear depending on the location. Like we went out to an upscale restaurant last night, it’s not a place to wear bright colors or anything gaudy.
In Pakistan I usually wear western clothes, because I find that with a hijab you get a much neater/ finished look than trying to make proper hijab(not dupetta) work with shalwar kameez, easily you can start looking like an aunty
m kinda upset about it cuz that cousin was one of my bestfriends and now she isnt anymore....sorry my bitterness about that is what came out in that post
The WEIRDEST example I've seen was during Eid namaz.....which took place on the fairgrounds..this huge open field-like area. Anyhow...this woman arrives with a dupatta on her head and a long dress. BUT...the dress had spaghetti straps and the back of the dress (due to the straps) was cut pretty low. As a result you could see ALL of the back of her bra.....and so much of her BACK whenever she turned around. And from the front, you saw her bare shoulders and arms. What made it even weirder was that she came with a group of people...looked the same race as her...who were dressed according to Islamic guidelines. You would think that people who came with her (and they seemed like family) would help her dress according to the environment. I couldn't figure out if the woman was just THAT cluess or if she was mocking the situation.
Yeah it totally depends on what situation your in to wear whichever clothes. If my inlaws come round r we go to relatives houses then I wear a shalwar kameez but saying that they have seen me in jeans etc. they're quite easy about stuff like that.
And if we go out to wherever you have to dress appropriately like say for example you go out with your girls/husband for a nice meal you dress up nicely but if you're just going cinema then you dress like just normal clothes lol I've seen people DRESS up for the cinema!