Do you support Muslim and/or Pakistani businesses?

I was out running an errand and my BIL came along to keep me company. As I was paying at the cash, he was staring intently at something behind the counter. When I later asked him what he was looking at, he said he noted Arabic script on a sign and was trying to confirm if the store was owned by a Muslim person.

I asked why it mattered and he said if he had a choice between two stores where he could take his business, he would prefer to go to a Muslim or Pakistani owned store, even if he had to go a little further out of his way.

I personally look for convenience, but his comment gave me food for thought.

So how about others, do you make an effort to support Muslim or Pakistani-owned businesses?

Re: Do you support Muslim and/or Pakistani businesses?

I do make the effort to support a Pakistani/ Middle Eastern or Muslim owned business, however, many times I have noticed most of them are just incapable of running a business to begin with ( at least in the Pittsburgh area).

A new restaurant just opened here, the owner shifted from Lahore about a year ago. So my dad and I went out to lunch, and you will not believe how much the total was: for daal, chicken korma, and 4 naans. Around $60. Sorry, besides the naan ( unbelievably delicious ) this was so not worth it. He's charging double the price compared to restaurants which are established for 10 years.

But on the contrary, there is an amazing Middle Eastern grocery store around the corner, and I always buy my frozen naans from him.

So ya I would love to support as long as they can run their business properly.

Well if I have to choose between both then I'll go for a Pakistani/Muslim store if they are on an equal distance . But I won't go out of my way to purchase something from there . Usually I do have to as if you have to get meat and all mirch misalay , then you can't get them from Winco or Walmart .

Btw in our community its a big thing to support local businesses . So people prefer to pay extra few bucks but eat at local restaurant or go to a local store .

100%

as far as desi groceries are concerned, if there is an option available in the city to choose from either, defintely prefer a pakistani/muslim store. I find they are better stocked in halal items so its more convenient for me, pakistani stores also carry more of their own products and brands so its good to support and encourage their business.

if there's nothing else around then yes, i'll go to a pakistani/muslim store,

i agree. i’ve noticed that most pakistani/muslim owned business are incapable of running their business, and the quality of their customer service is horrible.

my mom recently went to our local halal meat/desi store, and she happened to mention that the last time she got keema from them, it had a bad smell to it. the butcher says to her ‘well, no one else has complained to us..you can go to some other store if you want’ :eek: really? and then he goes on to tell her that she shouldn’t complain about it because the other customers will hear her, and won’t come back to their store again. idiots. :rolleyes:

another pet peeve of mine is when desi stores don’t take debit/credit when your purchase is less than a certain amount. because apparently it’ll cost them more to pay visa/mastercard, then to accept that form of payment from a customer and ensure that they return.

the only reason i go to desi stores is to buy halal meat. other than that, all the other desi items (rice, atta, spices, etc.) are all now widely available at your local grocery store.

of course.

don't care about muslim or anything. the only time something will take precedence, its when i see a pakistani thing/store...it will have superiority over anything else. i never buy anything from an indian place. even if its a muslim one.

No:chai:
han magar Halal gosht main Arbion ya Farsion se laina pasand nahi kerti chanps achi nahi bana sakty ajeeb si chez daity hain ya Shaid mujhy Chanp ki English ya Arbi ya farsi nahi atti:hmmm:saley os ke liey jahan Pakistani miley jati hon baqi New India Bazar zindabad kafi sasta hai Pakistanion ke muqabley main:p

I tend to give preference to Muslim owned businesses. Then among them, the ones that are all halal. For the past few years now, I buy pizza almost exclusively from a halal pizza place that doesn't serve anything haram. My favorite restaurant is also one where they serve only halal food. Of course in order to keep my business, they have to provide a good level of quality and service.

Price and convenience are also factors that I'll look at.

Yep Muslim first... then Asian... then British.

I go for Hilal food, Pakistani, Turkish, Lebanese I dont care because even if I go like 30 min away for a Pakistani store, even there you will find a lot of local politics happening. I just need Hilal food no more talk so I select any Muslim shop.

I do as much as I can but when it comes to food safety, I dont compromise.

For example, I compromise on brands in effort to support these businesses but I'd never buy lets say meat with flys all over from such businesses

yes - atleast try to... without sacrificing time and quality.

Don't care much to go extra mile. When they started business it was for the sake of making money and for the sake of realizing their dream. So they should know how to attract business and win loyalty of customers. If they do not care to win my business and my loyalty why would I care.

beyond halal food, i go to whoever offers the best deal

i mean i know the pakistani guy's son is getting tired of his x5 suv and wants to get the x6, but what can you do?

Absolutely, if there's a Pakistani place around where I live, they get my business even if it means I have to drive the extra 10-20 minutes, I won't go all the way to the city for this though. Another thing is, around where I live all Pakistani places that I have been to are mA very well-maintained so I have never had to think about bad service and all.

If I can't find a Pakistani business, I'd rather benefit a Muslim place- usually this is the case with gas stations. 90% of them are turkish owned here.

So most posters here are racist.

In the U.K, most Arab runs stores sell dodgy stuff. Would got to Tesco or Sainsbury anyday

in the uk the community is concentrated in specific areas. in the US the community is spread out

makes a big difference

i dont think its racism