since at most desi weddings, the couple doesn’t register for gifts (one of the traditional items on a wedding registry is a full set of china)- did you buy formal china for your home? do you use it?
i’d really like to have some, but not sure if it’s necessary or is it something that’s just nice to have?..
if you arent going to be travelling abroad after shadi, then its quite useful to have a china set ... but if you will be relocating , then carrying china set can be a huge issue ( weight perspective , its delicate and can break )
I didnt get anything china in my wedding gifts and the smaller bowl sets i got , I couldnt carry them with me ... I didnt buy any specific sets either .. Good for me , coz when i returned to England after the wedding .. I fell in love with this stoneware dinner set .. :@:
how come you havnt used them , nabz? you could always use them for formal dawats .. One of my uncles gifted me a china set here in the UK a few months after the wedding and believe me its served its purpose so well mashallah ...
you can also use them at special occasions ... if not for the usual dawats .. that way you dont get bored of using the same crockery day with the guests ..
I have it. bought it myself after the wedding. its gorgeous and was definitely a BIG splurge … and I haven’t used it once!.
I haven’t yet hosted a dinner formal enough for it.
I never bought a formal dinner set, just the casual ones. I always wanted to get one but couldn't justify getting it with all the moving we knew we were going to do.
I would like to get one but now I don't have the space maybe some day inshAllah.
I think a china tea set is much more purposeful then a dinner set just a thought really .. specially if you arent into hosting large formal dawats or using disposable plates … tea set can always be used for the dessert round or even in day to day routine of tending to guests ..