Do you feel satisfied with your career

I recently attended a wedding and there were a diverse range of professionals from doctors, lawyers, engineers and CEO's. I am satisfied where I am in life but compared to these folks, who are 5-10 years younger than me I feel like I could have done more with my potential but I wasted it. Do any of you feel that way and how do you overcome it?

O bro thats me as well. Not that i'm at anyway lower on professional level but still there is a uneasiness and a quench of non-achievement of what could it be had I not wasted last few years. My learning has slowed down a lot and also I started few ventures but gave up so quickly. It hurts sometimes.

:hinna:

I occasionally have wistful moments where I wonder if I should have explored other options. I've a love-hate relationship with my job. There are times I feel so exhausted and I wonder if really want to continue doing this. Then I have moments where I feel a sense of fulfillment when I see the fruits of my labor and my heart melts when I receive that unconditional affection and appreciation from my young charges. They drive me crazy but I love all of them.

**Yes, Alhamdulillah I m satisfied....

I believe, me is k bhi qabil nae jo mjhe mila...
And I believe agr me kuch aur chahta tou wo phr bhi mere naseeb mein na hota, coz mere naseeb mein yehi likha tha jo ab hai, So, Alhamdulillah....
Yes, ups n downs are part of life and career....**

*Yes, Alhamdulillah. *

Im satisfied with my career but not without regrets. I could relate to so many things in the Amir Khan movie,Taray Zameen Par. When I meet over-achievers I do not get jealous or feel any less because Im a big believer in destiny. When something is in your destiny, the universe conspires in your favor and when something is not, we should try but find contentment in the things we already have.

2 Likes

oh i missed that part ... "I feel like I could have done more with my potential but I wasted it."
I think this little less is better otherwise one would be fully consumed by whatever it is (job/business/?? etc) and full burn out is not a good thing.

2 Likes

Just one thing. If you dont feel satisfied with your career, switch it immediately. Dont waste time.

I always dreamt of being a professional career or a business women. That gave me a sense of authority. So I worked & fought to become one after studies. But with no guidance or a mentor & facing more jealousy than a common individual, I encountered alot of opposition at work place & I didnt know how to move forward with all opposition's planning against me. Then the circumstances by themselves happened in a way that brought me back home & forced me to focus on home, family, relaxing, sleeping & not worry about becoming a business person or how the outside world operates. Trusting God's decision for me, I now do not worry at all about career & other related stuff. If it's my destiny to only enjoy life & relax with focus on family / home / creativity. Then that's what I'll do. And I slowly realise that that's what gives me more contentment than chasing after materialistic dreams or worldly life so I'm quite content with my life.

2 Likes

If someone on here can review my resume or give me some career advice specifically in IT I would appreciate it. Please DM me. My current job is ending in a few months and I don't know where to start and how to even begin creating a new resume. I've been working at the same company but moved in different departments for the past 7 years.

good luck. I have no experience in IT but I hope you get some guidance

for now, yes I am. BUT - I was robbed of several essential years which impacted (the lack of) my professional growth and sometimes I feel like I am still making up for lost time

Some days are better than others. Sometimes I wonder if I?d hate working a job where I don?t get winter/spring/summer break off, lol.