Do you express Gratitude?

To Allah when he brings about events in life that may appear bad but bring about good for you?

I am sure each of us can mention a few dozen on how a small things saved them or how an apparent adversity proved to be a blessing.

Share.

I’ll do it tomorrow.

A positive thread ...

Instead of regretting about past, if we look back and cherish the bounties we were showered by the Almighty, we can have a happy present and a comforting future...

I will share about events that I always feel thankful for in details later Insha Allah...

I will encourage everyone to post something along these lines...

Re: Do you express Gratitude?

Okay here i go.

Well, i was thinking about my marriage today.

We were engaged for a while and the plan was to have the wedding few months after i finish my house job and she gives her final exam. I just couldn't wait.

However, when the wedding actuially took place, marriage was the last thing on my mind, i have to confess that even on the day of wedding i was kinda indifferent! !

Strange right!

Well, after i finished my house job, for the first time in my life i felt like "nobody". From a proud, respected, young, best house officer of the year to a jobless doctor. The feeling of worthlessness was overwhelming. I think partlu bcoz i had left the hostel, so i was not among my mates who like me were preparing for post-grad exams, rather i was at home. Everyone around me had a job, while i was sitting at home reading.

But right "after" the wedding, it changed in a second. We were so happy and i forgot about everything. My frendz told me i have changed.

This lasted for few months but again i came crashing down when i did not get the job in Pediatrics that i wanted. I again went into the same depressed mood.

But Thank God that it did not last long and after 3 months i got the job and into residency. But those few months were the most difficult for me.

edited

Well, a few years ago, we went through a rough time with downsizing/rightsizing whatever you may call it where I was expecting our second baby and hubby was out of a job! At the same time, we were going through major family situations. At times it was hard to imagine if things could get any worse or if things would get any better.

However, we always had incredible faith that with every adversity lies a seed of equal or greater benefit, and if we ask Allah swt for help, we will never be disappointed.

Our prayers were answered and just a few days before our choti was born, hubby landed up with several offers. We look back only to confirm the role that Allah has played in our lives, and we look ahead with the same expectations.

Nice Thread.
My life has always been a roller coaster ride. Ups and downs, way high and way down. Alhumdulillah one thing which got me through was my parents teachings that everything happens for a purpose and there is something better waiting to come out of it. This has always been true in my case. I always reflect on my bad times to count my blessings and cannot thank Allah enough.

Of all the years of my life 2007 was the most difficult . but with continuous help of Almighty we have overcome our problem . and even i find it surprising how things changed at every instance - yes it is decided what has to come - has to come

Yes, I do express my gratitude to ALLAH MIYAN whenever I can. My life, although I do have to admit it's so much better than so many other people, has not been very easy and a bed of roses. Something that others can achieve hands down comes to me after a heck of a lot of struggle and stress and strife. However, it does come and in a very highly unexpected way. Over the course of years, I've realized that ALLAH MIYAN has answered my many prayers and helped me achieve something I very much wanted to achieve and struggled for it. I won't get into details what those things are but once again, even though it's never really enough, I'd like to thank ALLAH TALLAH for helping me and my family out in our worse and struggling period and may HE continue to bless me, my whole family, and everyone else. Ameen!

SHUKAR ALLAHUMDULILLAH for everything!

MashAllah so far my life has been fine. However, one can't have a perfect life and I have been through a few rough times. Though I don't actually regret going through anything as with every experience I have learnt alot. MashAllah God has been kind to me as when I look at some other people I realise that the minor things that I thought were major are nothing compared to their problems.

I wouldn't ever complain to God even about anything that he put me through because there hasn't been a single prayer that was unanswered.

I pray that he continues to bless my parents, brothers,friends and all the loved ones :)

Yep. A few months ago i applied for a job that i really wanted, but i didn't get it. was so disappointed, things really felt like they just weren't going my way. a few weeks later i got a different job, and i wasn't happy with it but had no choice but to do it lol.
over 2 months on, i really like this job now, i enjoy it more than i could ever have imagined, it can be stressful, but its fun too at times, and the poeple are lovely. best of all, from this job, i feel like my confidence has grown loads :)
sometimes things happen and we don't understand why, but there's always a reason, something good.
I am thankful everyday :)

thanks everyone for sharing what you shared.
i think, first of all being able to own up to one's hard times and look at them in a way that you make the right room fo accounting whose doing it was or what happened, happened for better for worse, is a bold good thing to do.
life is a struggle and it should be treated as such. the lesson i have which most inspires me to interact with people is humility and honesty in setting things clear.
that way, in relationships with family or anyone else, the fine demarcations enable everyone to fulfill the roles within parameters.

struggles for better studies, jobs, families, relationships, sudden accidents & the loss due to them, failures, learnt lessons, and personal growth as young couples, families, parents, siblings, or individuals with any role we have, we survive.
improvement of lives and the balance with some kheraat, and some sabr. :>

rest, happiness comes when we do the right things in each and every place and time that we relentlessly can.
its never ending. & thus is is a constant self improvement.

may we all make the right choices and be kind to others, always .:>

best,
Dushwari

Awesome sharing.... Things like these make our faith more stronger in Almighty...

you know I have seen such examples in observing others so many times that the imaan that Allah has written down the rizq of every single soul even in mother's womb has become so much solidify like a wall feeded with Lead...

May Allah keep showering His blessings on you and your family... aameen

Indeed....

surprising and a cause to having your believe firm on HIM and HIM alone... Jazak Allah for sharing...

shows us how Allah is always looking after Everyone of us... Aameen to the duaas....

aameen to your duaas...

and that is a very strong point ... If only we can see things through that angle... thank you for putting it down...

Cent percent true statement!!!

good point.... charity and sabar... and then, Quran talks about seeking help with Salah (praying 5 times) and Sabr...

I have some personal stories to share... I am still trying to put them down in proper words... till then, I want to enjoy people sharing stuff like this..

I will insha Allah put down my side of past events that I always feel thankful for.....

The worst ever time I faced was during the golden period of student’s life…

Metriculation to Intermediate…

Well Metriculation was actually not a bad time period… My percentage dropped 1% from ninth grade to 10th… and actually it caused me to join the second best college of Karachi instead of the Top notch where half of my friends went.. the rest of half were with me and a few in other colleges..

That was fine… until, in FSc… I was hit by Jaundice just a month before exam which lasted even after exams… affected my studies so much so that my marks came below any expectations… worst ever in my career… The second year was struck by Chicken Pox and I could not improve… Disaster…!

The childhood dream of going to NED University shattered like fine glass filled with rose-water…

But Allah:subhanahu: had His own mysterious plan working for me :slight_smile:

Out of blue, one of my applications for immigration visa was accepted and within 10 months, I landed in NY … Graduated in Computer Sciences from a better place than NED… and with much more satisfaction…

This was the first ever practical life experience that taught me that Indeed Allah is the best of the best Planners.

There were many times when i thought life was coming to an end and there would not be any light on the long path of life ever again.....being a sensitive person i do get depressed very easily but thanx to the sweetest ppl around me who give me courage and spirits and increase my faith in my creator.

The very beginning of married life was such a turmoil, it was not the understanding with my hubby that was difficult, it was the adjustment with my mom in law that was the strenuous part of the whole package. and it took almost a couple of yrs that I finally beame a part of my family. I cant recall i've shed more tears in life ever but during those yrs. Its not easy maintaining good relationships,one has to sacrifice a lot. But those tears made me closer to my Allah, i used to tell Him everything that i couldn't share with anyone else in the whole world :-)

My husband's business failure and his jobless days were another times when we went through the toughest exams of our lives i guess but in the end everything got better and i beleive smiles and tears go hand in hand when it comes to Life.

My abbu g always says kay her kaam kernay say pehlay, Allah ko zarroor yaad karo aur phir dekhna kay agar koye bura waqt aye ga bhee.. Allah usmain koye na koye bhalayee bhe zarroor karain gay.. aur Allah ka lakh lakh shukar hai..