share as to why, in a gathering of people who do or ought to ideally know what saying Asalam a laikum means, do they avoid saying it and say hi instead?
best,
Dushwari
share as to why, in a gathering of people who do or ought to ideally know what saying Asalam a laikum means, do they avoid saying it and say hi instead?
best,
Dushwari
Re: do you avoid saying Asalam a laikum?
do you avoid saying Asalam a laikum?
haan
but why people do that zobia?
forget the burger.
As-Salam-O-Alaikum :halo:
I think people try to avoid saying it because they’ll be looked at with some sort of allienation. The notions of ‘oh that’s so old school, or old fashioned, or “not cool” to some extent’ may be some of the reasons. Some may even go as far as to think that if they say anything arabic they maybe looked at as someone who holds extreme views. I could think of a few people that i know of who do that.
Some people dont’ say it because they think the gathering is not suited for it, when infact every crowd greeted with AsSalaam-o-Alaikum, is an opportunity for you to explain not only the meaning of it but to explain briefly perhaps why it is said, and thereby leaving the door open for more discussion of the faith.
We’re only accountable for things we do out of choice. We will not be asked how much we accomplished in inviting people to the truth, but rather ‘Did we Try?’
but why people do that zobia? forget the burger.
they find religion old fashion stuff.
well i personally believe it is also time to check ur iman as well?
ps. ya i do tell them right-away. and ALHUMDULLAH the burger i met are intelligent enough not to argue with me.
they find religion old fashion stuff.
well i personally believe it is also time to check ur iman as well?
** ps. ya i do say them right-away. and they are intelligent enough not to argue with me.**
:CareBear:
i like the idea of did we try, teggy.
best,
Dushwari
u know what i was thinking that wearing hijab
actually makes easier for me to speek arabic. otherwise ya u r right u guys have to be cautious. ![]()
they cant dealt with my rationality, ALHUMDULLAH ![]()
Unless you're absolutely sure that the person is a Muslim (pretty much the ONLY way you can tell is if a girl wears a hijab, in a country where hijab isn't mandatory), why would you say salam? It is often seen as pushing your religion onto another, or somehow making yourself appear "better," than another. I wouldn't say it unless it were in the proper situation (i.e. a masjid), or with people you know are muslim.
^That is true as well. Unfortunately, some muslims amongst themselves don't even say it :(
best, Dushwari
I say it to all my non muslim friends. Even jewish ones. But I say it more loudly to my hindu buddies and buddiettes..as i feel they need it the most.
bhai…khud bhi respect kerain app…salam is sending blessing…is ko loudly nahi politely khetay hain ![]()