Do you allow your spouse to correct you...

—in matters of religion or do you keep your doors closed?

The reason why I am asking is that sometimes I see some friends of mine pushing their husbands to go to jummah and they do not like it, or husbands asking wives to get up with them for Fajr and they don’t like it.

Ya ya “to each their own” but isn’t the husband and wife relationship above that?

More importantly, should this thread be moved to Life? Mods please do whatever you feel necessary.

Re: Do you allow your spouse to correct you...

she corrects me without permission

The answer to "to each their own" is . If you do not like your spouse to be with you in Jannat then give up on her/him.
Ya ya I know it can be turned into joke , but seriously , I love my wife and want her company in other life I will try to make sure that we end up in Jannat together as jannati husband and wife and I will give her the right to correct me too.

^ Aw, Mashallah.

Mirch - bravo!

Totally agree. So this one friend told about her who husband got so offended that she asked him to go to Jummah today. They had a big fight. She was sad. No big deal because they are a lovely couple otherwise but it brought me to this question when she asked if she did something wrong.

She did not do anything wrong , she should keep trying making sure that it does not turn into a fight.
I will give her a tip. Ask one of his close friends to make sure to pick him up for namaz a jumma from his home, if it is at all possible. I am sure he will go. Buddy system works for many things why will it not work for namaz a jumma ?

Yeh ..i allow it and what Mirch Also said.

I read in a Book called Sharah Sahih Muslim shareef where there is a Hadith. briefly

that If both husband and wife are entered into Jannat cos of their piousness and their merit, they will be reunited in Jannat.

So i myself Always pray for my wife and am sure she does too and we look out of each other in every Masla ...because i am a student of Deen Myself and so is she ..and Studying Islam .. I ve given her free hand ..that to correct me or if am doing something wrong and she knows the Real Masla then its for her to tell me. So this way we re eaqual in everythiing ..and inshaAllah this way we have a better chance of being re-united with eachother.

Re: Do you allow your spouse to correct you…

Fbi, you are married :hayaa:

ahann kab ka .. aap ko nahi pata chala :s half of GS knows ..

yeh 6 months ago Alhamdolillah :slight_smile:

Re: Do you allow your spouse to correct you…

Congratulations. I really didn’t know. :bb:

Well dats exactly wat i want from my spouse....working together to achive life in jannah in hereafter... so i wud never mind correcting me in religious affairs....n i wud b keeping a check on him too...:ASA:

yeah we usually correct each other whenever there's a need for it.

fbi
congratz

We have an understanding to correct each other when needed. Hubs encourages me to go for jummah and other events/lectures at the masjid. It rarely ever happens but if he doesnt feel like going to isha ki jamaat for no reason, i push him to go. We live close enough to the masjid that he tries to make atleast maghrib and isha with jamat Alhamdulillah.

As husband and wife we are the "libaas" for each other and ofcourse want each other's company in jannat as well, inshaAllah.

no.

You correct people because you love them. I don't go randomly telling people about what I think is wrong in their life, or what they should do; but I do tell my little brothers about what is gunna and swaab, because I love them, and want to see them be in heaven.

I remember one time I was at the store, and i wore tight pants with hijab. This Arab lady I knew from the masjid came up to me and told me how Fatima (R) would avoid showing the shape of her body. That meant a lot to me, that there was someone out there who cared enough to correct me and remind me of what a proper hijab is.

People like that are hard to find now, because we're too quick with the "mind your own business," "too each their own" mentatilty- and with that we prohibit our own learning, and thus are not able to improve ourselves and be better Muslims.