Do y'all consider Imran Khan to be a Punjabi or Pashtun

?

He is Punjabi as Mianwali is a city in Punjab

Many from Punjab claim to be Pashtuns, Kashmiris, Iranians. I wonder why. Many Punjabis, who look after their health are blessed with good genes.

baby in Islamabad. girgit in Lahore.

Can you please elaborate further what does it mean? :wave:

He is culturally punjabi , ethnically mix of Niazi/Pakhtun.

the only Pashtun we are sure of do not hate Punjab

Ethnically and culturally a pashtun is my guess. Technically does look like a pashtun as well. His ancestors most definitely were pashtuns. He also vehemently defends the rights of pashtuns and somewhat the taliban whenever he senses an opportunity to do so.

His Taliban Khan attitudes have always troubled me.

He couldn’t even come around to criticize Taliban for banning women’s education when pretty much all ulema across the Muslim world have come out against it. Talk about a hypocritical liberal or should I say hypocritical Muslim?

Frankly speaking, I had thought that Imran in his old age had gained wisdom but it seems like he is stuck in the eighties sledging his opponents. It is sad since he engaged a lot of youth vote but I don’t think that he is a Deng Xiaoping or Lee Kuan Yew that Pakistan needs at this juncture to steady the ship and grow the country. I don’t see any populist that are capable in the current lot so tough times are ahead for Pakistan.

He speaks Punjabi fluently. No one has seen him speaking pashto I think. And he has married a punjabi woman which is very unlikely for an average pashtun.

He is Punjabi with Pashtun ancestry just like many Urdu speaking folks from UP have Pashtun ancestry. Such people don't speak Pashto and don't consider themselves culturally Pashtun.

Brother, politics is a complex process of uncertainties. Nobody has the answer whether politics is an art or if it is science. Only in Utopia could you have a perfectly balanced world, reality is you have to choose between the bigger or the lesser evil.

Sure stuck in the 80’s sledging his opponents, but then so are the jiyalas who just won’t move past the 70’s. Is sledging a bigger sin or grave worshipping, primarily for political interests and gains?

Bilawal vying for a national leadership role not using his own surname but of his mother’s family is a matter of national concern.

When you’re in company of blind people you end up piercing your own eye, under current circumstances it appears Imran Khan is the only lesser evil available.

I’d beg to differ, respectfully. There are siraikis in Karachi speaking fluent pashto. Then there are Hazaras who talk, walk and look just as the Pashtuns do.

Recognition of a Pashtun is first by his tribe and then his hold on to the pashto language. Owing to him being raised and brought up in Lahore and London, and then came his famous and celebrated cricketing career, you can’t really blame him for not having a good firm grasp on his ancestors language.

He is not a Pashton
Niazi tribe called themselves as Pashton but don't speak pashto
Mianwali is in middle of Saraiki Pothohari & Punjabi area so they are rul-gadh
His mother side called them Pathan but they are pure Punjabis and were first Land Mafia of Pakistan due to some influencial persons among them , one of them was Genral Burki .
His father was dismissed from Government service on corruption charges by Yahya, Bhutto restore many of those but didn't restore Ikram , his father .
Now , he is nothing , No future with a dirty past

2 Likes

[quote=““Anwer Pasha””]
He is not a Pashton
Niazi tribe called themselves as Pashton but don’t speak pashto
Mianwali is in middle of Saraiki Pothohari & Punjabi area so they are rul-gadh
His mother side called them Pathan but they are pure Punjabis and were first Land Mafia of Pakistan due to some influencial persons among them , one of them was Genral Burki .
His father was dismissed from Government service on corruption charges by Yahya, Bhutto restore many of those but didn’t restore Ikram , his father .
Now , he is nothing , No future with a dirty past

Origin of Niazis is Makhzani-i-Afghani, written under the influence of Khan Lodi, an afghan noble of mughal emperor Jahangir. Lodi, Niazi, Dotani and Siani

Mind you, Burki are also of pashtun origins

No proof Ikramullah niazi was dismissed from government service so just going to call this out as nothing but sheer nonsense. This rumor was most definitely spread by the same source who accused ZAB of being an illegitimate child of Nehru, and hence a brother of Jawarlal Nehru

Zia was a much better politician than ZAB, just because he outplayed and outmaneuvered him in the political game by a long stretch. No single body came out to support Bhutto after his hanging. In fact the individual who distributed sweets over his hanging was the same person who later gave us the news of BB’s killing whilst having crocodile tears in his eyes.

Yeh batayein, Hanuman ki tarah aapne bhi Bhutto ka mandir banaya hai ghar main?

Roz subah uth ke,

“Jiye bhutto”

“Tum kitno Bhutto maaroge hur ghar se bhutto niklega”

Ke kalme recite kurte hain yaa nahi?

By this standard even I am a Pashtun from the Yousafzai tribe even though my ancestors migrated to Urdu speaking areas 400 years ago. Haven’t spoken Pashto for generations and don’t practice Pashtunwali. We are indistinguishable from other Urdu speakers. Imran Khan’s family is similar except they migrated to Punjab.

Assimilation is the key here. You don’t use it, Imran Khan does. A good 15/20 percent in Karachi be Khans and have had the same pashtun lineage yet fail to identify themselves as Pashtuns.

There’s this one heavenly blessed angel I’m in awe of and adore, who for some reason also has a “Khan” as her surname. She for sure acts like a Pashtun but chooses not to identify herself as one. Most probably considers herself to be urdu speaking.

To each their own, I guess.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rohilla

“The Pathan (Rohilla) community of UP has sixteen sub-groups, the Ghilzai, Afridi, Barakzai, Barech, Daudzai, Marwat, Durrani, Bettani, Naghar, Ghorghushti, Sur Pashtun, Kakar, Khalil, Mohmand, Mohammadzai, Orakzai, Yousafzai and Wazir, all of which are descended from well known Pashtun tribes.”

Apparently Rohillas clan structure was destroyed. Niazis on the other hand continue to exist. If you go to Mianwali you will be surprised by the numerous Niazi tribes and clans devoted to Pashtunwali there, and most of them also be speaking squeaky clean pashto.

I’d guess, ethnicity has more to do with ancestry than the language itself

I consider IK a typical rich Lahori who hates with passion another typical rich Lahori, Nawaz Sharif. Most of the political fighting in Pakistan since 2011 has been between Lahoris. More specifically, between Aitchison college alumni and their relatives on one side, and those who did not get admission in Aitchison college on the other. Rest of the country is just getting emotional over no benefit of their own and is going to get nothing either way.

^ Correction: Rest of the country is paying the price for their misadventures.

IK and NS are not to be compared by any stretch or imagination, though. One is way ahead of the other's league in every way possible. Maazrut aisa bolne pe par aakhir sach sach hi hota hai.

Pindi boys are a lot more hostile than these two lahoris. Maliks, Khokhars and whatnots. Ulu ke pathoun ne eik dusre ke khandan khatam kur diye hain over petty little grudges, par aaj bhi hero aise bane phirte hain jaise they went to the moon and back. Hur laraai ka ikhtemaam maiz pe beth ke hi hota hai, itni si baat yeh sab samajhne se qaasir hain ​aisa mehsus sa hota hai.