Do we hold a chance in 2003???

no comment a1shah, buddy.

tumharay man-ney ya na man-nay say duniya kay views to nahi badal jain gay.

Originally posted by a1shah:
Foreign coaches are very professional. Once hired, they work diligently even against their own country. Recent example - the new Indian coach from New Zealand and Geoff Marsh the new strategist. He left his post on the Auzzie selection committee to join India.

_India has not shown any success even after the got the Coach frm NZ. or strategist Geoff Marsh..

Pakman would you mind telling me how Miandad gave recignition to Pakistan as a coach. PCB did not kick him out he chose to go out after alleging four players Moin Khan Azhar Mehmood Afridi and one other (not Wasim Akram) of fixing the match and also he had a fight over prize money If he cared so much about the team he would have stayed because ab bhi tooo Moin key sath hi kaam kar raha hey na. I think we need another coach and having a foreign coach would be a good idea.

I agree with fantastic that Akram is being picked on a lot these days, perhaps a bit unfairly. But Wasim is his own worst enemy, his performances when he`s not the Captain have been extremely poor and one can say that he was out of form..for one series or perhaps two..but not each time another skipper is in charge. When Saeed Anwar was the Captain, Akram left him in the lurch on many a occasion by pulling out at the last moment or bowling poorly or like he did last year..walking off after bowling 2 offers in the first innings of a test leaving Saeed without a front line bowler..similarly Moin supported Akram publicly yet even then Akram bowled like a second class medium pacer whereas even Gough etc picked up more wickets and were more effective than Wasim.
Still, Saeed being the easy going team man that he is..and Moin being one of Akram's oldest pals...have shown no indication of holding a grudge though they have every reason to. That cant be said for the likes of Aamir Sohail,Waqar Younis,Ata Ur Rehman,Rashid Latif,Mushtaq Ahmed,Basit Ali,
etc who havent forgotten Akram's actions and make it a point to bash him all the time.

A fit and performing Wasim Akram should be in the 2003 World Cup. But unless he gets his act together and starts playing for the team - Wasim may find himself coaching a county side in England while Pakistan head to South Africa.

Coming to the WC 2003 - Saeed will be a key player as well as Youhana in the batting dept, Shoaib, Mahmood and Razzaq will be extremely useful and Mahmood may end up stealing the show. He has a very good record in South Africa. It'll be the last World Cup for the likes of Saeed,Moin,Inzamam,Akram and it could bring out something special in the team.

Pakistan despite their recent record - will be one of the top contenders in 2003. Thought Im pretty certain Miandad and Moin wont last till then. I think Mahmood will be the Captain by then.

Maniax I will have to disagree once more minus the England series Wasim's performance has been excellant under Moin's captaincy infact not only did he help in winning by his personal performance but he offered Moin useful advice on the field. Wasim was the only player who performed consistently well with both bat and ball under Rashid Latif's captaincy in the one day tournament in South Africa. He bowled briliantly against Zimbabwe in 1998 under Aamir Sohail's captaincy and along with Waqar brought Pakistan close to victory but good work done by them was spoiled once again by our batsmen. Before getting unfit against Sri Lanka in the 1st test he performed very well in the one day series against Moin's captaincy. Who helped Javaid win the series against England and his record under Salin Malik is briliant as well. Every player suffer laps of form and he suffers it to sometimes when he is not the captain and sometimes when he is like against Australia in 1999.

Our team has no hope for the simple reason that we are not, nor will be in the near future, a professional team. We crack under pressure, have thousands of excuses like "we can't bat second", "we are not good chasers", "the pitch didn't help our spin", blah, blah, and blah.

Don't get me wrong. I am a die-hard pak fan and it hurts me when we lose, but unless drastic changes are made, we will not stand a chance.

Let's face it, when we won in 1992, it was sheer luck. We were losing all our initial games and it just so happened by chance that the teams that should have lost did and we made it into the semis.

And we all claim that we have the best bowling attack. Now that's a joke. What do we really have - 2 middle-aged fast bowlers who are in the twilight years of their career, Shoaib who mouths off big time and gets wacked all over the field, and Razzaq and Azhar - 2 medium paced lollipops. Let's compare our attack to Aus and SA and theirs a world of difference.

Win 2003 in South Africa with Auzzies and SA - fat chance. Just forget it.

Most of the world's humiliating records have been made against us and India. Two peas of the same pod.

Oh, I forgot -

We also probably hold the most records for groin injuries and other physical ailments. Everytime a few games are played then Shoaib has a groin problem and Saeed falls to the flue, and Waqar has shoulder injuries.

And you expect us to compete againsts a well-equiped, well prepared, and super fit teams like SA and Auz ?

Look how SA is destroying Sri Lanka currently and look how we got our asses kicked by pidly England on our own turf.

We pakistanis will never learn.

fantastic1 - Wasim's record under Malik is good but then so's Waqar's and almost everyone else as well. His performance under Aamir though was extremely poor overall -...in the majority of the tests...Wasim was either unfit or bowled extremely poorly. In the test match against South Africa - when Aamir was the Captain - Pakistan won the Test match courtesy of a hundred by Saeed Anwar and 5 wickets by Shoaib Akhter and Mushtaq Ahmed - when Wasim came back in the last test - Pakistan lost with the Captaincy handed to Latif who made it clear that Wasim's arrival unsettled the team. You can argue that Latif was whining but the point is that you have to look hard and long to find a game since 1995 in which Akram has performed well when hes not the Captain. Saeed Anwar for example, has Captained Pakistan a few times and every time - Wasim is either unavailable or bowls poorly. The incident against Sri Lanka was pathetic and if Anwar would have been a nut case like Sohail - then he would certainly have torn Wasim apart in the press for letting the team down by walking away after 2 overs. Look at the tapes, Akram either faked that injury or carried it into the game without letting his Captain know about it. As for Moin,like I said, hes the only real buddy Wasim has left in the team - and yes hes helped Moin in field placings but then again - Saeed has helped both Wasim and Moin throughout the last 4 years in the same manner. Players have ups and downs but Wasims downs seem to come each time he`s not in charge and that should simply not be on. If he doesent want to play under a captain, then he should quit instead of playing his games with the side and building obstacles for the new skipper. I admire Wasim's cricketing ability but at some point you have to ask - whether his attitude is really good for the team and the players?
If Sohail's big mouth has caused him to be ignored for selection then Akram's manipulations should cause him to be left out as well. Btw, one final thought..if Wasim was asked to name a person in the current side who he could call a friend...he could only name Moin Khan...no one else. That should tell you a lot.

Originally posted by a1shah:
**Oh, I forgot -

We also probably hold the most records for groin injuries and other physical ailments. Everytime a few games are played then Shoaib has a groin problem and Saeed falls to the flue, and Waqar has shoulder injuries.

fast bowlers will have injuries. but why does saeed anwar fall sick?

Saeed Anwar recently suffered a knee injury which has bothered him for the last season - but other than that he has a digestion problem. He doesent eat any solid food 24 hrs before a game..Dan Kiesel has to force him to eat ice cream to keep himself going. As a result, he catches all sorts of viral infections, basically he suffers from fever and infections all the time.

But there`s nothing anyone can do...they try to force him to eat more but he cant so he has to make the best of it.

Believe In Angels.

Laterz,
ManiaX.

Wasim Akram (the # 1 Satey baaz) … Why do u think that we lost this Past world cup???
After our Performance in the Quater and Semi finals.. how could we do so bad in the final… I think everyone knows the fact :::

-The night before the world cup on sunday morning ..It rained and the pitch was really slow .. the side batting first was not going to make it.. So why did Akram choose to bat first ??? did that one dicision of batting first give away the whole match fixing???
-Later reports asked the Auzzi captain Waugh and he said that he was quiet surprised at Akrams decision…

So i think we need to drop these kind of players..(akram for sure)

ok if u guyz need the inside stories of matchfixing that goes on with the pakistani team.. “Our team has so many .. we have put together an Album … go visit the site and c what i mean…” http://rashidlatif.8k.com/
. made by former keeper Rashid Latif … he has been kicked out because he is Mahajir..

I think it depends more on how you want to look at it and don't forget Rashid and Aamir got involved in a fight in South-Africa themselves as a result of which Aamir came back. Still I have already said PCB should drop him if it likes no problem for me.

Pakman 2 i think I already answered your question.

Also Pakman i have been to this site and i did not find any of the proof that Rashid Latif talked about so much except the transcript of a tape even that does not prove Wasim guilty.

You`re right..it depends on how you look at it I guess. I doubt whether Waqar is an angel either...it's possible than Wasim may have had problems with him for genuine reasons..as for Aamir..if only he could've spent more time mouthing off on the opposition rather than his own team mates ..he would've accomplished more for the team.

As for Latif's site..its a load of nonsense. Latif is a third rate common thief..not to mention a hypocrite. On the one hand he bashes his team mates to no end and then asks them to play benefit matches for him all over the world.The fact that hes a mohajir isent relevant,one way or the other.

it looks like u can't tell a satey baaz frm a real cricket player.. there are no evidence against rashid latif that he is a match-fixer or a satey baaz... if u know what i mean.. there are 2 reasons he got kicked off the team... one) is that he didn't deal with bookies and was willing to tell the media what kinda fixing goes on in the team.. two) he is a Mahajir living in Karachi.. look at our cricket team.. how many Mahajirs do u see? look at the build of the PCB.. how many mahajirs do u see.?

Pakistan Cricket Board ... does not look at skill levels of the players.. yet they only see how much money the player is giving to get on the team or if the player has any connections.. the PCB shows prejudice against Mahajirs... (we all know it)...

i think there r alot of players with potential, but we need sone1 who can bring out this energy and utalise it in batter manner, theres lack of unity in our pak team. Therefore in order 2 win this world cup, alot and i mean alot of hardwork and determination is required by our team.

khudi ko kar buland itna..ke har takdeer se phele
khuda bande se khud pooche..bata teri raza kia hai!!!

ur rite.. we need hard work and determination on the pak cricket squad .. but until we get rid of these satey baaz players we cant build the potential ...

Pakman if I am not mistaken than Moin Khan is a mohajir too so is Javed Miandad and so were Mohammad brothers and many others.

Pakman puther, take a nap.
It seems you have something against Punjabi’s and the rest of Pakistan???
That is such a useless, pathetic excuse, and I’m quite suprised someone would bring that up.

Quality, attitude of enthusiasm and play, persona, and many others equal a true player.

In India, half the team is from south, one guy is from north, east, west, etc.. they all eat different food, talk different languages, believe in different religions/gods, caste system too. They are more likely to have your mohajir problem.

Anyways Moin Khan, I believe is a “mohajir”. Why would the Punjab PCB make Moin Khan the biggest person in Pakistani Cricket and Pakistan sports? Being the captain is a big responsibility, and just because he/team lost doesn’t mean we should fall onto a useless excuse.

One day your the hero of Pakistan and the next day your riding donkey’s on the streets of Multan getting tomatoes, and a ghootay ka har around your neck for a loss. It can happen to anybody!

Hey fantastic… i agree with u that Javed was a Mohajir but i was refering to the current action pak squad and the current PCB stafff… btw moin khans data posted below i got frm www.cricket.org .. born in Rawalpindi - not a mohajir… – the PCB staff needs to select players on their skill levels not their origin..(mohajir, patan, punjabi, ect. ect.) i am not saying that moin khan is a bad player.. as a matter of fact .. he is one of my fav.s
Moin Khan (Captain)
Right Hand Batsman
Wicket Keeper
Born: 1971, Rawalpindi

Khud ko kar buland itnaa.
Ke’ Himaalay ki choti pe jaa pahunche..
Aur khuda tumse puche..
'Abe gadhe… ab utrega kaise ’