do we get a pleasure from watching someone dying

Re: do we get a pleasure from watching someone dying

I watched only one…a taleban beheading…I didn’t know what I was about to watch..it was one of my friends who called me to the computer to check it out…she didn’t tell me what it was going to be…I was SHOCKED..and sickened by it!

no

Bhutto as in zulifqar ali Bhutto? The video is out? How do we know it’s real?

Out of the examples you listed, I only saw Saddam’s hanging video because I was curious to see how he faced death. I must say he was brave. The same reason I would probably watch ZAB’s video if it is out there now. I don’t like to watch videos where people are being beaten up. I didn’t watch Sialkot beating videos or the video of a couple of ahmadi’s who were beaten to death in Bangladesh.

Chacha, yes Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto 's hanging video. It’s on YouTube. I was given the link by someone, but I never watched it.

**It all depends on intention and cannot be judged by other people.
If we see people watching it and making irresponsible or making/writing callous comments only then we can say they are wrong. Wrong without any doubt.

Some people may watch with sincere feelings and learning to be humble or even to make sure the event did actually occur.

Public display of punishment is not always to satisfy sadistic emotions. It is to teach lesson to others and nothing wrong with it.

“Yeh Duniya Ibrat Ki Jaa Hai, tamasha Nahin”

Timothy McVeigh was executed in front of people too. His death was witnessed by those people. Did they get ‘pleasure’ too?

Public execution is an organized form of terrorism. The object is to terrify people so much that dont do what the person who was executed did. Death should remain a form of punishment, but the act should never be displayed to terrify people.

I dont know Diwana. I just cant think of a single good reason to voluntarily watch someone die an unnatural death.

You can certainly hold your opinion.

I gave you few legitimate reasons for public display of someone’s death.

The word terrorism is much too often used loosely.

If people learn from the display not to repeat what other person did, then it is not so bad.

It all depends on what the intention was for the person who watched the event.

Hope people slow down while driving after watching a horrible accident, keeping the memory of the event.

Coming to the event of public lynching: People who watched two kids being killed in public and not doing anything to stop the criminals are just as bad as those who committed the crime.

I have read cold and insensitive remarks on internet about dead people and after displaying pictures of dead people who died in Iraq with laughing smilies. Utterly sad and wrong.

I chose my words very carefully when I said that I just cant think of a single good reason to voluntarily watch someone die an unnatural death.". Watching a horrible accident happening in front of you is not voluntarily. Plus you are not expecting the person to die, in fact probably praying for his/her health.

The word terrorism is used loosely now, but in fact got its political meaning from the term ‘State Terrorism’ where states used tactics to keep people under terror. Terror is the best form of control and works like a charm.

I understand your point. You made me think a bit further.

When I talked about accident I was only focusing on those people who either go and watch the event deliberately (not being the first responders in order to help) or do rubber necking. Both are voluntary acts. But it can still teach them lesson to be careful while driving.

The public display of punishment organized by the state is not synonymous with state terrorism.

In places where punishment is carried out by state is not always to control people for its political agenda. Rather it is to make people not to go stray and be criminals.

Now, if the state organizes these kind of events to punish its political opponents while the state being on the wrong side, then yes, it can be called “State Terrorism”.

In essence: It depends what is the intention of the observer and it depends on what is the intention of the State which makes the event wrong or right.

So are you saying that executions in USA are less effective than executions in KSA?

I cannot really compare the two. There is no common practice of public display of execution in US as far as I know. It has happened in the case of Timothy McVeigh though. What works for one country cannot be copied by other. As long as the intention is right, the act is correct.

One can look at the crime rates between the two just as a hint.

When I see someone being killed as a punishment for his crimes I feel that justice is served.
When I saw sialkot killings i was haunted by it for couple of days.
So my feelings are different when an innocent man is killed and a criminal is punished.
Though I stopped watching such videos.

@ TLK:

Do you think the execution of Timothy McVeigh being displayed was State Terrorism?

There are no public executions that happened in USA in last many decades. I was trying to compare the non-public executions of USA vs public executions of KSA.

See when you mentioned to compare crime rates you proved my point. People in KSA are afraid of their lives, cause they could be killed just on a stupid rumor about being involved in Sorcery, or speaking against the state, or you can’t show a proof of your medical marijuana that you accidentally carrying from some other country. That is State Terror in action my friend. No justice, but total brutality.

I have not seen Timothy Mcveigh’s execution. I don’t think that he was executed publicly so I don’t know how to bring that into this thread.

Cant you get that feeling just by getting the news? Why it needs to be seen.

I already said if the intention is right, action is correct.

Bringing Timothy example is very much related. His execution was performed in front of people who had their relatives died from his action and it was video taped and shown on media.

You might not have seen that, but it is true that Timothy execution was indeed shown, then what would be the answer to my question?

ARay nahi yaar, his execution might be recorded and attended by the victim’s familes but that is a common legal process. In most of the states of USA, executions can be attended by the family members of the victims if they want to. Its no where close to what KSA does, jahaan execution is a tamaasha.

I just mentioned it was shown on media. I am not saying two are exactly similar.

Really? Here in USA? Maybe you are right then. I did not know that. I have to read about it and only then can comment.

Assuming it was true then?

Even if not on mass media I mean.

Some people were invited to watch his death.

No I trust that part that people must be invited to watch his execution. That is called closure. Victim’s family needs that closure to learn that justice is served, so they can watch if they want to.

But that is not the same thing that I am talking about. I am talking about watching random people to die.

During early 80’s, in Karachi, Video Shops started carrying a series of video documentaries called Faces Of Death, which was showing random people in act of dying. It became instant hit. People used to watch it discuss it. I am glad that even then, when I was asked, I said no, though I was young and curious.