Re: do u and ur family..
yes..sometimes
no..i dont mind as long as the other person is not making tht lapar lapar sound
yes..sometimes
no..i dont mind as long as the other person is not making tht lapar lapar sound
I will post a story from Sir Syed Ahmed Khan's life which I read somewhere.
An English Official was inspecting the campus of Aligarh University , he also visited the mess hall. He saw that students were eating food with their hands so he made a comment how disgusting it is.
Sir Syed replied : It is not disgusting , people are using their own hands to put food into their own mouths but one spoon has gone into many mouths , how disgusting is that.
Now some smart ass will come up with an excuse that the spoon is washed properly so it does not matter how many people have used that spoon , but if spoon can become clean after washing then why one's hands cannot become clean after washing before and after eating ?
^ LOL most desis do eat with their hands u cant really eat salan with forks can u ?
if you are having rice with salan then u can.
i mean how many desis have salan on its own ? hmmmm
I will post a story from Sir Syed Ahmed Khan's life which I read somewhere. An English Official was inspecting the campus of Aligarh University , he also visited the mess hall. He saw that students were eating food with their hands so he made a comment how disgusting it is. Sir Syed replied : It is not disgusting , people are using their own hands to put food into their own mouths but one spoon has gone into many mouths , how disgusting is that. Now some smart ass will come up with an excuse that the spoon is washed properly so it does not matter how many people have used that spoon , but if spoon can become clean after washing then why one's hands cannot become clean after washing before and after eating ?
the question is are people eating with their hands properly, otherwise it can look rather disgusting, but then ppl eating with a spoon or fork and knife like an oaf will look moronic as well.
Then more important question is , people who cannot afford to buy fork , spoon , knife should not be eating at all ?
In the end it is culture which determines what is disgusting and taboo. Something disgusting and taboo in one culture and religion can be norm in another.
Should I refuse to share a table at a party where a Bengali is eating rice, I hope you have seen how they eat it . What about Arab culture where the whole clan sits on floor around big deep dish and eats lamb on rice using their hands. With the same hand they break big chunk of meat and share with others.
Then more important question is , people who cannot afford to buy fork , spoon , knife should not be eating at all ? In the end it is culture which determines what is disgusting and taboo. Something disgusting and taboo in one culture and religion can be norm in another. Should I refuse to share a table at a party where a Bengali is eating rice, I hope you have seen how they eat it . What about Arab culture where the whole clan sits on floor around big deep dish and eats lamb on rice using their hands. With the same hand they break big chunk of meat and share with others.
Then the more important question is did you understand before you got on the soapbox for bhashan? try again, and dont jump the gun, shabash. let me highlight some key english words that have seemed to slip your comprehension
the question is are people eating with their hands properly, otherwise it can look rather disgusting, but then ppl **eating with a spoon or fork and knife like an oaf will look moronic **as well.
I am saying you can get a random dozen people who eat using their hands and some will eat in a civilized manner and it will look proper, and some would be upto their elbows in food with their fingers, between the fingers, palm all dripping, stuffing too large quantities of food in their mouth with food dropping as not all is transferred from hand to mouth, that is disgusting.
and just like you can eat properly by hand and eat like an ogre by hand, same goes to people using fork and knife, it can be done properly or like an oaf.
Then the more important question is did you understand before you gfot on the soapbox for bhashan? try again, and dont jump the gun, shabash. let me highlight some key english words that have seemed to slip your comprehension
I am saying you can get a random dozen people who eat using their hands and some will eat in a civilized manner and it will look proper, and some would be upto their elbows in food with their fingers, between the fingers, palm all dripping, stuffing too large quantities of food in their mouth with food dropping as not all is transferred from hand to mouth, that is disgusting.
and just like you can eat properly by hand and eat like an ogre by hand, same gors to people using fork and knife, it can be done properly or like an oaf.
You are taking it to extreme now , it is not extreme which is under discussion in this thread, the thread starter and others are calling the normal way of eating rice or any food with hands disgusting.
Even what you are calling proper is improper in the eyes of some posters here. No matter how properly one is eating with hands , the English will still consider it disgusting.
UMMM....I can't eat rice and all the mushy stuff with my hands. It's too hard so I choose to eat with a sppon/fork...like you know you can'y eat soup with your finger tips. I only eat roti...puri...and all that stuff with my hands. so yeah!
ahhh much better response.
in this thread the point under discussion is whether eatcing with hands is disgusting
i merely suggested that eating with hands or eating with utensils both can be disgusting depending on how someone eats with it.
The “english” dont consider jack disgusting, go to england and see for yourself how many english try eating with their hands in balti joints.
PS: are the thread starter and others..err..english? :halo:
no, they want to be english :halo:
At home we use spoon or fork, but at times i eat with hands if others are eating with hands too and i agree with knocky, its tastes much better.
eat with your hands?..do u mind it when other people do it in front of u?..im talking about like when they eat foods like rice n stuff n it gets really messy and wet and icky and then they lick their fingers too..
I will eat with my hands and lick all my fingers clean to. Also I put my teeth in my fingernails so clean all the food in it too. And I don't mind if anyone eat infront of me. Thanks. :)
great response…
I will eat with my hands and lick all my fingers clean to. Also I put my teeth in my fingernails so clean all the food in it too. And I don't mind if anyone eat infront of me. Thanks. :)
And you were saying you were never mean to anybody online and off line ?:)
main to haath say hee khatee hoon snooty
muft ka SUNNAT KA SAWAB KION hath say janay dain
mushkal kuri mashallah tussi barhai hi naik khiyaloun wali ho:chai:
^ bus kabhi gharoor nahi kia
gharoor karne wali koi quality ho to admi gharoor karta hai awaein hi sar ooncha karne sai kiya faida ![]()
sir ooncha kernay kay warzish main baray faaiday hain mere bhaai
app kay damagh main khoon ki gerdish ho gee ..gerden k bal nikal jaain gay etc etc
kabhi kuch perha ho to pata ho na paindoo kaheen k
kisai paindo bola…
twaddi aye himmat:pcg: !!abi saboot paish karta hoon!!.
ab bolo whos paindo here…