Do people respect working moms more than stay home moms?

Re: Do people respect working wives more than stay home moms?

I would be perfectly OK with it.
I’ll just have to go and buy some new suits :hmmm:

Re: Do people respect working wives more than stay home moms?

btw , did u help him buy a new suit..

Muslim women are allowed to work

shhhh, supposed to be a surprise :emmy:

Well you are nit picking I didn't mean that exactly but men do love kids but momm role is a mom role in child's life.:p

who said that :aq: working moms are more appreciated as far as I know.Even though I am SAH mom but I do appreciate working moms.

What a gross generalization! What is "many" here? What are the numbers on campus killings in America and in Pakistan in the last 10 years? Hello!

After a long time I realized this thread belongs to parenting forum:D

Re: Do people respect working moms more than stay home moms?

:D Thanks UZ

I have respect for both stay at home and working moms, but I do have a question...Why** SOME** stay at home moms complain a lot? Is it because they feel less appreciated for all the work that they do? and why some working mothers manage to get more even they are at home less?

It's all about organizing yourself. Some working moms are very well organized and can accomplish a lot more that stay home moms. I think some people are chronic complainers...never happy in any situation. Yes some stay home moms never get appreciated because what they do gets taken for granted.

well niki sis! aesay hi hota hai jb insan ghar me dollars laa raha ho na tub hi uski qadar hoti hai dost rishtay dar uskay agay pichay phirtay hn aur jesay hi ap unki financial aid bund ker do then u become useless its a fact and it is been done mostly. its very sad indeed niki im sorry for that

:frowning:

interesting thread. Do I dare voice my opinion. chalo churro - kissi aur din...

I think Working women who become stay at home mother's have the best perspective of both worlds, as they have had both experiences. I think there were other threads opened before with similar discussions. From my experience, it seems people praise stay at home moms more than working moms, as working moms are accused of abandonment, selfishness...etc....whereas that is SO not the case. Everyone has their reasons for what they choose to do, as long as they are able to manage their homes well, it should not be a problem for others. If it is, then tough luck, woman should be proud of decision she has made for herself. I am a working mother & Alhumdulillah I think i do a decent job of balancing everything, giving quality time to my son...cooking...etc

Nisik yaar I hold my hat off to you all- I see how my sisters mashallah work full time and manage a house as well as the usual package- children and husbands and in laws and famiiles and so on…even if they wernt to work theyre a round the clock person and deal with absolutely everything Allah swt throws at them- families/disputes/ in laws/ taxi service and so on…being a mum in itself mashallah I commend u guys- I think of how our mums raised entire generations mashallah without an uff or humphhh.. well done Nisik!!!- u and hundreds of Guppy mothers are a role model for all women- u guys have tremendous courage and stamina and are equipped with all the communication skills that u guys demonstrate every minute of the day.. u are more than valued and any person worth their salt will totallly agree with me…u guys also see things from all angles and that comes with the experience of having children mashallah… U r certainly ofering us all much more than u give urself credit for!!! A huge thumbs up to u guys!!!:k:

:)!!!

Honestly, the focus should be on how a mother spends her time with a child, be it a working mother or a stay at home mother. I've seen good and bad cases in both instances. There are working mothers who have amazing bonds with their kids cause they make that effort to spend every free time with their child, bonding with their child and building their connection. Same goes for stay at home mothers .... then there are some mothers who work and spend their weekends and evenings on the phone with their friends, neglecting their kids, and i've seen some stay at home mothers do the same thing ....

The focus should be on quality time. Quantity means nothing without quality.

i actually feel its the opposite Nikki :bummer:

most of the people (girls) i see are housewives… they may have worked prior to having kids but have stopped working after having one or two… so when im in their gathering, it feels like im a total screw up of a mum cus i leave my kid at childcare… and trust me, there have been many a times where people have subtly pointed that out…

khair :slight_smile: we should all be content with how we are… stuff the rest.

I respect you!

I know sadzz, we have extremely judgemental people. Even if things are going well in our homes, other people seem to have more problems, eh?

desi mentality generally seems to preach moms should be at home with kids or maybe we're just ridiculously expressive with our opinions!

even my mom, who's been working probably since i was 7 years old- can be pretty harsh when i debate whether or not i should stay at home when i have kids.
to her, its an indication of failure and too often she'll wonder why my husband isn't "doing enough"- which i find particularly frustrating because living in north america means a double-income is pretty necessary (at least maybe in the canada portion of n. america), and of course, my husband has his own business and that means ups and downs. its doubly frustrating because my dad has always had his own business too and my parents did just fine with us despite all that. perhaps she's trying to protect me from similar stresses in my life, but i can't help but be on the defensive! anyway.

back on topic, i don't think a working mother is necessarily a "bad" mother or deserves less respect- i think she's doing the best she can given the circumstances. and of course it sucks for her too, to be leaving her 1 year old with strangers right as they become interesting and expressive- its not like its easy to walk away and miss out on your child's development.

so probably it depends on whom you're speaking to- a desi person might say if you have children and you're working, you're a bad mother, whilst a gora person might have the opposite reaction because culturally its more acceptable for gori mom's to go back to work after baby. it doesn't mean they love their children any less than the lucky ladies who can afford to stay home with them! or maybe these are just stereotypes... i dunno. i guess i'll have to come back to this when i'm in either situation.

also, niks, i'm sure you know, being a mom is a full time job and it is SO HARD. what could be more important or more difficult than shaping the mind of another human being? i have endless amounts of respect for my mother for spending as much time as she did with us, despite balancing a full-time job, 3 kids, and a house full of inlaws! we might not be perfect children, but AH we know right from wrong, we love our parents, and we eat healthy (mostly).
you should ask the naysayers to spend a day in your shoes before opening their mouths. that should shut them up! coffee mornings, my arse.

SGC, awesome post. And that's what it actually is...a difference of perspective. At the end the best thing for our children is what works for us the best.