I don’t think so. It’s all Hindu and Sikh. V. wierd since the films usually have at least a token muslim here and there…is it b/c the market for indian films is also heavy in the muslim/arab world while dramas aren’t?
Re: Do indian dramas have ANY Muslim character?
^^ i don't think that indian filmakers introduce muslims characters in their movie so it can be sold in muslim/arab world. thats such a silly remark.
Chintu your response is really deep. Thanks
well they make pathetic adab arz pakistani wanabe dramaz, such as “Zera Si Zindagi” (i m afraid dat dis drama on ARY is pathetic n no where to zara
)
n film is a different medium n i m afraid yes they do show khichree. arghhh (pakistani as a traitor, ugly n heavy drinker, or muslim as a Ghunda)
btw in movies havent u seen new trend of showing pakistani gal marrying some indian (non-muslim guy) ![]()
bhartis use Muslim characters to disguise Islam and Pakistan
watch so called hero suny deol's movies made against Pak and Islam.
you stole my words ![]()
^ and you mine… ![]()
hmmmm so now General is the next best thing to Shor Sharaba. ![]()
i agree that most indian films picturize muslims in a negative role. THOUGH there is also the token muslim who is chacha jee and really good too.
My point is why don't the dramas have one? It's wierd. if 10% of India is muslim...there isn't even one on the shows...i think the muslims out number the sikhs but there are tons of sikhs on the shows.
I do think it makes a difference what the market is for either genere...and perhaps that's why the dramas don't have characters...but don't know.
hamara sab kuch ap hi ka to hayjee
i agree that most indian films picturize muslims in a negative role. THOUGH there is also the token muslim who is chacha jee and really good too.
My point is why don't the dramas have one? It's wierd. if 10% of India is muslim...there isn't even one on the shows...i think the muslims out number the sikhs but there are tons of sikhs on the shows.
I do think it makes a difference what the market is for either genere...and perhaps that's why the dramas don't have characters...but don't know.
how many people look at the religion of the character before seeing the movie??? i
there was one serial some 7 yrs ago, it was called Heena and it starred Simone Singh, i remember all the aunties watching it religiously.. and all the characters were muslim. i don't know abt tons of sikhs on the shows.. but then i don't watch any... so which shows are these?
why don't these dramas have muslim or christian characters? i don't know that it matters, unless religion is a prevalent theme in the drama.
I don't think so. It's all Hindu and Sikh. V. wierd since the films usually have at least a token muslim here and there...is it b/c the market for indian films is also heavy in the muslim/arab world while dramas aren't?
There is a drama called Zaara which is currently on, based on Muslim families. I think it's on Sahara or Zee. It's pretty good.
^^ i don't think that indian filmakers introduce muslims characters in their movie so it can be sold in muslim/arab world. thats such a silly remark.
VERY RIGHTLY SAID SURMA...oops..sorry CHINTU BHOPALI..!
Remember folks--SHOWBIZ has no caste, creed or boundaries. In INDIA they take SHOWBIZ next to their RELIGION. There's a lots more value then in our Country. I have worked (in Dubai & Malaysia) with top Indian TV Artiste' like Rajeev Khandelwal, Amna Shareef, Nausheen Ali Sardar, Konika, Parik**** Sahni and Naseeruddin Shah...and i found them all raedy and vying to work for Pakistani Productions. I also met some top HINDU directors from BALAJI Productions and they yearn for our artiste like Humayun Saeed, Sonya Khan, Maria Wasti and Zeba Bakhtiar etc. Remember Raj Kapoor chose Zeba in "HINA" when he begged Hasina Moin (at Sharjah match to get a new face from Pakistan.. I was there standing next to Hasina...then..in 1989-90). You all would also know that JAVED SHAIKH was called by Indians and he has done marvy job in NAMASTE LONDON plus other ones too. Currently Imran Abbas, Maria Wasti and Humayun are regularly visiting Mumbai for some serials.....
So there's no such thing as biased or jealousy or 'feelings' of any one in India on MUSLIMS for their plays or movies acting.
I also know the famous RAKHSINDA KHAN of SAAS BHI KABHI BAHU THEEH.. she is muslim and one of the icon of that serial.
Astala Vista,
-Raju Jamil
^^ wohin to yaar. i dont know why some people drag religion everywhere.
^^ audience try to seek commonality, or something that shows their greater (a good one) reflection. so indian drama either clothes r watched or their religion (wo alag baat hai no one in media is die heart follower of their religion, whether hez hindu or muslim)
i used to watch Korean soap only cuz i am simple n dat soap showed the same.
pata lagana parey ga:D
there were and many Muslim charater based serials, but yes, at present not much.
there was this beautiful soap "Jannat" which even the Hindus and Sikhs also used to watch regularly. i believe there some "Kwahishe" or something on sony with muslim character. i dont watch anysoap regularly, just here or there, so dont know much about the soap content on the stupid box. and i think theres one muslim character based serial on Sahara too. and there are many muslim character in many serials . there was a serial called "Saara Akash" based on Indian Navy, and there was a segment when the main heroine goes to Pakistan(not to shoot anyone, her plane get chrashed on the pakistani side and as she is rescued by someone her grandpa knew before partition, she was inviteed to stay on for a few days as there was some wedding taking place, but they shoot this in India only.)
There are alot of Indian dramas totally based on Muslim family....the language...kaprey and other stuff is all related to Muslim culture.
Most Indian directors depict Muslims as crack headed scum of the society who would do anything for money and possibly even a shot of cocaine.