Do Hispanic people have this concept of "I am more fair than you are"?

I have always wondered about this, but could never get a straight answer about this from anyone. Just like us desis have this idea that… my complexion is fairer than yours, so I am of a much superior lineage than yours, and therefore superior to you.. do they have a similar idea?

They have to. Just look at the Mexicans. There are the native looking ones who are darker, and then there are the whiter, European looking ones. And ofcourse there are people in between. I wonder if their culture gives preference to fairer complexion much like ours does.

Anyone know?

Re: Do Hispanic people have this concept of "I am more fair than you are"?

I explicitly asked a Mexican this question, guys usually dont care, but some girls do. But what I concluded that all depends upon individuals unlike Pakistanis where every girl wants to be "Fair (& Lovely)" Mexican girls dont care that much.

Mexican boys think differently of course, they want what they want colour is not much of a matter ;)

I knew this Bolivian girl who had beautiful bronze skintone, and she would always rave about how beautiful Colombian people were because of their typical white/blonde/blue-eyed features. I personally can't tell the difference b/w hispanics, but she seemed to like their features much more than her own.

I think dominicans are hte darkest, they look African-American, with their skin color and hair texture...sometimes their features will differentiate them from blacks...

pata nahi hoga

Dominicans among hispanics are the darkest looking ones because their population is mostly native population intermixed with africans

Argentine, Chile, Cuba, Uruguay are the most fair looking hispanics

after that its Mexico, Central America, Colombia, and Venezuela

the darkest are Dominicans

Yes; Whiter and more European looking hispanics are considered more beautiful.

Ever see hispanic television ? All the women are blond and european while most hispanics are not.

^^ not only that. look at all their beauty pagent contestants

Re: Do Hispanic people have this concept of “I am more fair than you are”?

Hispanics from Spain (girls and boys) are willing for the summer to come to go to the beach and lie under the sun to get tanned…:roman:

2 Likes

I cant claim to know about the majority of Hispanics but my BIL is hispanic, his parents are pure Cuban. And he seems sensitive about it even tho he is light complexion with light eyes. He doesnt admit to speaking spanish although its evident that he understands when spoken to in that language and he doesnt like to talk about his hispanic roots. Sad. Always be proud of what and who you are!

Beauty pageants are hardly ever accurate representations of how the general public would look...especially in south american countries, virtually all the pageant queens get so much damn plastic surgery that they do not at all look like the general public

Re: Do Hispanic people have this concept of “I am more fair than you are”?

I thought people from Spain didn’t call themselves Hispanic?

yeah..but that and the whole observation about fair ppl in hispanic soap operas shows what is considered beautiful or what look is preferred, and that was the question asked.

Most of them are dark but like you said they do have an inferiority complex.

They were colonised by White people so the conquerors have historically been considered superior in their regions, White people didn't contribute very much to their gene pools but the majority of them still falsly like to claim descent from Whites and officially class themselves as White even if they're chocolate brown, some are descended from White people but they're a minority.

It's like in South-Asia the locals were colonised by Sanskritic speaking Aryans who eventually assimilated in the NW of South-Asia (Pakistan, Occupied-Khalistan etc.) and ruled pretty much all of South-Asia giving their language and religion to most of the northern regions of South-Asia, even in areas where they didn't assimilate... This produced an inferiority complex, which was reinforced when the White Brits came and colonised them...

They just see those that ruled them as superior and wish to emulate them...

That's true that, it's like in Indian Bollywood the locals are not given a chance... All the main stars are of Paki (Khans, Kapoors), Afghan (Khans), Irani (Abraham), or Arab (Hashmi), Italian (Moreo) etc. descent... The background dancers are a true representation of pure Indians.

He doesnt admit to speaking spanish although its evident that he understands when spoken to in that language and he doesnt like to talk about his hispanic roots.

Maybe he sees Spanish as a sign of imperialism and is proud of his language and roots before Spanish was imposed on them and were converted to Catholicism... It's a shame really, Spanish is a foreign language to them and they've lost their own language which is a fundamental aspect of ones ethnic identity... It's different when one settles amongst another ethnicity and assimilates but loosing ones ethnic identity in their own land must be a shame.

I think dominicans are hte darkest, they look African-American, with their skin color and hair texture...sometimes their features will differentiate them from blacks...

You want your eyes testing baji... They look nothing like Black people who are sexy but in a completely different way... To me Latinos/Hispanics have the same skin color as us Pakis/East-Punjabis but no fur which gives it a slightly healthier tone... I think they're well hot me, we had a few exchange students at our high school, my God they were fit... Hispanic people are perfect and they have pretty noses and I like the way their eyes are shaped, folded on the inside edge..

So like us desis, is there a stigma attached to being darker than the rest? When a baby is born, do the parents thank Jesus that his/her skin tone is white? Do they have Fair and Lovely type stuff? Do people say, hai us se kon shaadi karay ga, woh to itni kali hay?

The

not really, trend has changed... a couple of my girlfriends, including my sister, have turned down the proposals just because the guys were kala

okay here I am not supporting their ideas but just making a point kay these days being darker is not a problem just with girls, even guyz are getting rejected for not being good looking enough!

So better watch out guys, that fair and lovely comes in handy when your susral walas are coming for your bar-dikhavva

Where do you live? Because where i live, the overwhleming majority of people are Hispanic, if you've seen them as long and as much as I have yu can start to tell the difference, lookswise. And most dominicans look more black than they do the "white" hsipanics.. I'm sure you find them attracive but that's not the point here (everyoens attractive in their own way).

^^ fair and lovely sucks

if you wanna make your skin fair, drink lots of orange and grape juice, drink milk, drink 4 egg white and wash your face with tee tree soap and oil

abay...do u have a kiryana store that you are selling this idea?

I ams ure if you were sabzi wala then you woukd be talking about using loki, kadoo and lobia etc.

making money off of ppls insecurities tsk tsk...