Was just curious whether anyone uses a rice cooker and if you do - exactly how and in what fashion you cook rice?
…and please dont say " read the instructions" because Im telling you, I cant perfect the art of cooking perfect rice:bummer:…anyone share their experiences/ advice???
I bought one about 2 months ago...i was told im lazy that i have bought one...but screw that lol...I come from work and cook the salan and the rice cooker cooks the rice for me..easy peasy..
The way my manual says is, for 1 cup of rice, add 2 cups of water.......desis use the method of dipping in a bit of ur index finger into the water and thats how much water there should be..
You cant really go wrong with the rice cooker...just put enough water so rice is cooked well....
start with 1 cup rice and add about 2.5 cups of water....use the cup they provide..
Oh tabu hun…thanks sooo much for your info!!! Well it may be that I didnt put enough water- as they were uncooked- I think my manual had it wrong as it states"place the washed rice into the inner pot and add appropraite water ( if ur making 3 cups of sry rice add to the 3 mark on the inside of ur inner pot" as I was trialling 1 cup- I only put one cup of water in and I think thats where Ive gone wrong:smack:…have u tried cooking pilau/ biryaani this way?..I really appreciate your valuable comments!:k:
ive never cooked any other rice except boiled white rice..i didnt think you could cook biryani in it...can u?
Also ensure one more thing, soak the rice in cold water for about 15-20 minutes before you put into rice cooker, it makes it softer...and wash rice well to take off the starch....
I added 1 cup rice and inside the inner bowl the first mark said 2...so i filled it up with water up till then..its trial and error really and that worked for me..so shud work for you :)
i know a desi using rice cooker coz she got it for free with a TV...she later returened the TV but kept the cooker [probably, the store ppl forgot to ask the rice cooker back] she didn't read the instruction so she is using it as a "pressure cooker" and waits for the whistle for hours...she can't return it...too bad haha hahaha hahaha
…thanks hun- I also need to soak my rice as u said but I think like ure saying- it should be double the amount of water just like my mum used to cook .. u are right- it is trial and error…looks like Ill be overdosing on Rice the next few weeks!!!:)!!! Thanks :k:
…hmmmm…pressure cooker eh???..i know you can steam things in a rice cooker but didnt think you could use it as a pressure cooker!!!..let me try cooking rice and if all else fails…I may have a possible pressure cooker ready at home!…but I remember my ammis- pressure cookers are heavy big things:cb:!!!…thanks Hashmat sahib ji…as a GUPPA offering advice- Im pretty touched !!!
** so she is using it as a "pressure cooker" and waits for the whistle for hours...she can't return it...too bad haha hahaha hahaha**
I use mine for making Arabic-style dal with bulgar wheat (mujaddara) and it works well for that, but I've never tried to pressure cook any desi foods... :)
oh wow...i didn't know arabs make daals too :) i see...try cooking beef in a pressure cooker, it tenderizes nicely. :)**
rice cooker makes the best dum walay pulaos, with peas, chickpeas, tahri, khichri etc (have not tried with meat) the way i do it is in a frying pan i brown the onion with all the necessary masalas then add it in the cooker, add rice, water, cover it and voila! perfect rice everytime, no chance of it getting undercooked or soggy (my problem when i do it in a regular pot)
I usually add double the amount of water. Sometimes I even add a cup of mixed frozen veggies, a tbs of oil, zeera, a bay leaf and a cinnamon stick all together and it turns out great.
My friend makes sooji halwa in a rice cooker. It always turns out amazing!