Distorted Image of Muslim Woman & Islamize America Before they Americanize Islam!!!

ASALAM-U-ALAIKUM EVERY1..
hey whats wrong people??i didn't get many questions today?? jawaan ji kaisai hai aap??
Nadeem ji, tusi punjabi wi boldai o??I didn't know that!! Sis Dehatan, ki haal ai tuada?i hope every1 is doin fine by the grace of Almighty!! hope to get some new questions from people out there!!
Keep smiling!

Khuda hafiz
Fe Aman Ullah
Masooma

Masooma,

Fact or Fiction? Here's a test to decide.

Could you prove that Fundamentalist Islam is BASED on qualities of Allah or, Rehman, Rahim or, Compassion, Mercy?

Please name/list the kindness that you see in Fundamentalist Islam; the kindness that should be in the religion of Allah?

Asalam-u-alaikum
Im sorry, but i didn’t quite get your question? Can you please rewrite your Question more detailed, what is that you want me to tell you??

Fe Aman Ullah

P.s As soon as i get your question, i will post a reply so plz tell me the question again in a more explainetory way!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smile.gif

Best rgd
Masooma

[This message has been edited by Masooma (edited June 21, 2000).]

Masooma,

There is no such thing as:
equality of man and woman;
equality between muslim & kafir;
equality between muslim & ahle kitab!

Obviously, you are disputing this with your opening statement of this thread!

The best way to settle this is by the following:

Pls prove that "whatever you follow" is based on the qualities of Allah or, Rehaman, Rahim or, Compassionate & Merciful! Stated differently, pls prove, e.g. that Wahabi Islam is compassionate & merciful!

You are welcome to cite examples from any Islamic country and verses from holy texts & traditions!

Asalam-u-alaikum Again Faceup.
First of all, im not trying to produce any conflicts, THIS STATEMENT WHICH YOU WROTE
there is no such things as:
"equality of man and woman;
equality between muslim & kafir;
equality between muslim & ahle kitab! " THE FIRST LINE WHICH STATES EQUALITY BETWEEN MEN AND WOMEN, that is true, the evidence of this is stated in Quran as i have been repeating this FACT since the begining of this thread. Allah says that all human beings are equal but then HE also states that Muslims are superior and loved by Allah, than Kafirs,Ahl-e Kitaab. When we talk about Muslims, we are Talking about Muslim men and women!! so there is no such thing that men are superior than women. Now why did "Raheem", "Rahman", non other than Almighty ALLAH said such a thing that muslims are superior. To answer this question ,we first have to know who are msulims? When we talk about kafirs, we can say they are non-believers right away, But ahl-e-kitaab, these people are not Non-believers, maybe they are muslims, who knows whats in their heart?! so its only Allah who can decide whether they are muslims or not, for instance what about Hazrat Muhammad's uncle? he never recited the Kalma, but still he was supporter of Islam?
Islam teaches us to be merciful toward our fellow human beings,and all living things as well. That includes Kufar, Ahl-e-kitaab, animals, plants ETC.
ALLAH IS RAHMAN!
Rahman signifies that Allah is Merciful and that His Mercy encompasses each and everything in the universe without any distinction on account of faith or belief He makes, creates and sustains everything and every man whether he be a Muslim or Kafir.

ALLAH IS RAHIM!
Rahim signifies that the Mercy of Allah on the Day of Judgement will surround the true believers only!!!, and that unbelievers and hypocrites will be left out.!
It is apparent that both of these names signify a distinct aspect of God's Mercy. His Mercy in this world, as signified by 'Rahman' is general and the one in the life-hereafter, as signified by 'Rahim' is special.
It will be of interest to note that the word 'Rahman' cannot be used except for Allah, while 'Rahim' can be used for others also.
The Quran makes it obligatory to provide justice for all people and under the Shari-ah. Non-Muslims enjoy freedom of religion and religious worship, the freedom to maintain their own languages and customs and open their own schools, their right of life, honor, privacy and free movement. The Islamic Shari-ah also guarantees freedom from arbitrary arrest and detention, the right of peaceful assembly and association, freedom of expression and association and political freedom. The right of non-Muslims to property, freedom to practice any profession or trade and to assistance from the public treaury of the Muslims, if they are in need, are all guaranteed.
This has been the rule of all Muslim governments since the time of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.a.). The non-Muslims are given the fullest freedom in the performance of their religions rites and communal festivals. Once Imam Ali (as) noticed an old non-Muslim begging and he fixed a pension for him, saying: "By God it is undoubtedly not just that we derive benefit from a person in the prirne of his youth but leave him to beg in the streets when he is stricken with old-age." The Imam also fixed pension for all the aged and invalid non-Muslims.
I dont know what else i must add to answer your question because i can keep going on, Islam does teach equality among all human beings, and ask AHLE-IMAAN to be merciful towards all living things and Allah will forgive them as well.Every non-Muslim enjoys security and equal justice under the Shari-ah. Under the Shari-ah no distinction of race, religion, citizenship, economic or social status or personal capabilities can ever obliterate the rights of a non-Muslim. Muslims and non-Muslims are to be treated as equal before the law.This reflects that Teachings of Islam are based on the qualities of Allah. Please, do let me know about any further questions you would like to ask.

Best rgd
Fe Aman Ullah
Masooma

Masooma,

Thank you for your reply. I know what Allah is Rehman & Rahim means.

I was asking you to, please, relate those qualities of Rehman, Rahim or, Compassion & Merciful in "your practise of Islam". And, I mentioned that you could show examples from any Islamic countries of today and, cite from the Quran.

1) You say:
"THE FIRST LINE WHICH STATES EQUALITY BETWEEN MEN AND WOMEN, that is true, the evidence of this is stated in Quran as i have been repeating this FACT since the begining of this thread."

Masooma, Could you pls provide the verses from the Quran which supports your position that in Islam man & woman are equal. Pls note, I am requesting the ayas from the Quran only! Then, pls follow up with live examples of equality amongst muslim man & woman in Islamic countries.

2)You say:
"Islam teaches us to be merciful toward our fellow human beings,and all living things as well. That includes Kufar, Ahl-e-kitaab, animals, plants ETC. ALLAH IS RAHMAN, but then HE also states that Muslims are superior and loved by Allah than Kafirs, Ahl-e Kitaab."

Masooma, Could you pls provide the verses from the Quran which supports your position that Islam teaches us (muslims) to be merciful towards fellow human-beings, specially those who are non-muslims. Then, follow up with live examples which shows muslims showing mercy to non-muslims.

3) You say:
"The Quran makes it obligatory to provide justice for all people and under the Shari-ah. Non-Muslims enjoy freedom of religion and religious worship, the freedom to maintain their own languages and customs and open their own schools, their right of life, honor, privacy and free movement.........and to assistance from the public treaury of the Muslims, if they are in need, are all guaranteed."

Masooma, could you pls provide/quote the sharia'h laws that supports your position that non-muslims have complete freedom to persue & enjoy their life, property & religion without any restrictions. Pls note: I am requesting the Islamic laws here, under #3.

My dear Masooma, I would be very appreciative if you pls restrict to answering the points raised in the 3 questions above and, kindly refrain from posting long thingies that only have good sounds effects.

[This message has been edited by faceup (edited June 21, 2000).]

ASALAM-U-ALAIKUM

OKAY, So lets start with your first question about equality regarding men and women in the Islamic point of view.
Quran reveals to mankind the desired equality of the two sexes by establishing the same ethical obligations and rewards for women and men.

And who so does good works, whether male or female, and he (or she) is a believer, such will enter Paradise and they will not be wronged the dint in a date-stone. (4:124)

Whosoever does right, whether male or female, and is a believer, him verily We shall quicken with good life, and We shall pay them a recompense according to the best of what they do. (16:97)

If Allah subhanahu wa ta'ala had not deemed the two sexes of equal status and value, such explicit statements of their equality in ethical obligations and rewards would not have been made in the Quran.

The Quran is not less clear in commanding equality for men and women in its directives regarding religious obligations and rewards. It states:

Lo! Men who surrender unto Allah, and women who surrender, and men who believe and women who believe, and men who obey and women who obey, and men who speak the truth and women who speak the truth, and men who persevere (in righteousness) and women who persevere and men who are humble and women who are humble, and men who give aims and women who give alms, and men who fast and women who fast, and men who guard their modesty and women who guard (their modesty), and men who remember Allah and women who remember-Allah hath prepared for them forgiveness and a vast reward. (33:35)

If a woman commits a civil offence, the Quran tells us, woman's penalty is no less or no more than that of a man in a similar case (24:2). If she is wronged or harmed, she is entitled to compensation just like a man. The verse is :

"The woman and the man guilty of fornication, flog each one of them with a hundred stripes, and let not any pity for them restrain you in regard to a matter prescribed by Allah, if you believe in Allah and the last Day, and let a section of the believers witness the punishment inflicted on them"

This clearly shows that Islam doesn't imply different teachings for sexes, Infact both sexes have to follow the same rules, and teachings.

The Holy Quran emphasises that God in His perfect wisdom has created all species; as is said:

"O mankind, be mindful of your duty to your Lord, Who created you from a single soul and form it created its mate and from the two spread many men and women." (4:2)

"He it is Who has created you from a single soul and made there from its mate, so that the male might incline towards the female and find comfort in Her." (7:190)

"Of His signs it is that He has created mates for you of your on kind that you may find peace of mind through them, and He has put love and tenderness between you. In that surely are Signs for a people who reflect." (30:22)

These verses show that the Holy Quran has given woman the same status which has been given to man as the Holy Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon Him) said:

"All people are equal, as equal as the teeth of a comb. There is no claim of merit of an Arab over a non-Arab, or of white over a black person, or of a male over a female. Only God-fearing people merit a preference with God."

Now yor second Question "provide the verses from the Quran which supports your position that Islam teaches us (muslims) to be merciful towards fellow human-beings, specially those who are non-muslims."

The Holy book addresses the Messenger in the following words:
"And most certainly you stand on sublime morality" Holy Quran(68:4)
Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W) considers perfection of morals as a perfect expression of faith, He is quoted to have said:
"The faith of one who possesses decent morals is more complete."
Indeed, he deems morals as one of the prime targets for the human soul

Quran states to the Believers:
"...nor let some of you backbite others. Does one of you like to eat the flesh of his dead brothers? But you abhor it..." Holy Quran(49:12)
"Surely those who love to spread scandal about those who believe, they shall have a grievous punishment in this world and the Hereafter..." Holy Quran(24:19)
"And whoever commits a fault or a sin and throws it on one innocent, he indeed, takes upon himself the burden of a calumny and a manifest sin" Holy Quran(4:1)
"Allah does not like the public utterance of hurtful speech except by one who has been wronged..." Holy Qur'an(4:148)
"...and argue with them in the best of manner..." Holy Quran(16:125)
"Kind word and pardon are better than charity followed by injury..." Holy Quran(2:263)
"O you who believe render not your charities worthless by reproach and injury..." Holy Quran(2:264)
The Prophet once remarked: "Backbiting is worse than adultery." Asked to elaborate, he said: "The repentance of an adulterer may be accepted by Allah, but not the backbiter's unless he is forgiven by the one he had wronged".
"Turn to forgiveness and enjoin good and turn aside from the ignorant (7:199)".
"And if a false imputation from the Shaitan afflict you, seek refuge in Allah; surely He is Hearing, Knowing (7:200)".
"Those who spend (benevolently) in ease as well as in straightness, and those who restrain (their) anger and pardon men; and Allah loves the doers of good (to others) (3:!34)."

"Thus it is due to mercy from Allah that you deal with them gently, and had you been rough, hardhearted, they would certainly have dispersed from around you; pardon them therefore and ask pardon, for them, and take counsel with them in the affair: so when you have decided, then place your trust in Allah; surely Allah loves those who trust (3:159)".

The Messenger of Allah said: "The best deed before Allah is to pardon a person who has wronged you , to show affection for relatives who have broken ties with you, and to act generously towards a person who has deprived you ". Thereafter he recited the following holy verses:
"Turn to forgiveness and enjoin good and turn aside from ignorant (7; 199) ".

These verses clearly show that Allah asked the believers to treat their fellow human beings with merci and kindness!

Now your third question "provide/quote the sharia'h laws that supports your position that non-muslims have complete freedom to persue & enjoy their life, property & religion without any restrictions. Pls note: I am requesting the Islamic laws here, under #3."

Quran states!:
"God does not forbid you to act considerately or to act fairly towards those who have never fought you over religion nor have evicted you from your homes. God loves the fair minded. God only forbids you to be friendly with those who have fought you over religion and evicted you from your homes and who helped others in your eviction. Those who befriend them are wrongdoers." (60:8-9)

The words 'does not forbid you', are infact, in this context positive command ordering Muslims to deal with non-Muslims kindly and justly unless they are clearly out to destroy the Muslims. The best example of such treatment can be seen from the life of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.a.) himself who ordered theMuslim convert Asmah Abubakr to visit her non-Muslim mother and to treat her well as Asmah was under the misguided notion that she should not be friendly with her (the mother) after she had converted to Islam.

The fundamental rights of non-Muslims, according to the Shari'ah, are their protection from all external threats, their protection from internal tyranny and persecution and their right to their own personal law according to the teachings of their own religion.!

The Muslims are duty-bound to spare their hands and tongues from hurting the non-Muslim citizens. They must not keep enmity or hatred against them. Since Muslims believe that God hates tyrants and punishes them both in this world and the next, Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.a.) himself warned Muslims against any high-handedness towards the non-Muslim citizens (called dhimmi in Arabic) - e.g. "One who hurts dhimmi hurts me, hurts God. also whosoever I am a complainant l shall ask for his right on the Day of Resurrection." !

A Muslim government also is responsible, according to the Shari'ah, to provide its citizens with such economic facilities as are necessary for the maintenance of human happiness and dignity. Therefore the affairs of the community must be arranged in such a way that every individual man and woman, Muslim and non-Muslim, shall enjoy that minimum of material well-being without which there can be no human dignity, no real freedom, and in the last resort no spiritual progress. This does not mean that the state should or ever could, ensure carefree living from its citizens. It does mean, however, that every citizen has:
a) The right to productive and remunerative work while of working age and in good health.
b) Training at the expense of the State, if necessary, for such productive work.
c) Free and efficient health services in case of illness.
d) Provision by the state of adequate nourishment, clothing and shelter in cases of disability resulting from illness, widowhood, unemployment due to circumstances beyond individual's control, old-age or under-age.

Now at the end, you also asked me to give examples of countries following these Rules and being a perfect Islamic country. I dont have much knowledge about laws in Muslim countires, but i hope they do follow the teachings of Islam. If i talk about Pakistan, which is my mother country, i dont see Pakistan following the Shari'ah, nor do i see the governemnt following other teachings of Islam concerning human rights, and same with Afghanistan. Im Afraid, but i really can't say anything on this issue because i lack knowledge about the way the muslims countries are running their governments.

I hope i did answer some of your questions. I tried my best, and WALLAH HI, my hand hurts so bad right now and i can't type anymore.

Khuda hafiz
and take care
Fe aman Ullah
Masooma

Good Lord! This young lady knows how to deal with whom! I wonder how face-up would reply

…So they turned away from him and said, ‘’ A man tutored, possessed! ‘’
|/
Paagal Insaan!

[email protected]

You rock girl!!! hehehehe Masooma sis, your really koooooooooool!! You go Girl!!
im soo proud of you sis!!

take care
adious
May Allah bless you and bring smile upon your masoom face

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

[This message has been edited by BLaDeGirL911 (edited June 21, 2000).]

Mosooma,

Equality in heaven is different then equality on earth, read following verses from Koran regarding treatment of women.

[4.34] Men are the maintainers of women because Allah has made some of them to excel others and because they spend out of their property; the good women are therefore obedient, guarding the unseen as Allah has guarded; and (as to) those on whose part you fear desertion, admonish them, and leave them alone in the sleeping-places and beat them; then if they obey you, do not seek a way against them; surely Allah is High, Great.

[2.223] Your wives are a tilth for you, so go into your tilth when you like, and do good beforehand for yourselves, and be careful (of your duty) to Allah, and know that you will meet Him, and give good news to the believers.

This the verse saying it is okay for father-in-law to marry wives of this adopted son.

[33.37] And when you said to him to whom Allah had shown favor and to whom you had shown a favor: Keep your wife to yourself and be careful of (your duty to) Allah; and you concealed in your soul what Allah would bring to light, and you feared men, and Allah had a greater right that you should fear Him. But when Zaid had accomplished his want of her, We gave her to you as a wife, so that there should be no difficulty for the believers in respect of the wives of their adopted sons, when they have accomplished their want of them; and Allah's command shall be performed.

Dhir has posted many verses which instructing believers to kill idol-worshippers wherever you find unless they repent and become believers. I think this is the reason that no muslim country practices equality and fairness towards women and minorities.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited June 22, 2000).]

Oye!!!
Ziadti hai bhai, ziadti!!! Saaray mil kay ik no pay gaye o???

Dear Masooma, when I was Seventeen, I used to post on GupShup in the same way, and had to deal with tens of people alone. Now that I am twenty, I am a writer with regular contribution in local papers and some major projects under my sleeves. Buck up Masooma! You’re RIGHT and thats the edge you have!!

Dear Rani,
Here are simple replies to your points:-

Point A- Men maintain Women’s Affairs:-

[4.34]Men are the maintainers of women because Allah has made some of them to excel others

Madam, the Modern Secular Governments appoint Government Officials to maintain Public Affairs. Some of us are ordinary citizens, others are Policemen, and yet others are Magistrates! Would you regard that as inequality too? Equality is one thing, job division is another. Cobblers mend shoes, and Tailors sew clothes, but they’re equal. Cab drivers and Pilots have different jobs but the Cab drivers never go on strike, demanding aricrafts to run. Or do they?

Point B- Your wives are a tilth for you:-

[2.223] Your wives are a tilth for you, so go into your tilth when you like, and do good beforehand for yourselves

This verse addresses the male believers. In the proverb of Koran, ‘to send something beforehand for yourselves’ means ‘to perform such a deed which results in Gifts in the life hereafter.’ This verse tells the Male believers to perform such behaviour with their wives, that good reward is prepared for them. A tilth is used to cultivate fruit. Hence fine behaviour with wives promises great reward in the life hereafter. This is a very high point in civilization and sophistication, that wives have been referred to as a tilth, i.e. if treated properly, a source of great reward from God. This is a beautiful verse, indeed, and one of many which called me to faith.

and be careful (of your duty) to Allah, and know that you will meet Him, and give good news to the believers.

Point C- Of the Marriege to the divorced wife of an Adopted Son

The longer verse needs to be interpreted in parts:

Background:
Prophet Mohammad had arranged the marriege of a woman of noble family, Zainab, to a slave, Zaid, to establish the equality among humans and change the trends of the society which were otherwise.

• And when you said to him to whom Allah had shown favor and to whom you had shown a favor: Keep your wife to yourself and be careful of (your duty to) Allah; *
  • Zaid wanted to divorce Zainab, but Prophet Mohammad wanted him to review his decision, and keep his wife.

and you concealed in your soul what Allah would bring to light

• Prophet Mohammad wanted to conceal this misunderstanding between the couple and wanted them to patch up and live together.

and you feared men, and Allah had a greater right that you should fear Him.

• Prophet Mohammad feared that the people would consider his action (of marrying a free noble woman to a slave) faulty, and would discourage the practice.

*But when Zaid had accomplished his want of her, *

• i.e. When Zaid finally did make a decision and divorced her,

We gave her to you as a wife

• This shows the very high status of honour that has been given to the Women in Islam. The Prophet himself was made responsible for the noble women’s honour.

*so that there should be no difficulty for the believers in respect of the wives of their adopted sons, when they have accomplished their want of them; *

• This also changed the common trend of the Society that a person can not marry the divorced wife of an adopted son. If your point in quoting the verse is that it was a special permission granted to fulfill the wish of the prophet, then you are wronged, because the very next verse points out that:

‘’ It was the practice (approved) of Allah amongst those of old that have passed away and the command of Allah is a decree determined.‘’

Yes, but to know that you were required to read the context before quoting. My fellow, Koran is not just to find faults in, there’s more to it if you just start to read

Point D- My Point!

So, the philosophy you are trying to find faults in, gave women, the legal right to vote, and made them the legal heirs fourteen hundred years ago. In the place where you write from, it merely happened about a hundred years ago, or less. Why did you not mention these points in your post? why didn’t you mention these verses? Why do you want to portray one side of the story and ignore the other?? Is that fair?

Point E- The dhir Verses:-

Unfortunately, I could not read what dhir posted, but fortunately, I have known enough Koran to know which verse you are talking about. So here it is:

Dhir has posted many verses which instructing believers to kill
idol-worshippers wherever you find

• Outright Misinformation. You have made your lines to appear like the command was for all the Idol-worshippers. Upon realizing the details, you find out that only a particular group of idol-worshippers was being talked about, who had waged a naughty war against the muslims killing many, and driving numerous out of their houses. Even then they weren’t supposed to be killed whenever seen! This is blatant misinformation, and suspiciously deliberate, either on your part or on dhir’s part. The Chapter clearly mentions that they be given four months to walk about in the land, and apologize. Only after the passage of the four months limit was the killing allowed.

Note the points:-

• Not all Idol-worshippers were meant in the verse

(But the treaties are) not dissolved with those pagans with whom Ye have entered into alliance and who have not subsequently failed you in aught nor aided anyone against you. So fulfil your engagements with them to the end of their term: for Allah loveth the righteous.

• Four months Time
    Travel freely in the land four months, and know that ye cannot escape Allah and that Allah will confound the disbelievers (in His guidance).

But when the forbidden months are past then fight and slay the pagans wherever ye find them and seize them beleaguer them and lie in wait for them in every stratagem (of war); but if they repent and establish regular prayers and practice regular charity then open the way for them: for Allah is Oft-Forgiving Most Merciful.

If it was ordered in the Koran to kill all idol-worshippers upon sight, why were those orders not fulfilled, and why did we not see ANY mass murders whatsoever in Mecca, with a considerable amount of idol-worshippers being ruled by the muslims?

unless they repent and become believers.

• Yes, but there is another option too, which was not quoted by you, and although I have not read Dhir’s posts, I am one hundred and one percent sure he did not quote that either. It is in the very next verse:

‘‘If one amongst the pagans ask thee for asylum grant it to him so that he may hear the word of Allah and then escort him to where he can be secure: that is because they are men without knowledge.’’

This option says that if asylum is sought, it must be provided. It does not require conversion to Islam. It only requires the person to be allowed to hair a part of the Koran. His murder has been forbidden, and Allah has ordered him to be moved back to his place of peace. And the reason for this legendary mercy is only that ** because they are men without knowledge.** Praise be to Allah, what a beautiful philosophy indeed. And shame on every soul who calls it cruel! Shame on them, indeed!

…So they turned away from him and said, ‘’ A man tutored, possessed! ‘’
|/
Paagal Insaan!

[email protected]

Pagaal,

Good justification but very unconvicing..the decision maker is a man and whom women has to obey and he is allowed to beat her if she is outline does not speak of any kind of mutually agreed division of labor. Man is clearly appointed as master.

We don't live in 9th century anymore the law divised than are no longer applicable or suited to 20th century. Laws and rules should change to accomodate changing realities of the times.

Secondly for a father inlaw to marry a wife of adopted son, who is a was once like a daughter to him is moraly wrong and aganist the norms of decency.

If idol worshipper repents clearly means if they convert and that is what muslims have been doing for centuries. This is the reason that there are no significant minorities in most of the muslims countries.

P.S. Nobody is forcing or harassasing mosooma as suggested by you. she started the topic, other participants have every right to give their opinion on the subject.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited June 22, 2000).]

I have to say I like the spunk in Masooma, I really do!

What we forget is that the Quran is a text which is NOT to be taken "literally" like most muslims do and look where we are today: still in the 7th century; still abusing women and people of other faiths!

Interpret the holy texts according to time & place and you shall recognise the "true Islam".

BTW, there is NOTHING in today's Islam that reflects decency or equity towards woman or, for that matter people of other faith! To say otherwise is to DELUDE! Because, the proof STARES you in the face all across the Islamic world!

Hey Faceup, ol' buddy - go easy on Masooma!

Asalam-u-alaikum every1 and pagal ji i agree with u, i totaly agree!!Rani sis pagal je made it very clear the concept behind the verses u quoted but i will explain them again,and logical, thanx man, but i enjoy debating! so its kool, let them ask me question! right now im dealing with muslims, but trust me dealing with GORA people is harder, and i did that too, even though i couldn’t convince them, but i Tried!
Sis Rani, Allah has laid out a system of laws to support harmonious interaction between the sexes. “…They are your garments and you are their garments.” (2:187) Clothing provides physical protection and covers the beauty and faults of the body. Likewise, a spouse is viewed this way. Each protects the other and hides the faults and compliments the characteristics of the spouse. . The rights and responsibilities of a woman are equal to those of a man but they are not necessarily identical with them. Equality and sameness are two quite different things. This difference is understandable because man and woman are not identical but they are created equals. With this distinction in mind, There is no problem. It is almost impossible to find even two identical men or women.
This distinction between equality and sameness is of paramount importance. Equality is desirable, just, fair; but sameness is not. People are not created identical but they are created equals. There is no ground to assume that she is less important than he just because her rights are not identically the same as his. Had her status been identical with his, she would have been simply a duplicate of him, which she is not. The fact that Islam gives her equal rights - but not identical - shows that it takes her into due consideration, acknowledges her, and recognizes her independent personality.
In OTHER WORDS ISLAMIC SOCIETY IS “A DUAL SEX
RATHER THAN UNISEX SOCIETY”. While maintaining the validity of the equal worth of men and women, the Quran does not judge this equality to mean equivalence or identity of the sexes.
Probably all of you are familiar with the contemporary move toward unisex clothes and shoes, unisex jewellery and hair styles, unisex actions and entertainments. In fact, it is often difficult in America to decide whether one is looking at a boy or a girl. Although WESTERN COUNTRIES meant to bring a larger measure of equality for women, the idea that men and women are not only equal, but equivalent and identical, has actually pushed women into imitating men and even despising their womanhood. Thus it is generating a new type of male chauvinism. Tremendous social pressures have resulted in stripping women of their role-responsibilities formerly performed by them, and they are forced to live a life devoid of personality and individuality.
The society based on the QURAN is, in contrast, a dual-sex society in which both sexes are assigned their special responsibilities. This assures the healthy functioning of the society for the benefit of all its members. This doesn’t mean that Allah does not treat men and women fairly, BUT HE PROVIDED SEPERATE DUTIES TO DEVELOPE A CIVILIZED SOCIETY WITH LESS CONFLICTS. Does this all rings the bell sis??or still your confused?? if so please dont hasitate just ask the questions you want me to answer, i will try my best to answer them. Oh yea about the statement you gave “Secondly for a father inlaw to marry a wife of adopted son, who is a was once like a daughter to him is moraly wrong and aganist the norms of decency.
If idol worshipper repents clearly means if they convert and that is what muslims have been doing for centuries. This is the reason that there are no significant minorities in most of the muslims countries.”
As for your first statement, Father in law cannot marry the wife of his adopted son only if the son was fed on the milk of the mother who adopted him. When an adopted child is fed on milk from his/her Mother who adopted him/her, that child becomes mehran to that family. But if the child was never suckled by the mother who adopted, the child remains NA MEHRAM, for the whole family. In this case, the father is allowed the marry the wife of his adopted son, obviously when she is divorced or the son dies. I would appriciate if you dont give out wrong information about Islam without doing a research. Islam is far more civilized than any western country, which find it NASTY to marry their cousins!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/wink.gif

My dear sister, First of all, as you know, no MUSLIM COUNTRY is following the laws and regulations instructed by QURAN, so how can you say thats what muslims have been doing for centuries, they have been??COME ON, THEY STILL ARE!! but thats wrong on their behalf, Islam doesn’t ask them to do such things. Secondly, i dont really know much, but i read somewhere, that when Islam was introduced in the subcontinent, Muhammad bin Kasim didn’t force anyone to convert, Instead he followed the SHARI’AH, it was people themselves who wanted to convert and many of them did. I cant say much about this because i dont know much about this. I DONT LIKE POLITICS, GOVERNING METHODS. All i know is muslims today are not following what Islam tought us, and this is producing serious misconceptions about Islam, For instance, Islam says to believing men, not to hit their wives even when they disobay them, the further they can go is just to tab the wife on her shoulder just to show that they are mad at them. But they cant hit them. If they do, they commit a sin. I will try to find the verses explaing this issue, but i read it for sure.

i Hope i answered some of your questions.
take care
Khuda hafiz
Masooma

[This message has been edited by Masooma (edited June 22, 2000).]

Masooma,

Say, could I get the link from where you are quoting the above. thnx

Asalam-u-Alaikum, the quotations you can find in Quran, and the rest discriptions,surf on net, read and then summarize. I mostly go onto yahoo search results for Islam. Go ahead and check out the sites, they are very interesting, and then i get help from my Teacher.

I consult my teacher and some books before writing anything.

Masooma

[This message has been edited by Masooma (edited June 27, 2000).]

Masooma,

Says,

"I mostly go onto yahoo search results for Islam."

BINGO!!!! Yet another yahoo.com Pundit!!!!

I rest my case...Not that I got an opportunity to do otherwise to begin with!! Smile

By the way, Sister Masooma, since you are only 17, I wonder if you know the song "She's the Dancing Queen...only 17" by ABBA?
It's a neat song, listen to it, if you already haven't.
Music is good for the Soul and Spirit...it Calms you down...smile

Unless ofcourse, Yahoo.com offers contrary info....smile

ASALAM-U-ALAIKUM
WHENEVER YOU PEOPLE ASK ME QUESTIONS, THEY ARE RELATED TO THINGS WHICH I HAVE ALREADY READ, BUT SOMETIMES,JUST IN CASE THAT I DONT GIVE OUT ANY FALSE INFORMATION, I HAVE TO RE-READ THE ARTICLES, AND CONSULT THE BOOKS, AND IF THERE IS SOMETHING WHICH IS CONFUSING ME AS WELL, I HAVE THE GUIDENCE OF MY RESPECTABLE TEACHER, WHO HAPPENS TO BE MY AUNT. IM NOT A YAHOO FREAK, BUT I CAN GO ANYWHERE TO READ ISLAMIC INFORMATION, AND THAT INCLUDES, YAHOO, EXCITE, AOL AND REST OF THE SITES. AGAIN , I WOULD REPEAT MYSELF, THE FIRST WORD OF ISLAM WAS “READ”!! I STUDIED SHIA BELIEFS AND SUNNI BELIEFS, MY PARENTS FOLLOW SUNNI BELIEFS, PEOPLE OFTEN ASK ME, WHAT AM I?A SUNNI??OR A SHIA? AND MY ANSWER IS ALWAYS, IM A MUSLIM! THATS ALL…AND SURPRISINGLY, YOU KNOW WHAT, MY PARENTS , AND REST OF MY FAMILY MEMBERS NEVER FORCED ME TO AGREE WITH THEM. SO THESE SITES HELPED TO KEEP IN TOUCH WITH BOTH SEC OF ISLAM. SUNNI TEACHINGS I GET FROM MY FAMILY, BUT SHIA’ISM I HAVE TO READ AND RESEARCH ABOUT.

ANYWAYS.SO SIS WHY AREN’T YOU ASKING ME ANY MORE QUESTIONS? PLEASE DO SO! BECAUSE I LOVEEEE!! ANSWERING THEM, THAT MAKES ME READ AND DO FURTHER REASERCH ABOUT ISLAM.

MA ASALAAM
FE AMAN ULLAH
YOUR SIS
MASOOMA

[This message has been edited by Masooma (edited July 03, 2000).]

AOA,
You tell em sis... u got answer for everything don't ya?? im relly proud of u sisi, & keep up the good work my prayers wid u!!
May Allah Bless you and bring smile upon ur masoom face
KH

¡QÜÉËñ!

Masooma,

You say you love to read and ans Questions, but with my post you did neither...smile

I asked you in my post if you had heard the song by ABBA - "Dancing Queen"...
You obviously didn't Read my entire post and so didn't ans. my Question...smile...

I did have a Question...smile

On a Serious note, your Love for your religion is Commendable...smile