Dishes from other cultures

Read in a novel that a head mistress in a school, came up with a scheme to promote interaction and harmony among different cultures of India. In cooking classes (Home Economics), she made the students from a particular culture to learn to cook a dish from different culture. Like a Punjabi girl learn how to make Sondesh (a Bengali dish). Gujarati girl learned to cook upma (south Indian dish?).

So have you ever tried making dishes from different cultures? How did you learn that and how they turned.

I just remembered I read @khattichic’s comment in @Arleitter’s blog that she can make a killer ‘Pav Bhaji’ a Gujarati dish from a Hyderabadi :smiley:

Re: Dishes from other cultures

Haha! I had many Gujarati friends in college and learned from them…and my husband’s father was Gujarati, so he appreciates certain dishes…nothing wrong with expanding ones repetoire, right?! :wink:

Interesting. Any other dishes from other cultures that you learned and tried.

Main bargar aur french fries banaa laita hoon. Does that count ? :chai:

French. Just boycott it :smiley:

Lots! I have some South Indian cookbooks from Kerela that friends have brought back for me. I cook many Lebanese and Jordanian dishes I’ve learned from friends…Spanish, Mexican, Moroccan as well.

Whenever I travel abroad, I try to find a cooking class. I am going to Turkey inshallah in March, and I’m trying to schedule in a cooking class into our itinerary :blush:

House chef kay baray main batain…

Not me, but mom makes Pakistani , Indian ,Arabic, American and Italian dishes.

Italian dishes are so easy.

All have to do with pasta, tomato sause and cheese. :smack:

Boil pasta.
Pour tomato sause.
Throw in a lot of cheese of any kind in any form.

Italian dish tayyaar. :rolleyes:

^ True Italian food is much more complex then that

We had to do that in school once when I was a student. Kids from each 6th grade worked in groups to research diff countries. One of the components was to make the country's food. We then had a huge fair where parents and faculty were invited. Good times.

Fixed fyp.

Now that would be good times. :)

I tried butter chicken. Its ok.

Yeh kiss culture ki dish hai ? :5:

Butter pe to kissi khaass culture ki ajaara-daari nahi. :konfused:

butter chicken is indian :snooty:

bitter chicken Pakistani?

no

And sweet & sour - of course Chinese. :)

Right on. Better chicken Pakistani. :)

Better, batter, bitter, butter chicken. :chai: