dishes for bday party

what dishes could be made for a bday party??? Adult bday…and need some ideas of veggie dishes too…

Re: dishes for bday party

its only tea party or dinner?

dinner

ok u can have,,biryani,veggie pasta,(if u r in usa go t o costco and get there stir fry veg,,tandorri chicken..aloo palak or palak ghousht,,bake or fried fish,seekh kabab or shashlik kabob...abb yeh nahee maloum kai app ko desi banana hai ya kuch aur ,,

id make h'ors douvres for sure! like u can make individual lasagna pockets. same process... just instead of layering the fillings, individually spread the filling on each **** and roll.

also you can make the phyllo cups and fill them up with any topping you choose. i mostly do salmon w/ cheese, or for the sweet ones, pineapple in mascarpone.. both are a yummer!

you could also get mini skewers and arrange the bbq on those..

for lunch/ dinner, you could do anything really! desi food all the way!!

and yeah, for the vege dishes.. does it hav to be STRICTLY vege? or vege + sea food??

for chatpata desi stuff.. just do a mixed vege ki sabzi... or you could do a vege lasagna, vege casserole.. anything really :)

lol.. ok so the above ws a typo... and got censored!!

the "each ***** = each shEEt!

i want something that won't take all day and not so complicated.....so that i can make more than one dish....

well.. i dont find them time consuming at all...

the phyllo sheets u pop in the oven for 8-10 mins flat n theyre DONE! the filling takes like 5 mins to make!

for the lasagna.. i guess it takes a lil more time if ure individually rolling the sheets..

what is it that u really hav in mind? like a few major dishes for the main course only?

My menu for an occasion like this would be:

Starters: Samosa's, spring rolls, aaloo wada, kachoree's, sausage rolls, soup
Main: Biryani, chicken karahi, tikka masala, savoury pastries, maybe a pie?
Dessert: variety of english and desi - like trifle, rasmalai, gulab jamun, custard
Drinks: lassi, mango lassi, fizzy pop, squashes and fruit juices

great ideas here...

• Lots of Choori with desi ghee & shakkar...or soaked in milk and fried in desi ghee the legendry Bhoosi Tukray... serve with desi tea (milk+sugar) :D

-* Samosays* with green tea...

• *Kababs *with salad and rice... :)

hey kabobs r a great idea i think we will orders those from outside....thanks

now i know what ur talking about....i couldn't figure out what phyllo sheets u were talking about...r those kinda like puff pasteries with keema filling????

great ideas.....thanks....i bet u don't have a hard time coming up with a menu....

ummm not exactly... puff pastry dough comes as a whole.. phyllo is similar, but has sheets stacked on top of each other! theyre available at the grocery store.. just take individual sheets. cut out little circles and make them sit on ur cupcake bakin tray and poke them in to make them come out as cups

just mix together creamcheese / spinach/ sauces/seasonings (wahtever you fancy) and serve it in these cups. i make them very often and so far the guests hav gone home happy :)

it really depends on what the b-day person likes to eat....

are they into desi foods, american foods....?

plan a menu according to what they like.

well the bday party went well....and my mom made the food...everyone liked the puff thing we filled it with keema....its kind of like a big version of samosa....and it kind of looks like apple turnover...but that is sweet the one we used wasn't....everyone really enjoyed that...and my husband was amazed cuz we made different things for him....he liked it. thanks for everyone's inputs....